. Lahore - general view of railway station in 1895
Railway Station in 1895 and 1995
http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/3/lahore2.jpg
The Lahore railway station has been altered. There is a new entry facade. The towers have been squared and clocks added. The country is independent. The horse drawn carriages have changed little, though they are now confined to a small part of the city. The Punjabis in front of the station have barely adjusted their turbans. The tree is the same. It has just rained in both photographs.
great pic humsafer especially the 1895 one.
i love old pics of places they make us realize wat has change n stuff
thanx for sharin them
Wow....amazing to see how little can change in so much time.
I hate to say it, but it looked a lot better in 1895
very nice....
Thanks for sharing
Tahnx for shearing history.
“AAsman kha giya zameen kesi kesi”
Major improvement since 1895 to 1995. WOW.
_Naeem
Yaeh it was much better back then...
The Lahore railway station if you have been there.. it stinks! .. with mud foot deep, people peeing under ‘ Yahan Kuta Pehsaab Ker Reha Hai’ diesel fuel and fruit scraps all over the congested run down area is simply ugly and a model of a Third World problem.. mismanagement, lack of planing, chaos, no regard for civil obedience or lack of it, overpopulated and ‘it use to be better syndrome’ all present here .. 1895 where are you !
Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go
Originally posted by Rooster-Blues:
**The Lahore railway station if you have been there.. it stinks! .. with mud foot deep, people peeing under ‘ Yahan Kuta Pehsaab Ker Reha Hai’ diesel fuel and fruit scraps all over the congested run down area is simply ugly and a model of a Third World problem.. mismanagement, lack of planing, chaos, no regard for civil obedience or lack of it, overpopulated and ‘it use to be better syndrome’ all present here .. 1895 where are you !
The two pictures speak for themselves.......everything is clearly discribed, how much we have prospered within the course of the century...
The buildings are still quite amazing but it did look way better in 1895. We took a train from Lahore to Pindi in '97 and it was a 6 hour roller coaster ride - something I won't forget so quickly! But there was nice scenery on the way...
great pics..
you post the best pics hamsafer yaar.. keep it up..
WELLL.............
:BIGGTHMUB:
yar i think humsafar has LOT better collection then most of us.. i saw the collection .. yar humsafar, .. THANKX yar.. nation say door baith kar hi uski qadar ho paati hay .. i think i am confused by nature, but still i think i am rite ke aapka nick isee waja say apnay rakha hay MUSAAFIR.. kyoonke aap door hotay rehtay hongay pk say...
Never frown, even when your are sad,because you never know who is falling in love with your smile.
very hi nice picture!
thanx 4 sharing!!
Whatever limits us we call fate!
Whatever we can't change we call destiny!
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif
JinnNay Lahore nahiN waikhiA oOnay kujH nahiN waikhiA
acha.Bacha**
~ aUntiEee aLeEnA® ~
Where did you get that picture from ? I not sure there were color photographs way back in 1895.
I agree with Mr.Xtreme…the older picture looks much better…It proves one fact…everything is shifting from order to disorder…(thermodynamics)…
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/dixsi.gif
Anyway, great piece of history. (1985)…
Nice pictures! My one of the favorite stations of all time. Thanks for sharing. Do you have more pictures of it?
Regards