Lahore Nama...

**Baghdad of Harun Rasheed

**The road going staright in Bano bazar..after half a kilometer …reach a main road named as Circular road …a very busy area…there is a underground passage..crossing that..will pass the road…and alongwith top and high red minarate of a mosque known as Muslim Masjid…one will enter the 1000 years old ..and real lahore…Lohari darwaza..i think…but cars cannot be driven inside..as streets are narrow..and centuries old hawalis and homes…5 5 storeies..tall…and so narrow some streets are even two men cannot pass simultaneously…sun rays never reached in these narrow streets…this is real Lahore..the people licvingbhere are for centuries..and considered as real Lori people..having particular extent of Urdu…

These 12 doors like …

*Mochi darwaza

*Bhatti darwaza

*Lohari darwaza

*Shah Alam darwaza

*Yakki darwaza

*Sherawala darwaza

etc etc…

They all are inter-connected …with thousands of streets and bazars inside…hving real taste…food spots..and tradions of centuries…It is resembled with the …

*Baghdad of Caliph Harun Rasheed

*Khan Khalieli Bazar of Cairo(1000 years old)

*Bazar-e-Hameedia of damasqus(where Hussain(ra) head was brought to Yazeed..and still exists)

*Old bazars of sana (Yemen)

etc etc…

Alongwith Bhatti Chowk..lies the shrine of famous sufi saint ..Syed Ali Hajveri (Data gunj Bakhs) for about 1000 years old shrine…

Re: Lahore Nama...

Mann-o-Salwa....

if you enter food street fropm a road coming from AG Office...Neela gumbad ...and secteriat from three sides..you will reach at the entering point of old Anarkali food street Green colour muglia style gate....here in this square....a very famous and old shop of pooria ..channai and halwa...with name Mann-o-Salwa ....and enjoying in Barsat mornings is really a unforgetavble experience ...This shop has decades of experience ..and is famous all over Lahore with its crispy and paper thinny pooria...and delicious channai and light sweet perfect halwa....you can enjoy tere sitting in your car...i dont say in the hotel..as its small place...and mostly men eat outside or inside..i think no room for families and ladies etc...or you can take it down to your home or hotel to enjoy ...

a good news for you..islamabad is not so hot as lower punjab and sindh areas...so Lahore ..is more hotter than Islamabad...moreover..islamabad is a place filled with grrenary..and forests..of Margallah hills..while Lahore is plain field..so much difference of temperature ...yes...if you can afford ACs...its more suitable for you specially if you coming from abroad..where there is not so much hot..... regarding food...nope sadia... i tell you honestly...whats food items...quality and taste you will find at lahore...not in islamabad...even not in whole Pakistan...LOL ....believe it... this city is a heart of cultural..mystical..spirtual ..and political axis of pakistan..having thousands of years history and traditions...you can find nice and high price restaurants...in islamabad....but tarditional Phajjai kai pai...Lahori Nan Channai...and Hareesa ..(favourite of Nawaz Sharif)and Haleem Nan of shah Alam Market having 80 years old taste....you cannot find such things in islamabad....so plz... also have a vist to lahore alongwith islamabad...and plz..also invite me..so that i can tell you more better places...LOL...my bill will be upon you......

Yaasir sri pai..halwa nan chnnai..lassi...

Now...standing at Manno-o-Salwa shop...if you move towards left on road going to Punjab Secretarit ...on the same square...just second shop is with name Yasir Siri Pai..Yasir milk shop and Yasir Nan Channai ....these three are infact one big shop..with fully air conditioned..i think 4 splits units..with all glasses covered shops..and excellent environment for ladies and families...and quite reasonable in prices......

Its best speciality is Nan Channai...1 plate and 2 Kulchas (Naans with tils on it) ...comes about in Rs 28... The kulchas are super crispy and delicious and Channais are very tasty ..neither so Mirch masala type ..nor peekay etc...just normal and excellent....but..but...but..its only when you have a tradinal long 1 foot steel glass of delicious lahori Lassi...of Rs 25 only....with cool iceshaking into the glass..If you are fond of adding malai...you can also say them to add it..if youy are not cholestrol concious ..LOL...

But really..its very tasty..to have this glass of lassi....I always have seen a large no. of people either drinking or taking it to home..its famous all over Anarkali....

One more thing ...its delicious and special interior lahori food .,..Sri Pai...with bong...tradionally served in Pyalas...with kulchas..and you will enjoy the bone marrows of tasty bones...LOL....you can also have Maghaz(Brain) of a bakra ...of about rs 70..its also very famous dish of interior lahore..and gives power to brain in special....

