Re: Ladies, how many of you changed your name after marriage?
No…and to add insult to injury, he changed his surname to mine. ![]()
Its not got anything to do with ego at all..........I think Islamically too you are supposed to keep your Father's Name .
Practically too it poses a lot of hassles as you would need to go through all the rigmarole of having it changed on all the documents , degrees , passport etc........
Islamically speaking, you dont have a last name. Its Fatima Bint Mohammed or Fatima Zoja Ali, so islam describes the relation, not gives you a last name.
Second thing, there is no hassle. System is very clean and smooth when it comes to name change, both in USA and Pakistan. At least its not as hassleful as getting married to begin with.
Oh gosh, thats another thing I find so confusing among desies............what name do you even take? Some women take husband's first name and some his last name.
Well, you go by what the family does, no?
My mom did not change her last name when she married my dad. Actually, in my family, "last names" aren't given any importance. My dad's last name is not the same as his father. My dad's siblings and him all have different last names. My siblings and I have last names that comes from my mom. So in my family, last names are kinda random.
My SO's family is "traditional" in the sense his whole family has the same last name and his mom took his dad's last name. SO's SIL did not change her last name due to it being too much hassle and she did not want to change all certifications related to her career.
I always thought I would never change my last name. However, SO wants me and the future kids to have his last name. I'm definately ok with being referred to as Mrs (SO's last name). However, whether or not I'll legally change it when the times comes is something I'm still debating.
Reha: LOL....I have no logical explanation as to why I'm hesitant. I just feel uneasy about it. It's a fleeting feeling of losing part of my identity.
BTW, if you ever move to west and people know that you are married, they would call you Mrs. [YOUR LAST NAME]. How odd would you feel if after Mrs, the last name they write is actually your dad's name.
judging from the firmness of answers that ladies are posting, it certainly does look like an ego issue. It has nothing to do with the love for your dad. What if you name is Saira Bano, no male last name to begin with. Would that logic apply then that I want to keep my dads name? No right. Then its an ego issue. That is it.
I dont think its an ego issue TLK.
I was talking to my mom about this a few days ago. My nana passed away a LONGGGG time ago (may Allah swt grant him Jannatul Firdaus) and she made a very simple observation of how it felt once when she was signing her name on a check.
She said ke pehle kabhi is cheez ke ehsaas nahin huwa kyun ke vo zinda the...lekin ab jab vo nahin hein to afsos bhi hota hai ke meine apne valid ka naam apne naam se hata diya.
Its just a name isnt it? But for some its a lot more than that...for some its an identity. For some...it may be an ego issue where they dont want to forfeit their names for someone else. For some...its about love and how you always want to be reminded of the people no longer with you.
so those of you who have changed names, did you take hubby’s fast name as your last name or hubby’s last name as you last name?
Which basically boils down to being known by your FATHER’S Name …Which in today’s age implies Surname !
And DON"T EVEN Go into how "hassslefree " Pakistan’s “System” is…![]()
Yeah, Ive recently come across some families where everyone has different last names and I thought that was so neat because you get to choose more pretty names for your kids!
Yeah, I know…weird reasoning on my part.
Then again, we can always hyphenate can we not? We’re four girls…3 are married…2 didnt change their names and one hyphenates now. I didnt change my name when I was married…didnt think about it to be quite honest.
man you are so …
… har waqt behes behes behes
ja’o main nahi khail rahaa.
Sincerely,
Janoo German
I haven't changed, so no need to change my name.
***Behes karongi tho koi baat suneyga na ! ![]()
Sincerely ,
Janoo’s German***
Who is Janoo German?
Sounds wrong…![]()
When we can have Abdul Sattar Japan Wala then why cant we have Janoo German?
^ Lmao!
I hope she changes her name as mine is obviously so cool sounding, will give her ego a boost
^ Lmao!
I hope she changes her name as mine is obviously so cool sounding, will give her ego a boost
A colleague of mine had the last name "Merlin". I told hubby if at was his last name, I would have considered it. :p
Yes I did, 6 years after I got married, after I had my first child, only so that all of us could have the last name and look consistent ![]()
My husband didn’t ask me to change my last name. I just did because his last name’s cute.
OK whatever.
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww ^ How cayooot!