Well, I wouldn't believe it either but I have actually heard people say it works. Thats just not anybody, they are people that I personally know. Just read your pm... samjh gayee :)
I have heard/seen far too many scary stories about laser hair removal, I would never recommend it for anyone.
irem plz mai tere aggay haath jorni aan, dont do this.
Sheru i dont want to yaar
i mean itni lambi treatment aur itni mehngi oopar se
lekin i dont have a choice yaar halaat kaafi kharaab haen tujhay toh pata hi hae ![]()
MQ ive heard mixed things from diff ppl
mahnoor ![]()
Try looking into getting Intense Pulse Light (IPL - but may be known by its brand names like Epilight or Aculight), its a form of laser suitable for darker hairs. It uses the melanin in your hair to concentrate the light along the hair shaft down to its root and 'killing' it. It's better suited for asians as the hair is, then the better it works.
bleached? ![]()
Why would u want to do that for? ![]()
Irem, you're educated, wise enough to understand the causes and procedures involved in any hormone treatment, either its from your doctor or some piir sahab.
Saying you dont believe in modern science is just saying you dont believe in math, or accounting or, computers. Even allah says to explore. You're problem is NOT your facial hair, its your imbalanced hormones which CAUSES you're facial hair. I have said this many times and I'll keep saying it now to threads similiar like yours, PLEASE try to get to the root of the problem, and not surface around the jist. Here is how it works.
During puberty, teenage girls go through major hormone imbalance, our bodies grow and the hormones just go out of wack. Twenty two percent of the females even suffer from PCO, polycyctic ovaries. It cause the following, obesity (or excessive weight gain in short time), hirtuism (faical hair, some get sever acne, depending upon their nuture of body), and later on it causes infertitlity. PCO is genetic, therefore can't be cured comepletly, but has treatments. I would STRONGLY suggest you go to a Gynaecologist, just like Nesico advised. They will do your hormone profile, and take it from there. And your doctor will def find out, the root your facial hair problem.
Even if you DO get laser treatment, if you're body is not stable, the hair is DEF going to grow back in a couple of year. Try stablizing your body FIRST, and then take care of your facial hair. Doctors recommend estrogen pills which are simply contraceptives, they're only given as hormone substitues. Women with PCO have to either take the pills for some time (as in 3-4 months) or for life depending upon the nature of their body. The pill has an overall good effect on the utreus and your body, you're skin is going to become more soft, clear, shiny, and NO FACIAL hair. Its side effects include, severe mood swings, and minor other ones, which I dont recall, they're no biggie, dry mouth nausea stuff like that.
There was this girl in my class, used to wear hijab ONLY because she was emabarrased of her facial hair around the side burns. I sat down with her one day, tried explaining her everything. Recommended Dr. Farrukh Zaman, one of the top leading Gynae docs in Pakistan, he works at Hameed Latif Hospital. She went to him last year and was treated with PCO, was on the pill for 4 months, now her facial hair is gone, all that excessive weight is lost, she looks and feels great. And the hijab is gone LOL for whatever reasons.
LM thanks for the reply. I do get what you’re saying but I’ve heard different stories from different people about taking pills, and some people who were completely normal messed up themselves coz of that. Thing is, God made my body and its working fine then why should I mess with it for cosmetic reasons? I dono. I do feel it IS stable. alhamdulillah. Yaar, I can live with having to wax/thread/bleach/anything else all my life but if a certain mechanism of my body IS working fine then I don’t want to mess with it. Call it my jahalat/paindoness whatever have you but I just am scared of messing up with this.
Khayr, yes I will go to a gynae and I will get those tests. But I can’t say for sure if I’ll get any treatment done. In my case this is heridetary and even my dermatologist said that if it is heridetary then its prolly not hormones. but yeah just for tasalli and jus to know maybe i should get those tests.
anyways, i PMed you too.
Pra umm to camouflage small hair on the face ![]()
Shahreen hmm i c. thanks for the info. will ask my doc abt that. thanks ![]()
ladies ![]()
UPDATE
I’ve decided to go for the laser hair removal treatment inshallah for my whole face and underchin.
I’m currently trying to decide between two different doctors who are supposed to be the best in the field here. Here are their details:
Doctor # 1: uses the Long Pulse Nd-Yag laser. She said I will need atleast 6-8 sittings and even more if I have hormonal problems (I haven’t had those tests done yet so this is still to be determined). She will charge Rs8,000 per sitting for full face and underchin and after 6 sittings the cost would be 50% per sitting. Sittings are every three weeks normally.
Doctor # 2: uses the Diode A400+ Vantage and Long Pulse Nd-Yag laser. She said I would need 4-6 sittings, but she has told me that no matter how many sittings I need, the full package would be for Rs60,000 for full face and underchin. Sittings are every month normally.
Both doctors are nice so I like both of them, doctor # 1 is a girl of about my age and very sweet so I feel more comfortable with her, she’s a student as well, she’s really nice and softspoken. The other doctor, # 2, is a middle aged lady and a more assertive and confident personality, but she’s nice too. I know this is a secondary issue about what the doctors’ personalities are like, but since this is after all about a 6 month to year long treatment, I think it does matter that I feel comfortable and at ease with the doctor.