The crockery..environment is excellent and families really enjoy if its in barsat..outside is raining..and you are watching water splashing on the glass panes....outside....

Poori halwa...

Standing at Man-o-salwa..if we move towards ..the other end of food street ..then just at end..on right...at the same side where Mano salwa is ...there is a good shop of Pooria...with round tables and good family environment...but you will not find nan Channai here..Pooria..halwa..channai..lassi..aalo walai parathai etc..its also a good shop..i forgeot its name...but its a good looking shop..and can easily be detectable...8 or 9 shops behaind where food street another gate ends...with adjacet a vegetable shops and wireless loop phones boys sitting outside...

Anarkali juice shop....

Where food street ends..this chowk is known as new Anarkali chowk..with old Tolinton Market...Lahore Museum..and NCA at left and Punjab university and Bata Shoes store at front...At this Chowk..at left...a very big..nice and modern shop of juice and shakes...every kind..like banana shake..mango shake..apple shake..strawberry shake..date shake...pineaplle shake..ranging from Rs 20 to Rs..40..Pomegranate juice ..a bit expensive..may be around rs. 70 or more...and so on...but its speciality is Khoya Khajoor...the date shake with added khoya...i think you know..khoya...can i use urdu and punjabi words..as i think...you originally not from italy..so i think..you can understand..khoya..the boiled milk...ultimatley turned into khoya ...its available around Rs 35 ore Rs 40..and famous in all Lahore for that...

There is a nice garden with beutiful umbrellas above..you can sit there ..to drink juices or in your car...as you wish....

The crossing of new Anarkali chowk..will enter you into famous bazar Anarkali..with garments and T shirts shops at left and few paintings and books shops at right..till we reach the small chowk..where right will road going to pakistan best King Edward Medical College and on left the legend of Asia..Government College Lahore...as crosing the chowk..you will enter the Bano Bazar and bakhsi Market ...

dahi bhallai of bano bazar...

Opposite to bano Sari House Shop ..some half a kilometer ..straight...a very famous and old shop of dahi bhallay..famous all over Anar kali..and rest place for all shopping ladies...of aAnarkali..LOL...they must stop at that place..eat dahi Bhallai..drink Pepesi etc..or even eat Falooda here..A narrow passagee will lead you to eating place with good sitting conditions..and women eat this delicious Dahi Bhallai

just forget ..while going to dahi Bhallai shop opposite to bano sari house..at the same side of bano sari house..some 200 yards backwards..a very famous shop of Ghulaab jaman ..with name shiree Mahal..famous all over Lahore for its delicious ..sweet and delicate taste of ghulaab jammans...but are expensive as compared to other shops..as they claim that they make it with desi ghee...etc...i think..Shree mahal is the correct name...with green borad upside...its a corner shop....

Government College burger ...

The road going to Government College and Punjab University IT department ..to the left ....before entering into Babur market and Bano bazar of Anarkali...oppsite to Punjab aniversity IT Department..and Adjacent with dental college girls hostel...a very famous and old burger shop...no no..not that of KFC and Macdonalds type stuff...its tradinational burger with long or circular bun having shami kabab..egg..salad..tomamto sauce..chatni etc...and avaialble in Rs 20 for small smai tikki and Rs 25 for special shami tikki...

Its totrally different of chicken or fish type burger and very tasty...alwasy there is a large people mostle girls fron PU IT Department..PU fine Arts department..government college..King edward medical college..and dental college girls ..standing at the spot having burgers with bottles ..whenever thier periods are off...or they bunk..LOL

Palak Biryani ...

once you will enter real lahore..also known as Interior or Androon lahore..you will find plenty of food spots with centuries old taste and tarditions...They are so many that ..i cannot name them individually...but briefly...

*Palak Biryani

*Nan Haleem

*Tali hooi Machli (Kashmiri Bazar)

*Nan Pakorai (famous in ladies specially ..and men also)

*Sri Pai

*Nan Channai

*Khund kulchai

*Baqar Khani with Chai (favourite morning food specially for Kashmiri people of Amritsar etc)

*Takka Tak kabab andGurdai

*and more more food....

You can ask any shopkeeper or even pedestrain about any particular food spot for particular dish..and he will guide you the best place for that thing inside Lahore..People inside lahore are very helpful and lovely..always willing to help others...so you will not face any difficulty...inshallah

Falooda of Pani Wala Talab ...

