Lactose intolerance

DO you have it? Have you tried building resistance towards it by keep drinking milk and let your body slowly adjust, or you have given up on having milk?

Any tips or testimonials that you guys want to share?

In my case, when I moved to USA, my system did not like the milk (too pure for me as we were used to the water mixed one I guess). I did not quit on milk and now I can drink shakes and warm milk and some quantity of cold milk too, but if I drink large quantity (maybe more than 8-10 OZ) of cold milk, I still get upset stomach. DO you think my system will adjust to that too or not anymore?

Re: Lactose intolerance

I love milk. After my 2nd pregnancy I couldn't tolerate it and I would get a upset stomach.

Over the years, my stomach got use to it and its gone better. I started drinking organic milk and my condition is much better. I would say try different brands and type of milk. How about skim? Some folks can't just digest the fat.

I can go on with a glass a day and it doesn't bother me anymore.

I have it since childhood and never drank any milk after weaning off. Because milk made me so sick i developed a hate for it and it still continues. But lactose intolerance is not a stomach issue though. If small intestine is not producing lactase the sugars in milk won't get digested.Most people with lactose intolerance can tolerate some amount of lactose in their diet. Like I can use very little amount of fat free milk in my chai. Or eat fat free yogurt in chutneys. If I consume anything with full fat milk then I am barfing in next hour.
I have been told that gradually introducing small amounts of milk or milk products may help some people adapt to them with fewer symptoms. Often, people can better tolerate milk or milk products by taking them with meals.

I must admit, I love the taste of cold whole milk. Skim does not even come close. But you are right. I face th eissue only when I dronk whole milk - not even with 2%

That is what I have done and I can now tolerate milk to a higher degree

Have you tried soy milk ?

I don’t even like to drink milk and am craving it now. :mad:

I have and I am nota big fan of it

lactose intolerance is caused by a lack of the digestive enzyme lactase. For a lot of people a decrease in lactase production is completely normal. A lactase deficiency can be genetic or environmentally induced. Either way if you don't produce enough lactase no matter how much milk you drink you can't change your intolerance. At the most you might be mildly intolerant and can drink small quantities of milk or other lactose products. You can also take supplemental lactase enzymes to help you digest lactose but only up to a certain extent. So no chances are your body won't randomly start producing more lactase so you have to get used to drinking only as much as your body can digest. it sucks i know but such is life.

I drink milk products, eat milk based products..I just can't drink pure milk...never could..not when I was in Sri Lanka, and not here either....I tried it once over here just to see what would happen....needless to say I didn't like the reaction I had :D

TLK you are not lactose intolerant. You’re just senseeeeteeeve. :blush:

^:cb:

The reference about growing up drinking milk mixedxwith water takes me back circa 1967.

Doodhwala knocks - father opens door.

Father - doodh mein tho- acha paani milana tho. Humare ghar se paani mangtha hai tho le lo.
doodhwala: nahin sahab, hum acha paani hi milathe hain!