Both claim their respective laser is the best. There is no guaranteed permanent hair removal. However, the final result would be very unnoticeable fluff, hopefully, unless I have some other hormonal problems going on on the side. Doctor # 2, after an initial examination said its highly unlikely I have any hormonal problems b/c in those the patient usually becomes obese and has other irregularities which alhamdulillah I don’t have.
The following are the tests they have recommended to determine hormonal probs if any just in case:
- Ultrasound of Pelvis
- Serum Testosterone level
- LH, FSH, prolactin levels
- T3, T4, TSH
I just got back from Doctor# 1’s clinic and she did a free test patch on my chin. Right now the hair are still there, though they are dead and will shed off within the next couple of days, she said if any scabbing or scarring occurs that will also occur within the next couple of days. I can either wait for these hair to shed off by themselves or I can thread them off coz now they are dead hair.
The treatment itself was not painful, infact nothing compared to threading. The thicker the hair the more painful it is. She gave me steel goggles to wear on my eyes and on my skin it just felt like she was poking a thin needle repeatedly. You can smell the hair burning away. During and after the treatment there is a burning sensation on the skin, which might go away soon or take some time.
I’ll be getting these tests done today and then probably get the laser treatment started latest by next week inshallah.
Hmmm, I guess that was it! ![]()
salams ![]()
irem
P.S. I normally don’t open threads on such topics, however I opened this thread because apart from wanting to get advice I thought other ladies here could benefit from my experience as well. Might keep this thread updated about how things go but if I don’t, feel free to PM me and ask about any questions you have or post your questions in this thread and let me know, and I’ll try to answer via PM or in the thread inshallah if I can ![]()
Wow i learned a lot in this thread. Hope you will update us on how it goes.
Good luck Irem!
I hope the tests & treatment go well.
Thanks belle and Sahar :)
had the ultrasound earlier today and it was alhamdulillah normal (from what I could read of the report, the doc's gona see it when I go to her next tho) and the blood test results will come day after tomorrow. just waiting for that formality to be completed before going in for my first laser session, i think ima get an appointment for next week inshallah.
the small test patch they did on the chin earlier today is fine now, as in the burning has gone but there is slight scabbing, but hopefully that should go away soon. my whole chin is an absolute disaster area right now, coz of threading and spots and resultant scarring its become multicolored, looks bad :D the doc said once the hair's cleared she'll give me creams to make that area uniformly pigmented n depigment the scars.
will tryta let u know how things go, but if u dont see updates in this thread and r interested, jus drop me a pm :)
Got the test results and everything was normal [alhamdulillah]. So I guess this is something hereditary for me then.
One thing: the test laser treatment patch that the doctor did on my chin, it has gotten burnt and now I can see scabs there, small areas have gotten burnt and the skin on those areas has become dark, like it does when it gets burnt. Hmmm, I guess I'll ask the dermatologist why that happenned, how to remove those scars now. She needs to adjust the beam of her laser I guess so the same thing doesn't happen next time.
Glad all is well. Be careful!
dactar je said that electrolysis is the only permanent hair removal method, laser as far as i know stops hair growth for 2 years or more but after that the hair grow back :p
waleed hmm i c, thanks for the info, will look into it inshallah
Sahar thanks ![]()
UPDATE
Just got back from my first complete face and underchin laser treatment session with Doctor #1 (She’s the one I chose in the end not coz of any particular reason actually, but then I did a Quraan dazi too and her name came in that as well so I’m going with her
).
Right now my face is RED like a tomato and its burning like HOT CHILLIS
But khayr hae alhamdulillah ![]()
Since this was my first time and I got scabbing last time she used a moderate intensity laser today. The whole face and underchin took about 1 hour to be treated and it felt like someone was poking a sharp needle into my skin or cutting my skin with a sharp knife.
:Pagri: I was being a good girl and didn’t complain or express that it was hurting me but the doctor found out that it was painful coz there was a constant silent flood of tears from my eyes ![]()
The upper lip area is the most painful since that’s the most sensitive, and then the sideburn area is painful too because its got the thickest hair. I will be going for a touchup of today’s treatment in about 10 days again. And then it will be every 3-4 weeks.
The scabbing that had formed on my chin from my last test patch had gone completely by earlier this week alhamdulillah. The doctor said I might get scabbing again, and that too will go away so I shouldn’t be worried about that, that’s normal.
Lemi think, what else…Yah, she’s given me Clobederm ointment to apply right after the laser to ease the burning, this is for one time use right after laser. I’ll have to use Polyfax ointment or Petroleum jelly at night if its still burning. I should be careful to avoid going into excess heat, too near the stove etc, stuff that you are normally careful about when your skin is sensitive. I can also use icepacks and keep washing my face with cold water to soothe the burning. She has also given some depigmentation creams to make the laser treatment more effective but they are not to be applied two days before and after the treatment.
If you're skin still feels very hot and red then pure aloe vera gel with soothe it down very quickly.
sorry but muhahahahaha
Re: Ladies, need your advice on facial hair removal techniques, laser etc.
Irem can you update us on your laser again please :) I am really curious to know if it all went well and you are happy with ur face now? Were you able to get rid of all hair on your face. Did you get any acne or rashes after that? sorry lot of questions...i think i might do this some times in the future...please PM me if you don't want to post it here :)
Re: Ladies, need your advice on facial hair removal techniques, laser etc.
too long post. will read later.