Just a kilomaeter behind the famous Lahore fort...there is a very famous place with name Pani Wala talab..from here..the water supply to whole lahore goes...so this place is famous all over lahore for its falooda and Toothia...may be you are aware of toothia..an mud made small pot filled with feerni and freezed on ice blocks..in tradional ways..one is available of about Rs 10 ...and very very tasty..as a sweet dish...People from all over lahore coem to pani wala talab to eat falooda ..ice cream and toothia.

Beadon Road Chamman Ice Cream....

Mall Road also known as Shrah-i-Quaid-e-Azam is the main road of Lahore..passing from main of cities..and have beautiful old british regime buildings on it...and many connecting roads connect with Mall Road..one of the road is famous Beadon Boad...and just as you enter beadon road from Mall Road 3 or 4 shop is Chamman Ice Cream...very very famous for its taste of ice cream..in whole Lahore...there is beatufil sitting arrangements for families ..and ice cream of all tastes are avilable...Mile shakes and juices are also avilable..In front of this shop..a famosus shop of dahi Bhallai..fruit Chat..Aalo Channai..etc....you can also try this...

Kashmiri Chai...

One of the famous soghat of winter in Lahore and specially interior/androon Lahore is Kasmiri Chai...or Sabz Chai...or Green Tea...or Pink Tea....they just all are same....This tea is made in each bazar and each street6 of Interior Lahore like Mochi darwaza...Shah Aalmi ...Lohari darwazi ..and Akbari gate etc...and people mostly jewlers of Johri Bazar...and Cloth merchants of Azam Cloth Market.....the biggest Market of pakistan ....are very fond of drinking this tea..and all regular customers of these shops are also served with this tea...specially in winter instead of soft drinks...so if you have a chance to come in winter..in interior Lahore...you can enjoy it....as well...

Its the favourite drink of Kashmiries people specially in Lahore...which are called "Butt"...very beautiful ...they are ...specially girls..blush..LOL....and this tea is not like black tea..which produces intense heat inside body..its taste and nature is a bit cool...and have a soothing effect of human nevous system..and have many benifets..instead of that black tea..which in hot environment of pakistan...never suitable for most people...

Fish spots in Lahore ...

Winter ..though not severe in lahore..ut people here are very fond of Machli/fish..specially fried..or finger fish..etc..there are many shops chains in lahore specially for fish like...

*Sardar Machli

*Lahore broast

*Dar-ul-Mahi

but most famous is Dar-ul-Mahi ..at Bhaati chowk..i think also on chouburgi..its one branch...but its tasty..and very crispy....

moreover ..machli of Garhi Shau area...near Railway Station is also very famous...Machli of Gawalmandi...near food street is famous all over Lahore ...and all peopel know the Machli of Gawalmandi ..by its name...mostly rau machli is famous..for its particulatr taste ....

Qatlamma ...

its of same analogy but a bit different from the land of pizza ..from which you rae coming...Italy....actually...its base is of maida...and coated with many many things...in its stuff...and charming orange colour ...and very very big size...almost 40' or 50' etc...and a very famous among interior Lahore..and very tasty indeed...specially made on urs(maila) ..of saints also ...like Dat gunj bakhs etc ..or maila Madhu Lal Hussain in baghbanpura ...

its availble from interior lahore particularly...or other parts also like nankali etc....but a bit heavy..in sense of chlestrol...so if you are not so touchy about cholestrol like thing...you can fully enjoy it....

Pathoorai ...

Also a very tasty and renowned thing of Lahore..Actually...its like a poory..but a big small and thick...and eaten with Channai...and Achar...i think ..you know what is Achar...pickle..i think..its english..not sure...anyways..the achar of sour carrot...with channai is the real combination of Pathoorai ...

You can try it from interior Lahore..or even with Old Anarkali food street or Gawalmandi food street ...

Bundu Khan Kabab...

On Mall Road...near Reagal Chowk..its a famous kabab shop...with nice taste...one of its branch is on dubai Chowk..Moon Market also....you can have a taste of it also..if you like...kebab..specially ...seekh kebab

Koozi Haleem ...with Nan....

Its famous allover Lahore ...for its taste and vast branches all over lahore...One such branch is on canteen stop ..near Punjab Secretariat...another branch is on Chouburgi ...its yellow colour shop is ...is evident from far away..and there is always a great rush of people thier..there are also many other brancches at varous places..but i dont know thier exact location..but two above are confirmed ..spots...

