Lack of talent in ABCD/BBCDs ?

Re: Lack of talent in ABCD/BBCDs ?

code_red: I have said it a thousand times and I will say it again, you certainly aren't smart and you most certainly have no clue as to what you are on about almost always.

I see some1, hiccup and many others have proven you wrong already. Now let me add to it some more. The guy who plays golf, Vijay Singh( stars in some recent TV commercial).

correction Choley ji, Vijay Singh is not an ABCD :stuck_out_tongue:

Vijay Singh (born February 22, 1963 in Lautoka, Fiji) is a Fijian golfer on the PGA TOUR who has won three major championships (one Masters in 2000 and two PGA Championships in 1998 and 2004) and was the leading money winner in 2003 and 2004. Singh, who is a Fijian citizen, grew up in Nadi.

:google:

Alaap are the god fathers of Bhangra, formed in the 1970's in Southall, although I don't think they were born in the UK.

Bally Sagoo is much more than RDB will ever be. Asian Dub Foundation, Talvin Singh- who won the Mercury Music prize a few years back, Joi, Fun-da- mental... all really talented music artists born and raised in the UK.

There are loads of talented British asians from writers, actors, sportsmen and directors, Hanif Kureshi, Hari Kanzuri, Zadie Smith, Meera Syal, Nina Wadia, Ace Bhatti, Art Malik, Navin Chowdhry, Amir Khan, Micheal Chopra, Nasser Hussain, Gurinder Chadha to name a few. Some of them were not born in the UK, but I don't care.

The only Asian in politics that comes to mind in Lord Nazir Ahmed.

Oh and news presenters include Samira Ahmed, Nina Hossain and the lovely Krishnan Guru Murphy.

there is this sikh wrestler who used to be in the WWF...his name was Tiger Jeet Singh.....i think he was also had a cameo in bollywood hollywood.....up here in canada, there are lots of politicians that are south asian...MPs, MPPs, Ministers....also on tv..lots of radio newsbroadcasters...sunil joshi on CTV, citytv has a couple of south asian anchors, as well as global....

You don't need to be popular to be talented right??I guess what code_red is assuming is that most ABCD's are not Doctors,Engineers or with high PhD degrees(the general standards of talent in Pakistan....most of these categories are represented by those Pakistanis who have grown in Pakistan & came here as young professionals)...He is forgeting that these measures of talent are different in USA then back in Pakistan....

hai! howd I forget krishnan guru murphy!

Manny Malhotra - NHL
Brandon Chillar - NFL

both are half Indian

together they formulate one full desi in major professional American sports.

why do we only look at docs, engineers and PhDs that came from Pakistan to UK or US, why conveniently forget the cabbies, the factory workers, the people on the dole.

and while we are on about sports, let me add british asians playign football to the list

Michael Chopra- Newcastle
Zesh Rahman- Fulham
Adnan Ahmad- Huddersfield
Harpal Singh- Stockport county

some ppl in show biz aside from thos ementioned above are aron sidhu and ata yaqub, we all have read about Tariq Khana dn legacy. Panjabi Hit Squad, Asian Dub Foundation, Fun-da-mental, Jay Sean, Raghav, Rishi Rich, Nitin Sawhney

in fashion we have designers such as Asha, Nigina and Pasha Razzo, Mani Kohli, and Ajaz.

the interesting thing is that people like to compare abcds and bbcds to thge upper echelons of Pakistani society, aray baba, compare it to the total population to see the difference na. One can feel better by putting abcds and bbcds down by saying oh yeah there are less of them who are doctors than those who moved from back home, quite possibly true, although the number of desis in med schools, law schools, business chools etc is pretty high. But how about we compare the larger group of abcds with the larger group of desis in Pakistan.

Then lets see what comes up.

Not really :slight_smile:

Docs, engineers are hardly popular figures in pakistan. I was just looking for popular figures in this breed of young asians. Popular figures are like :

Writers, actors, sportsmen, comedians, philanthropists, politicians, singers, scientists, smuglers,musicians etc etc…

Some time ago I was watching a program on CNN, it was on hybrid technology, they showed an interview of a guy who was CEO of the firm based in US. He looked desi with a muslim name.

Chandbeti - you seems to be so passionate about me :kiss: I 'll write an autograph for you during the frequent power break downs here, Its hard to kill time during load shedding :frowning:

Depak Chopra has conned untold number of Americans. Deppak bhai, jo gorone hamse churaya woh wapis le lo!

You asked about “TALENTED ABCD/BBCDs” not the “phenomenon of being Popular” ones right???