Ladies ...!

BBQ’s thread gave me an idea …

would you ladies be more intimidated by the fact if your husband happens to be a great culinary expert ( you grudgingly admit - better than you) and you have people acknowledging that to you - no I don’t mean the stay at home type guys ..but a professional who’s not only good at work but also equally good in the kitchen..(the sort who would step rarely in the kitchen but once they do they would cook some wonders and steal the limelight)

and to add spice to the thread …what if he only steps into the kitchen when *his *family is around ..would that make you insecure ? :stuck_out_tongue:

Re: Ladies ...!

I'd be blessed and if he could wash all the dirty dishes after a nice home cooked gourmet meal, that would be like so amazing.

im sorry i didn't get it, one four-line sentence, ??

hehe no ...that's the catch .. you do all the dirty sidekick work :D

are you a lady? :p

Re: Ladies …!

Enigmatic…:vivo:

Then I’ll cook myself. :snooty:

No it would actually be cute :)

But seeing men do cooking as a profession is a turn off :( You see afterall i belong to the stoneage and still believe that jis ka jo kaam usi ko acha lage :D.

lol i knew you would say that so i thought of the reply

i just wanted to read your post, me replying wouldnt make any sense,

I have no shame in admitting that my fiance is a better cook than I am...and he actually enjoys cooking (I don't particularly enjoy it!). Generally when there are guests over....to be honest...he does the "main" dishes. I usually stick with cleaning and preparing silly things like salads. Not only is he good at following recipes...but he's also great at adding "twists" to standard recipes to make them even better.

I think part of the reason this doesn't bother me is b/c with my parents...my dad is a better cook than my mom and he also enjoys cooking. My mom is open about the fact that she didn't know much cooking until she got married....and after marriage, my dad is the one who taught her! There was never any "shame" regarding this in my family.

^that's nice ..

i personally like the idea of a helping hand in the kitchen and esp if your hubby willingly does it with you...

but i was asking this coz i have seen lots of people mocking at such couples and calling the wife 'phohar' and the man as joru ka ghulam just because the husband helps his wife out and is good at cooking !

why this mentality !

If you look at history, all greats cooks have been men.

It is sad that in one field where women are supposed to be better, they’re still behind men.

Men Zindabad :jhanda:

I don't mind him being a joro ka ghulam at all.

Lol where do I find such hubby who is good at both???my FIL is a great cook but zero in his professional life..my hubby has a good job but zero in kitchen..sadly:(

umm I'll take someone who's a "zero" in the kitchen than someone who's "zero" in work/professional life any day.

Jealousy? I do know people who make negative comments about this too BUT interestingly, the people who do so are either single...OR the man in the relationship does not help in the kitchen. Personally, for me it's a great bonding experience. Many times when I'm cooking....he'll hover around to make sure I'm doing it right...lol. Or when he's cooking, I'll do a lot of the "prep" work or clean. So its not a situation where I'm in the kitchen cooking while he's sitting somewhere else watching TV or whatever. It allows us to still talk and interact and spend quality time with each other.

A lot of it has to do with how they were raised and what their parents attitudes were towards this. My fiance's mom was a housewife and she taught all her boys how to cook. In fact, my fiance(and his brothers) used to help her in the kitchen, with household chores such as laundry/cleaning....and even used to help her in her rose/herb garden! Even at his brother's house, when guests are over...his brother usually "takes charge" of the food. BUT...I also know people who comes from families that follow a very strict traditional gender-defined roles. So when someone comes from a family that has a negative attitude towards this....it doesn't shock me to see them having the same attitude.

I would like my husband to be in the kitchen seeing me cook rather than him doing all the cooking himself. As Sara516 said, a guy should be good in his prefosessional life and cooking is just an extra. If he good in it, fine. Otherwise, I am good enough to offer him a reaonably meal to him. Bhooka nahi maaron gi ussey :p And if he is better in cooking, I would love to learn from him until I become better.

My father is Alhamdulillah very good cook and he is good in his professional life as well :D. We usually don't like our mother's cooking. Normally he cooks in holidays or when he wants to eat something special. When my mother gets ill, he takes care of kitchen. But he is not good in cleaning kitchen :p. We have to do all the cleaning after his cooking.

By the way that's the main reason why i can't cook bcoz whenever my mother is ill or not at home... my father cooks and doesn't give me chance to cook something :p.

My mother admits this fact wholeheartedly that my father is a better cook :p.

Obviously if my husband cooks food or can cook food it would be a great for me.. i don't mind husband in my kitchen :p.

I’d count my blessings and savour the culinary delights he concocts… :yummy:***

What more can a gal ask for !!!***

so you wouldn't mind if somebody comes over and said ' ..... bhai to itna acha khana banate hain ..bhabi ap ki kya speciality hai ..ap un se seekh rahi hain? ' :D

or some candid aunties remarking ...'is k to mazay ho gaye ...shohar jo kaam kerne k liye sara din mil gaya hai'

I would reply them.... "app kyun jealous ho rhai hain aunty... ap kahein tu ap k husband bhi training dilwa doon" :p