Sri Pai Spots of Lahore...

There are two famous shops chains in Lahore for it and many other shops....

**Phajjai kai Pai*

**Daira Fazle Haq*

Phajjai kai pai...is famous all over Lahore..and i think..this shop is in interior Lahore....dont know its exact location...but you can ask any shopkeeper about the exact place..he will guide you....

Dera Fazle haq ..have various branches in Lahore...like Chouburgi ...Model Town F Block...backside the Punjab secretariat ...and many other places....

Nirala sweets Rabri ....

Rabri is a kind of ice cooled sweet milk with khoya ... almonds..pistachio... and other things added into it..its available in lonf pepsi like plastic glass with lid over it and straw in between ....and really have a good taste in schorching heat waves of summer....one of the most famous point is of Nirala Sweets...and all its branches in Lahore..like

*Dubai Chowk..Moon Market, Allam Iqbal town...

*Model Town Link Road(Peco Road)

*The road going to Mozang from Shama stop ...

Butt Sweets Samosas ...

Its also quite famous food in Lahore...specailly when Monsoon watters are splashing over the lands of Punjab ..etc...Samosas are also made and fried in houses ...also small size known as samosia...a must dish of Aftar time in Ramzan ...they are of various types....

*qeemai wali samosia

*aalo wali samosia

*chicken samosia

*beef samosia

*vegetable samosia

etc etc...

But BUTT Sweets branch ..which is on Muslim Town Mor..on Wahdat road..near Aabb Para stop...is famous for its samosas...I think Rs 5 / samosa...aaloo wala ...

Also the famous samosas re of Old Anarkali....food street..and interior lahore.

Lahore Broast ..fried chicken ...

There are various good places for broasted chiken ..deep fried ...but most famous are...

*Lahore Broast ....

*Yaasir Broast

etc etc ...

Lahore Broast have various branches in Lahore like...

• Chouburgi

*Peco road (near akbar Chowk..Township)

*Defence

etc etc ...

they fried chickens in american imported machies....and really crispy and tasty....

Yaasir Broast is also good name..with its branches at....

*Chouburgi

*Peco Road ..opposite to Lahore Broast...

Both give a quarter piece of about Rs 55 or less...with some french fries...two pices of braed and two tomato sause sall plastic dibbi...

There is excellent sitting conditions at both places...and you can enjoy that...

Jalandhar Motee Choor Laddoo

one of the most famous shop for Jalandhar motee Choor Laddoo..is inside new Anarkali...near Bano Bazar...adjacent with paisa Akhbar Street...very tasty and old ...tradional touch.... One more shop is near MAO College..near Punjab secretariat ..adjacent with Aamir hotel building.... these are yellow bright..with each particle seperate and visible with excellent taste...usually eaten on weddings ceremony or sent in houese on child birth ..ortaken to wedding house in tokra ..LOL...

Ras Malai....

There are various places for good ras malai...like

• Butt Sweets (wahdat Road)

*Nirala Sweets(all branches)

*Gourmet bakery(all about 21 branches)

all are good..particularly gourmet bakery have largest chin in Lahore...4 ras malai pack comes out to be about Rs %0 or more ....

a good taste in summer indeed...

Gol Gappai ....

Nothing is so tasty..

Nothing is so jubilous...

and nothing is so much added with excitement....

when to park your car..near a Gol guppai...rairi or thaila..LOL...come out of car...order for Gol Gappai...and ask the man to full the pyala of cheeni(tradinal pyala) with full Khattai...(a sour and tasty water in which Gol gappai) are dipped and then eaten...LOL

Its amazing and funny ..to eat Gol Gapai..aor rather watch others..to have it....They are so delicate that when you dip into Pyala...its break..and the Tattri mix water...started pouring down.. LOL....

My cousins..whenever ....used to go to eat Gol Gappai....they used to drink 3 3 pyalai of Khattai...by insisting the man selling Gol gappai...until..he put his hands and refused to give more ....hehehehehe....

But its fun to have it...They are found at each nook and corner of Lahoore...but specially in Libert and Gulberg markets..old..and good taste..where a lower middle class to the high fi class equally enjoy it....

