Lahore people .. help pls :)

Ok , I dont know lahore very well hence i think i need some extensive help from you lahori’s in the following :

Making Kheer : in the UK its easy, milk is really thick and has alot of fat .. In Pakistan milk is very thin with very little fat .. what milk to use to make thick kheer? also let me know where in lahore to get the milk from … Is condensed milk readily available from the market?

Whipped cream: What cream do you use to make whipped cream? where do you get it from?

Cheese: to make pizza .. do you guys get shredded cheese in the market , easily? if not what are the alternatives?

Methi: we get methi in cubes , its a frozen pack .. If i were in lahore in december time, would i be able to get some methi?

**Frozen Puff pastry sheets : **are they available in lahore? where can get this stuff from?

Re: Lahore people .. help pls :)

All of the above things are readily available in the super markets. I have bought condensed milk when i was there not sure about evaporated milk though. Just go to hyper star , HKB or alafatah. Just check the expiry dates if you are buying from hyper star to be on safe side. I used regular nestle or haleeb cream for whipping and it is a very thick cream as compared to the whipping cream available here which turns thick when you actually whip it. For desserts my mom always used some dried milk powder or condensed milk and she also adds milkpak to the regular milk. Last year on my visit i used gourmet bakery's milk even for drinking it was nice and thick but i have heard that gourmets quality has gone down the drain. Cheese is readily available but i usually bought slices, cream cheese or blocks of cheese not shredded one ....if i am not wrong adams was the brand and if your child eats laughing cow it is also available there. I am not a vege person so no clue about methi but alot of these supermarkets carry frozen stuff. Again for frozen puff pastry try any of the super markets.
Assuming you dont know the locations hypers tar is in fortress stadium. Alfatah and HKB are in liberty and Y block defence.

hmm thats quite helpful indeed Reidi .. so this thick cream that you mentioned , can it be whipped to top up the cakes and use as icing?

yes,it can be whipped. I whip it mixed with icing sugar in a bowl place over another bowl of ice

frozen pastry puff sheets : at rahat bakery(cantt) and at pioneer bakery (in the building next to auriga)

cheese : I mix regular adams ka mozarella and cheddar cheese for pizza and it turns our well. (even important for a pizza is to check if the yeast still works ! )

milk: pay extra to regular doodh wala to give undiluted milk :D milkpak or any other packed milks NEVER make any kheer,etc taste as good as fresh milk.

methi will be available with any sabzi wala I am sure..if not, tell him to get you the following day ! lay ayega khudi :)

hope that helps

*Condensed milk is very easily available...so is evaporated milk.I have at times used evaporated milk to make milk based desserts.Works fine.

*My aunt makes a lot of pizza.She used Adam's cheese.The one I have seen her using is not the shredded kind,instead it is like a small block and you can easily shred it.Proto is right,pay attention to the freshness of yeast .

*Methi...you might wanna try dried methi,if you do not find fresh.It is good stuff and oh so easy..!

*Puff pastry...I was not able to find any at HKB or Alfatah (Liberty,Lahore).MAybe some other place carries it...

Btw,I no longer in Lahore but still...:D

Re: Lahore people .. help pls :slight_smile:

I love using dried methi when making aloo methi goshth! Shaan’s is pretty decent :hypo:

Thanks for that guys .. so to make kheer Milk pack plus a can or two of condensed milk would do , hai na?

and for cream, I can ask for regular cream? is there a brand that I can ask husband to look for..?

Thanks for all the information guys , really helpful :hugz:

One more question : do you guys get garlic paste fresh or frozen in packs , readily available ? Like what we have here in the desi stores?

methi shouldnt be a hard find in december. I always mix a mall quantity of methi to my paalak (which is availlable in winters only). reason, I dont know why, my mom did that too

I do that too because my mom does it.I never questioned her expertise...:D
I use the dried stuff (National or shan),but I have tried palak without the methi too and that tastes different and good too...!

I have seen my mom using Nestle cream.Not sure if any other brands are out there too.
Not sure about garlic paste.I know that you easily get peeled garlic cloves…maybe you can use those if you are not able to find the paste.

I'm not from Lahore but did go to Hyperstar on one of my visits and they have everything you would find in a Supermarket here and more .. I loved it..

Cb are you in Lahore.. :bummer:

Sab kuch mil jata hai asani se yahan ab hum itnay bhe paindoo nahi :@: :cobra:

no confi .. but will be in a few months for a little holiday .. I want to do a few dawats in honour of my FIL and MIL and have no idea what cooking is like in Pakistan ... so getting all excited and doing my research :)

Thanks Chipsie .. yeah I think on my last visit I did see peeled garlic cloves being sold , thats actually quite nice , saves us of the hassle :e6:

you will find ginger and garlic ready pastes easily as well. mera contact number chahyay daawat kay liay ? ;)

proto, pelay inlaws ko ker loo bi khush? :omg:

Everything that you asked for is available in Lahore.. believe it or not, most of this stuff is available in Mianwali too :D

regarding the cream.. I like Pakistani cream better.. Nestle Milk Pack, Haleeb etc.. they all have cream.. I brought some with me too :D

Cheese.. you can get a block and slices.. I didnt see the shredded cheese but you have maids there to shred it for you so why worry :$ (Adams is the brand)

haan haan kyun nahin :smiley:

You can get your required things from the following best Super-Markets in Lahore

Hyperstar (Fortress Stadium)
Green Valley (Mall of Lahore)
Metro (Raiwind Road)
Macro (Model Town Link Road)
Jalal Sons (Main Market Gulberg)

** For kheer** I use the Tetra packed milk (Milk Pak Preferably) It's thick and good in taste. You can get it from any Grocery Store nearby. I saw the Rainbow Condensed milk in super stores.

**Whipped Cream **I usually use Olpers' or Milk Pak (though they call it Malai). There are the other Brans also that are easily Available in every Grocery Store. Haleeb, Nestle etc

**Cheese **I never look for the shredded cheese so I don't exactly know whether it's available or not, you can find them in Super Markets mentioned above. For pizza I use **Adams "Pizza Cheese" **which is the mixture of both Chedder + Mozzarella. I don't need to shred the cheese separately, it saves my time :) other forms of cheese are now also available like Happy Cow Sandwich cheese, in blocks.

**Methi **you can get Frozen/Fresh vegetables too in the super markets.

**Frozen Puff Pastry Sheets **I saw Frozen Puff Pastry Square Blocks somewhere and the Brands' name was "Mazedar"