Land of free aint land of Safe

Its so sad two Indian students got shot in head in execution style on campus of LSU. i was in at the next block when that happened
Its so sad. i live very close to that place. and i have been robbed on gun point few times. all the indian friends i know got robbed atleast once on gun point. some were beaten for no good reason.
crime is going out of hands. malls are not safe, churches are not safe, schools are not safe even your house is not safe.
i cant even imagine what one of the victims wife felt when she saw her husband with her head blown . and she is pregnant with her first child.
god bless the departed soul and friends and families.

you come to this country to make money and next thing you know is you are shot . too much prize to pay for downward moving dollar.

http://www.lsu.edu/pa/mediacenter/nr/2007/12/14.html

December 14, 2007
BATON ROUGE – The LSU Police Department is investigating a double homicide that took place on LSU’s campus late in the evening on Thursday, Dec. 13. The homicides occurred at the Edward Gay Apartments, located near the intersection of West Roosevelt Street and Gov. Claiborne Drive, adjacent to the LSU Band practice field.
The victims, Chandrasekhar Reddy Komma and Kiran Kumar Allam, were both male Ph.D. students at LSU, and both were international students. The students were found inside an apartment at the Edward Gay complex.
LSUPD is currently working the case, with assistance from the Baton Rouge Police Department, but no suspects have been identified. Therefore, university officials are urging the LSU community to use caution when moving about campus this morning.
The initial call to LSUPD came in at 10:37 p.m. as a medical emergency. Officers and medical personnel were immediately dispatched to the scene, assessed the situation and notified their supervisors at LSUPD. Those supervisors then contacted university officials, who rushed to campus, gathered the latest information and sent out an emergency text message to members of the LSU community who had previously registered their cell phones with the university’s emergency text-message system. University officials also sent out a broadcast e-mail to members of the LSU community, sent a broadcast voice message to all campus phones and posted a message to the LSU Web site.
The LSU Web site, www.lsu.edu, will continue to be updated as more information becomes available. If anyone has information on this homicide, please contact LSUPD at

Re: Land of free aint land of Safe

That is so sad!! :(

kakay sorry to hear this. must be a tough neighbourhood where the uni is located. A Pakistani guy I knew was killed on Uni of pennsylvania campus in the 90s some mugging gone wrong.

for that very reason I chose to live towards center city philly which was a better area than west philly or north philly

louisiana used to have the highest murder rates in US on a state level.

know u must be going through a rollercoaster of emotions right now, but realize that you need to do what you need to do to further your education and career.

kakay, another thought, majority of crime happens in certain areas of the cities. and teh vasty majority is between ppl who know each other. nand if your campus or campus area is dangerous then in the evenings be in groups, avoid dodgy areas, etc.

also, you may want to look to move to a safer place even if it is a little far and you get less space etc. peace of mind is very important.

if only they had stopped cooking. i blame it on the masalas

not funny!

Highly unlikely this was random killings, that said one should always be careful of their surroundings esp. in places where crime is high to begin with.

if it was execution style shooting then its not random and god knows what happened. I guess eventually more details will emerge. I feel sad for these gusy families who sent their sons to make somethign of themselves, and are dealt this blow.

I thought Louisiana had become pretty safe since a lot of their criminals were gifted off to other states due to the storm and many of the people haven't come back?

Sorry to hear about that.

kaka bhai idher multan men bhee 4 log maar gaey. kuch bhee safe nahee schee, abbu kehtey hain ghar sey baher jana hee khaternaak hey. Men tu ab jata hee nahee schee, sara din gupshup men hee zaya ho jata hey

i opened a thread for this in world affairs http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=272104

unfortunately one of the guy happend to be from my district just 25 kms away from my town and other guy Kiran Kumar Allam father is a famous writer Allam Rajaiah his book on indian caste system is famous one
and they say nothing has stolen from the apartment, and more desis living in the same complex, i don’t know why pregnant wife went out alone at 10:30 PM

Louisiana State University has started a FUND for this cause to support the families in every way they can.
The links are http://www.lsufoundation.org/ . The page is self-explanatory. Fill out the requested information on the page. On the drop-down menu that reads " For the Benefit of:" select “Komma and Allam Support Fund.”
Please donate. every single dollar counts. all the money will be equally distributed to both the widows.
thanks for the contribution in advance.

Thanks for the concern X2. i actually graduated from LSU and now i work with Sherriff dept. but i still live very close to the campus.
Talking about murder rates, new orleans which is 45 mins away from here is murder capitol of the USA. in this year despite having only half the population back in town new olreans had 55 murders in first three months. most of them were executed.
BTW to me it looks like a robbery went wrong. i so hope it is not a hate crime.
thanks again x2 and be safe.

wow… thanks for your kind words and useful contribution. :k:

Yaar sorry to hear that. i hope the departed souls find peace in heaven.
dil chota mat karo yaar... dar dar ke jeene ka koi matlab nahi hai..
dont be afraid to go out.. just be careful and hope for the best.

Kaka
Its not Robbery, its purely a hate crime, because nothing has stolen from his apartment
i heard from some people that these guys used to come out for smoking with doors widely open,

see this is the problem with us indians. we never lock the doors. we usually only lock the door during the night. even i still do the same.. i even go out without locking the doors.
Anyways.. i think its not the hate crime. it looks like that its a robbery went wrong. Its a pattern here that they come to your house, tie you with whatever they find, beat you up and steal laptops and stuff.
i think they came in, beat up the guy who lives over there and tied him with his chair. and while they were stealing the stuff the other guy just opened the door and walked in (another thing that we indians do.. we dont knock when we go to friends house). he tried to run i guess when he saw the mess but was shot down in the heat of the moment. (that explains why his body was found next to the door). now since there is only one witness of this crime then they decided to kill him , since it was a premeditated attempt hence they shot him in the head.
the reason i said this is because a lot of my friends have been robbed in the same fashion.
well this is just my theory... lets see what police comes up with. they already released the sketches of the suspects...

The runners *who run from Pakistan ..in *hawis of dollars** specially professionals like **doctors ..and others ..usually give "bahanai bazi" of crimes rates of pakistan..and lack of law and order situations...and their tongues get a china lock ..when they hear about the crimes rates Statistics of USA...a land of paradise..peace and tranquility .....!!!!!!

I think ..those runners are just hawis parast greedy making money...and thier "bahanai" ..are just lip service to put curtains ..on thier greed on running from thier own country and serving it..instead they serve Masters ...which give them some dollars on end of the month...bah !!!!