Lahore is considered as the political axis of pakistan...every movement started from Lahore..ultimately reached a decisve stage..like

*Pakistan Movement (1940 Lahore Resolution)

• Khatmme Nabuwaat movement(1953)

• Anti Ayub (1969)

*Anti Bhutto (1977)

*Benazir reception(1986)

8 Justice Ifthkhar(5 May 2007)

from hundreds of years Androon Lahore..Mochi darwaza is world known place for processions....its a nursery ..and all great orators and leaders ...like Atta ullah Shah Bukhari...Shorish Kashmiri ...educated from that...

Village Hotel...

Village hotel is a good place to have a luch or dinner there..Its atmosphere is specially made as a village...having gharrai of water...mud made counter...tanga...(horse riding cab)...etc etc..are arond the main diing hall...So you can enjoy ..like having into the village of Pakistan or Punjab...the serving men and staff also wear dhoti ..pagri...particular punjabi dresses...and Lassi..is a main drink..LOL....

Not so expensive..i think buffet dinner is about Rs 400 ..and you can eat ..as much as you can in about 3 hours or so....nice place to vist..in M M Alam Road

Sunfort restaurant...

Sunfort restaurant is also a goodand nice place to have aopportunity to dine there...a very beautiful located and excellent archtechture...in Gulberg area...good stuff and nice rates....

Mirchi....

Mirchi is also a nice place to visit in M M Alam Road..name is so spicy..as like the food LOL...

Gourment Restaurant...

Gourment restaurant....is an excellent and one of the most beautiful restaurant of Lahore...Its located in faisal Town..near Akbar Chowk...and Johar town...alongwith Gourmet bakery...All is glass windows covered with beautiful low light scenario inside... a bit expensive...but very nice food stuff....specially

• Roasted leg of lamb(Rs 500)

• Chicken Kabab(Rs 140 ...4 kababs plate)

*Egg Fried rice....

and all chinese ...tradional...drinks..teas...sofdt..juices...nd hundreds of other things....

You will really enjoy the beautiful atmosphere....actually its the only restaurant of Gourment ...as it has about 20 25 branches of backeryin Lahore..the biggest chain...

Daal Maash Handi

For all those who fed up with meat..chicken..fish..beef and mutton like stuff....

a beautiful tradional punjabi cheeni ki handi ..of dark brown colur with green paiting on it ...filled with delicious Daal Massh ..of yellow colour ..garnished with small adrak pieces...fried salim red chillies ..round chillies...fried onion sprikled on it.....

Available from Gourmet rstautrant ..two people serving ...of Rs 95 only....

Chicken Achari handi ...

Another nice dish of lahore ..can be avilable from all restaurants including gourmet restaurant ....

in the usual cheeni ki handi ...with mud lid over it ...and have a bit sour taste due to achar or pickle touch in it ... i think ..serving of two people ..and about in Rs .200 available ....

Salt and Pepper...

The Salt and Pepper is a very famous restaurnt of Lahore...Never tasted it ...ever...but heard that...its a nice place to have dinner there....

The name is very unique and beautiful..so seems that..the food will be as well

*Copper and Kettle...

The Copper and Kettle is a very famous and old restaurant of lahore...located in Libert Market..near big round about of Main Liberty Market....many people say that ..its lunch items are very tasty ..and unique..never tasted that...

Its also give a good and tasty iftar packages in Ramzan ....

Its a pretty oldy restaurant of Lahore..but very famous...

nice post...hey, do u know the name of a restaurant in lahore that has 3 floors (including the rooftop) that is next to a huge masjid?

sorry dear afshi...can you plz..explain it more..where is location...any guess...big mosque...dont remeber ..badshahi ..mosque...etc ..or some new mosque...???

thanks divine light..but i found out..its called Coocoo's den (or cafe)....im visting lahore next month and my dad mentioned that he heard its a good place to eat.....

oh sorry afshi.....not familiar with it..i think..it will be modern one .may be on M M Alam road....

great collection of Lahori food data!

Another great restaurant is Peeru at Raiwind Road.. a bit far from town but amazing decor and food.. it is owned by famous Rafi Peer Puppet Theatre - Usman Perzada..

^^ thanks degas sahab ...:)

peeru..not heard about it...will try sometime..:D

Mr Cod....basically Fish burger shop chains..at Punjab University New Campus bridge..a road going towards ..Barkat Chowk....

Subway ..very tasty..fast food..chains at Davis Road..fit for business class at that road...and multi national comp0anies..air ticket companies etc etc...

Second branch on** Peco Road*...near **Akbar chowk..the meeting point of **Faisal town...Jauhar Town...and Township...*

Re: Lahore Nama…

subways suck :snooty: