I am getting married in July in the U.S and I am going to lahore for all of my wedding shopping in April. I have uploaded some peach and red lengha inspiration in my album on my user profile here and was wondering if you guys could give me an idea of where I should go in lahore for something traditional. I don’t have a bunto, dr. haroon type of budget, so the max I can really spend on a bridal is about 2lakh.
As for jewelry, I have heard good things about Sonica Jewelers? Any other recommendations?
What are the Karma bridal prices these days?
And where should I look for a mehndi dress? I don’t want to spend more than 50,000 RPS.
Lastly, I want to get some nice sophisticated formals, maybe 5-6 for no more than 30,000 to 40,000 RPS each. Where is a good place to shop for this?
hey!
the problem is that all big named designers START their bridals at about 4-5 lacs. The next best option is high street shops but i feel their workmanship and kaam quality isnt that great. I feel there are any lesser known designers that are doing awesome work , they just need to be dug up.
For mehndi, you could check out liberty.. there are alot of kaam walas there and you will find something nice in your budget. Make sure not to tweak the shown samples alot because its alot safer when you order exactly what you see.
For formals you can check out ayesha yousaf, shirin hasan, muse, karma, HQ designs.
A friend of mine is getting her bridal done from a home based designer from lahore and the pics ive seen are beautiful.. i think it costed her 180k , very traditional kaam. If you want, i can find out her contact details for you.
Sonica is good, many family members have gotten their sets from them
Hey I just came back from lahore. Went Shopping for my sisters wedding. Donot bother going to big shot designers , they start at 4 lakh and above. I went to karma and their formals were all easily over 1.5 lakh. I checked out all the big designers just to get ideas. Nickie nina was the best and I saw some nice stuff for 60000 rupees. Their heavy stuff was of course ridiculously expensive. Liberty markets back alleys had some really nice stuff. You will definitely find everything there.
I found a shop in liberty , somewhere near khussa mehal ,where they were actually making dresses for sonica jewelers family wedding. That shop had great quality work and some really good designer replicas. The guys name was butt sahib, I will try to get you his no. If you want. I have never been to sonica jewellers. We bought everything from afzal jewllers in liberty
I would strongly suggest buying your own fabric and giving it for kam. I did that and u get best results. The liberty shops are only and I mean only selling chiffon formals. I bought all the pure silks and organzas, tissue, kundan zari fabric from Al fajar on cavalry ground. Buying your own fabric totally changes the look of the outfit.
I got my mehndi outfit designed myself after my parents picked out the kapra I wanted. Wedding outfits are from libas-e-khas and they are FULL of kaam and around 4K instead of the 8-9K that my mom got quoted. My sister’s outfit for the wedding is practically a bridal outfit on its own and that was a little more than 1K from the same place, I believe.
chalphutoye can you please give me the name of Mr. Butt Sahib’s shop near khussa mahal?
Also since you guys are the experts: what fabric is best for shaadi lengha, shirt and dupatta? Chiffon rips extremely easily and is not durable.
I want it to be good quality and durable for decades to come.
One more week left until I go to lahore. I will be there for two weeks so I don’t know if I have time to get everything made myself. I am also nervous because I know sometimes when you order things, they don’t come as you expected them to.
Any last minute guidance and tips would be greatly appreciated.
We did my sister’s wedding shopping from liberty last summer. We had a similar budget as you. Her bridal outfit was from libaas-e-khas. It was full of work and gorgeous. We were very happy with the results. They initially quoted us 3.5 lakh for it but we were able to negotiate for a little less.
For formal dresses, she got someone to make replicas of designer dresses. I don’t recommend the same person though. He messed up a few key things and took too long to fix them so my sis wasn’t able to use the outfits post wedding.
There is a shop beside saleem fabrics in liberty. Their stuff is great too and reasonably priced.
We also bought some saris and chifon dresses from pakiza. The outfits were stylish but the chifon quality wasn’t that great.
Just visited the little galiyaan behind liberty and I’m still reeling from the bling. Plenty of mehndi stuff (both dresses and thaalis). A lot of the kaam was under 20k which shocked me. Definitely worth going to for all prospective brides.