Lal Masjid protest activist Jibran Nasir gets threatening phone call

He is a brave guy and he is not backing down or planning to take back his FIR or the protest.

Lal Masjid protest activist receives threatening phone call - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

This is a clip of the phone call. Stream Lal Masjid protesters receive threats allegedly from Taliban by The Express Tribune | Listen online for free on SoundCloud
Probably recorded by record my call type apps or externally. The police can use this as evidence to get the guy who sent the call.

Lal Masjid protest activist receives threatening phone callDawn.com
Updated about 6 hours ago

[TABLE=“class: media one-whole palm–one-whole, width: 650”]

Activists of Civil Society hold a demonstration against the Peshawar incident outside Lal Masjid.— Online

Lawyer and activist Jibran Nasir, one of the main organisers behind the Lal Masjid protests in Islamabad, on Monday received a threatening phone call from an individual claiming to be Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan Jamaatul Ahrar’s spokesman.
A man claiming to be Ehsanullah Ehsan asked Nasir to end the protests, or “be ready for consequences”.
Nasir however remained defiant and determined to continue the protest, despite the threat.
“We’ve told him we are standing firm,” the activist said on social media.
Nasir shared a recording of the telephone conversation with local daily The Express Tribune, which was made accessible online:
[TABLE=“class: media one-whole palm–one-whole, width: 650”]

According to the audio recording, a man claiming to be Ehsanullah Ehsan told Jibran Nasir that by continuing with the protests against Lal Masjid, both Nasir and the demonstrators were putting themselves in danger. The caller further said that Jamaatul Ahrar should not be considered weak/unable to act.
Also read: Citizens arrive at Lal Masjid to ‘reclaim their mosque’
Jibran Nasir maintained that until and unless the mosque begins to spread the message of peace he would continue to stand against Lal Masjid’s administration.
While speaking to Dawn.com, Jibran Nasir reiterated: “We will not call off the protest”.
The first protest against the Lal Masjid administration took place on Thursday evening when a large number of civil society activists, politicians and students arrived at the mosque chanting slogans against its chief cleric Maulana Abdul Aziz and lighting candles as part of a vigil for the victims of the siege of Peshawar’s Army Public School.
The activists had come out in response to a statement by Maulana Aziz in which he had refused to condemn the massacre of students and teachers in Peshawar.
However, when the protests did not stop for a third day, to ease the pressure on the mosque’s administration, the deputy khateeb of Lal Masjid along with representatives of the federation of seminaries joined the civil society activists to condemn the massacre.
Maulana Aziz had however threatened the protesters with dire consequences on the second day of the demonstrations, following which, the police had registered cases against both sides.

Re: Lal Masjid protest activist Jibran Nasir gets threatening phone call

Please send him a tweet supporting his work. Civil society must stand up to hate spewing mad mullahs.

https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir

Of course, and the government will not do anything about it even if they manage to murder him.

Wonder where the threats are coming from? Can't be the innocent girls from Jamia Hafsa I'm sure.

He should never be left alone, people need to travel with him to protect him. That's the only way, otherwise I'm sure someone will kill him.

^ would you be brave enough to travel with him? :hmmm:

^^^ I would. Sometime there are causes more worthy than ones own life.

masha Allah...most average guys will probably not risk his./her life.

History has shown us that from desperate times brave and new leadership emerges. This is the kind of leaders pakistan needs at the moment who can leave the comforts of their internet and take actual and peaceful action.

As long as these kind of people keep on standing up to the task i have hope for pakistan.

Yes I actually would.

I'd join an army to fight this extremism truthfully. Because it's out of control now.

I think such people were hidden from view and not given exposure from the media. Now many of them are coming out inspired by Jibran and sharing their views like this guy as well. The best thing about Jibran is that he is not a new activist. He has been speaking out for a long time but at this moment he has given momentum to a new movement.

It is saying something that lot of Pakistanis here in this group and online are willing to stand up with him without fear.
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v…type=2&theater

I agree with the sentiments of everyone and wish there was something that all people could do to help Jibran and others like him.
Listening to the guy threatening him he admits he is weak and by the sound of his voice it is hardly a strong voice. Jibran’s voice is actually more defiant and stronger sounding. Basically it shows fear of anyone challenging their current power and them releasing their power over minds is slipping away. If 1 person can have this impact then surely a whole crowd agreeing with Jibran will have more impact.

I don’t know what this says but from comments on Jibran’s twitter sounds like apologia.
Follow

[https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/3721983111/49178e563d83c24382d5dfb5bcf247c8_bigger.jpeg

Jibran Nasir‏[COLOR=#8899A6]@MJibranNasir](https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir)
**Dear @SirajOfficial](https://twitter.com/SirajOfficial) u r a stakeholder. Civil society wants to work with u. Ur party is instead confronting us

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B5j7Vb4CEAAoo_P.jpg

Please don’t play bi-jamalo here. Such kind of messages can only lead to civil war inside Pakistan. Pakistan can not bear any more disasters. Please leave Pakistan alone.

I am sorry agar maine kuch galat kiya. My intention was only to post good, positive news and Jibran is positive news. Waise maine kya kiya. I am just reporting what is written on dawn and i think some other members also mentioned this threatening phone call on other threads. The last comment was found on Jibran's twitter so I am just spreading this message. Why do you think there will be civil war when 1 person is speaking out? Maybe him speaking out will stop any potential disasters and change things. Ok i won't post here on this part of forum agar aap ko lagta mere yeh comments se aise kuch ho sakta hai. Yeh bi jamalo kya hota hai?

Waise i can't leave Pakistan alone as I have many friends living in Pakistan and friends with Pakistanis abroad. One of my friends lives in Peshawar and knows 3 families affected. She is very hurt by all this and me sending her photos of solidarity from India and worldwide lessens her pain. Agar unko kuch dhuk hota hai mujhe bhi dhuk hota hai and many of them see Jibran as new hope. Many also have blacked out their images on social media after what happened. Friends help each other in tough times and give support. My friend has promised me one day when i visit Peshawar she will show me around historical sites such as temples Gorkhatri. Uss din ka intezaar hai when InshaAllah all of this gets resolved like it will.

I speak out against any anti Pakistani sentiments in west and in my ccountry of origin. I don't mind Pakistanis writing about issues in my country or making threads. We are hardly perfect we Have extremists, Issues of safety at night, a maoist insurgency which killed 11 people in an attack recently and racism against certain ethnicities. Jibran's message of unity against divisive elements is something we can learn a well. Just like Pakistan's stand against vip culture is something we could learn as well.