Just watched the movie. man, it is an ambitious movie, the director tried to make a movie with a different plot and experimental scenes which are new for a desi movie.
My pais vasool was the very first song “main aisa kyon hoon”, hritik was awesome . He did some mind blowing dance, i am sure he is best desi dance by far.
The way they showed the change in his character and life in first and second half of the movie was nicely shot.
The theatre was jam packed by indians , pakistanis and bangla deshis. Every song got awe from people.
with first movie like "Dil chahta hai"under his belt the directior surely did a great job.
I agree with you about the best dance bit, it was realy awsome, some nice moves. although was a bit misleading (Remember the deadbodies scene when one soldeir came with NIC's saying it says Captain in one NIC!!) In over all it was OK. Hiritik played a confused teenager in 1st half of the movie and then he realised his LAkshay (Objective) in his life (the hardway ofcourse).
The 'break dance' moves in aisa kyun hoon look interesting. I wonder if the movie is anti-Pak, but I have a feeling that Farhan is sensible enough not to go the JP Dutta route. Still looking forward to watching this movie since I enjoyed DCH immensely.
Honestly saying it is not anti-Pak movie. They advartised it as a story of how a confused boy finds himself. No anti pak slogans or lectures (oops! there are few but not like border). As i told you before there were pakistanis and bengla deshis too in the theater.
If you watch it as a teen age love story and a action movie then you will like it.
Ofcourse the very first song is paisa vasool :k::k:
*Originally posted by sadzzz: *
man! not fair... the only reason i didnt go see it was cus i was told it was anti-paki... may have to go see it now
thanks for the review kaka
u watched LOC- kargil was that not anti-pak?
anyways the review of the film suggests there r references to pakistan and operation vijay {loc revisted} will have to watch the flick to comment further.
Saw it yesterday ...
one of the worst movies i have ever seen ...grrrrrrrr
3 hours of my life wasted :(
Story - dead bore. Nothing new. A couple of indian army folk take on thousands of Pakistanis and win.
Romance - Zero !
Songs- except one , the rest were cheezy and boring.
Hair n clothes - Yikes ! Dont even go there. He got his aunties and uncles to do all that !!!
There was one good scene when they did rock climbing.
Story - dead bore. Nothing new. A couple of indian army folk take on thousands of Pakistanis and win.
Then you did not see the movie closely enough. The movie was not about the entire Kargil war but it was about the capture of a single mountain top which overlooks an important highway. And because the focus of the movie was on that single important peak, dozens of Pakistani soldiers were shown to be posted on the peak. If the movie had the entire war as it's focus then maybe thousands of Pakistanis would have been shown, but in this movie a very specific combat area was the focus.
*Originally posted by Farhan: *
Farhan Akhtar - one hit wonder probably.
Won't be sure about that. Dil Chahta Hai was appreciated very much and this movie is being liked by most in India. Farhan is nicely building upon the reputation which he created through Dil Chahta Hai.
I downloaded it yesterday and watched it. I liked it very much. It is a story of a carelss guy and how his life changes. War just happens to be a part in story since that guy joins army. Nicely done…
Kudos to Farhan. But I must say ,I liked Dil Chahta hai more.
*Originally posted by sadzzz: *
man! not fair... the only reason i didnt go see it was cus i was told it was anti-paki... may have to go see it now
sadzz , don't bother seeing it if you are expecting a film similar in nature to Dil Chahta Hai. Watch it only if you are a die hard Hrhitik fan.
On a positive side, the technical aspects of the movie were certainly well done. But I found myself bored with it about half-way through.