ladies, spelling veil in Urdu ?

1. doppatta
  2. dapata - phonics of this word?
  3. dopatah
  4. or dupatta
    which one is better? anyone knows why the veil is called with this name in Urdu?

best,
Dushwari

Re: ladies, spelling veil in Urdu ?

technically #1 should be the one

spoken language is #4

Agree.

Veil is called naqaab, is not it

Dupatta is called dupatta (or Do Pattaa) cause it has two pattees, one hanging from each shoulder

tlk bhai, u amaze me with simple straight forward answer like 'it has two pattees.' :>

He’s a genius I tell ya. :blush:

did u just make that up?

I did not make that up
sharam karo ilzaam lagaatay hoo’ai :smack:

dupatta:konfused:

is it?

It just sounds like something u made up cuz dupatta is worn in many different styles :hoonh:

Indeed he made it, obvious reason is, its not 2, its ddo, it pronounce as 'daal(dayy) wao do', so yeah its not 2-patta (:-D

as of in gadha garhi, yeah thats 2-Patta (dopatta) (:-p, thats a leather belt wrapped around the neck and head of gadha and 2-ends goes in the hands of the driver, it is used to steer gadha by gadha-garhi driver... (hee-adhay...adhay hattooo-nee hirhay hirhay hirhay...) .. bolay to gadha gari ka steering...

BTW, dopatta ... burqa type things are available in museum these days!

^ very funny. Some women still use them :halo:

^-- and do we need some special microscope to find those *some *? :-p

sadly enough, You do :-/

kahan rehtay hain app :hayaa:

its a latest trend…abb to goryoon nay bhi phena hota hai :hehe:

yesterday i saw two gori’z wearing long dopatta-scarf, tie around their neck, and they also used it to cover their heads from rain :mocking:

it is wore in different styles , but the origination of the word is what I described

its like Pajama, which is Pa-Jama means the clothe to cover legs

whatz wrong with that simple ’ Hijaab ’ word :emmy:

DA-BUTTA

:mad: ok

Phocha jo unse ap ka Parda woh kia hova **
**kah'nay lageeN AQAL pay mardooN ki par gaya

(Akbar Aillabadi)