fk off
Facinating....
Yaara,
Koi lafaz nahi mere kole tera jwab dain lai....tera koi jwab nahi.
Good description of Hira Mandi......
How you know so much about your city?I hardly know that well my own home :)
Thanks very much for your effort.
Please drop me an e-mail. There is another website where your Lahore post will be really appreciated.
CM
hira what?
NYAhmadi,
Here is the address for the website.
http://www.punjabi.net/
It is a global Punjab website which includes any Punjabi speaking person living any where in the world. Pretty new site on the web, still needs development.
try Talk/Discussions->culture->Traditions/festivals etc.
CM
very nice NYAhmadi
Thankyou again :)
Hmmm….I love this post :)
Just brought it up so others could read it and …...something else jo mujhe ab yaad nahiN aa rahi :)
[This message has been edited by sabah (edited May 09, 2000).]
NYA–great post man! bahut khoob..i’ve never been to Lahore
http://www.pak.org/gupshup/frown.gif
(i know main haali jamiya ee naieeN ! ;))..when insha Allah I go–i’ll definitely visit Heera Mandi as a tourist..
btw, is it still possible to go and see a mujra of a tawaif in a classical setting a la Pakeezah or Umrao Jaan Ada? (ie as in these movies)?
btw..i’ve seen Naheed Siddiqui perform kathak…amazingly beautiful ![]()
BTW Chann Mahi or any other Indian out there, please can you post about the Chowk in Lucknow as it was also famous as a tawaif neighbourhood–what is the situation like in Lucknow now? Also how about Old Delhi as well?
[This message has been edited by Asif (edited May 09, 2000).]
get lost
a very well researched post..thankyou
NYA,
Thanks for the great post. I enjoyed reading about the history of Lahore specially the part that it existed in 170 AD and had a slightly different name. My father and his family moved to Delhi from Lahore during 1947, they always had fond memories of the place. My grandfather was a lawyer and he along with his family moved from Lyallpur to Lahore when the government of day decided to move the courts.
I am impressed by your knowledge of classical Indian dances and human emotions depicted through them. Indian community in North America have some great Bharatnatyam, Kathakali and Odissi dancers. University of Washington offers degree in Indian classical dancing. We are lucky to have a few of these talented people part of our community.
Now you have aroused my curiosity, I would like to hear something about new Lahore (build after 1947) and also about good places to shop.
[This message has been edited by Rani (edited May 09, 2000).]
NYAhmadi aap mujhe se chand din baRe ho GupShup pe :)
Anyway when I first read this post, I remember ke I hated it, for almost same reasons that you know from your prostitution threads – lekin I’m glad that I have learned to respect these ppl and places :)
I read somewhere that culture-wise Lahore is the richest city in Asia. I’ve seen documentaries about Lahori darwaze etc. It’s amazing to see all that art. As for modern arts, yeah ppl do like modern art more then our own for some odd reasons, I think modern arts is ugly in a way.
Know what, during Basant ’they’ (dunno who) allowed arts students to decorate the nehr with their art, must have been so encouraging for them. I wish we had more festivals so ppl could enjoy the beauty of this culture.
[This message has been edited by sabah (edited May 10, 2000).]
Ahmadi - very interesting post. I just feel bad I didn't have time to see all of lahore while I was there.
Without a doubt, lahore is the most memorable city I have ever visited. Especially the badshahi masjid and the kila area with the minaar there as well. I didn't feel like leaving the place. I was with my cousin and his wife, he did mention that next time we will go to hira mandi, I asked him what is hira mandi? he said, 'jayenge, jab meri begum nahi paas hogi :)
Wow....that was amazing NY.
I didn't have a chance to read it the first time around. Thanks for taking the time.
Ahmadi yaar,
I have been trying to read this post for past few days but was too busy so today took out some time. Like always, marvelous!
I would love to have you talk about Raavi, the old, serene river with legends of centuries old traditions and spirits of ancestors burried in its waters... and the perpetual 'hoook' that lingers on its flows and sparks the enlightment of sofism in the listners.
Lahore without Raavi is like Tawaif without ghungroo.
Very informative and relevant. Dear khadim, you are have a very gifted pen… you are simply marvelous….
- I think its because of its rich and naturalistic background, the city had been named ‘LaWhore’, later represented as ‘Lahore’.
Sabah, thanks for refreshing the post.
raajdulara
[This message has been edited by r@@jdulara (edited May 10, 2000).]
go eat yourself.
Ahmadi yaar, are you kidding? I don't know about Lahore half as much as you do, and I was born there!
About Dr. Rashid wali gali (Actually, Dr Rashid performed the circumscision on me... just another historical fact, you know :P), well, when you enter Anya wala mor after getting off on the bus stop and passing the fried fish shops on each side, you come to a little 'choraha', you make right there, and few yards on your righthand side is Dr. Rashid's clinic, and adjacent to it is the gali where I was born.
To help you more, if you continue passing the clinic and gali on your right side, then after few more yards is the turn on the left that takes you towards Madho Lall Hussain mazar and GC col BGP. However, if you don't turn towards the mazar and keep on going straight, then after about half a mile or so is Government High School. Sounds familiar?
Excellent, bawa gi Ahmadi....
some time I think I should become a frog and and Live all my life in the well called Lahore...Its full of Life.
I wish more people should write about there experiences in Lahore.
Oye Mini-Me, you can start on your experiences anytime, don't wait for us (if you are not too 'busy' these days, that is :P).