Lack of ability

As always, Munni has written another very eloquent reply…below is an excerpt from her reply to mamaof3’s post, which I think deserves a thread of it’s own

Does everyone become the CEO of an organization? Should we feel sorry for the people who work as secretaries because they never had the “ability” to make it farther? Does everyone get good grades in school, and get fabulous jobs? Does everyone live a great married life with the perfect spouse? No, everyone is different, and if you want to see it that way, then we all have shortcomings. Some say its a lack of ability, some blame it on lack of drive, whatever that may be.

Should people blame their ‘ability’ or lack of it when it comes to achieving their goals in life? Are we all capable of achieving the highest or should people settle for average and blame it on ability, qismat etc
Are our shortcomings a reality or an excuse to compromise on mediocrity?

Chalo jao or Ayn Rand paro, shabash

Please add something constructive or don't bother.

She has added something constructive. Ayn Rand was a philosopher and author who believed in ability above everything. She also believed that people should work to the best of their ability to gain what they want, and be content with whatever internal limits they hit (such as the secretary, he or she should be content with what they have if, it's truly their best, however, the CEO position may be the CEO's best). If they can't be content, then they should try harder. Her works "The Fountainhead" and "Atlas Shrugged" are classics now.

Shortcomings are always a reality, but the real question is, for how long?

There is no excuse to compromise on mediocrity, because one person's worst may be another person's best. Everyone should try to the best of their ability. Some people may not have the ability (or the willingness) to become heavy-weighters on scales set out for people with other kinds of ability. If they are going to be mediocre, they should be content with it.

In the end, it's all good.

*Originally posted by RT Wolf: *

Shortcomings are always a reality, but the real question is, for how long?

There is no excuse to compromise on mediocrity, because one person's worst may be another person's best. Everyone should try to the best of their ability. Some people may not have the ability (or the willingness) to become heavy-weighters on scales set out for people with other kinds of ability. If they are going to be mediocre, they should be content with it.

In the end, it's all good.

yeh ditto..wanted to say the same thig but wasn't sure on how to word it...my lack of abilty!

If you look at it another way, it depends on your goals. If your goal is money and power, go for CEO.

If it is flexibility and your needs are few, go for secretary.

I am an assistant to a director where I work. However my time is flexible, I am salaried, I have extensive insurance and retirment packages, and best of all, my families (myself, husband, and kids, all of them) tuition is 100% free at one of the top Ivy Universities in the US. I have a degree as a computer programmer, but my current job is a better fit and I am happier here. Because of the flexibility, I can donate my time tutoring at another college in the area.

Benefits outweigh the prestige :)

Go with your abilities, but also do what you AND your family are happiest with and then be proud of it.

Re: Lack of ability

*Originally posted by Fayz: *
As always, Munni has written another very eloquent reply…below is an excerpt from her reply to mamaof3’s post, which I think deserves a thread of it’s own

Does everyone become the CEO of an organization? Should we feel sorry for the people who work as secretaries because they never had the "ability" to make it farther? Does everyone get good grades in school, and get fabulous jobs? Does everyone live a great married life with the perfect spouse? No, everyone is different, and if you want to see it that way, then we all have shortcomings. Some say its a lack of ability, some blame it on lack of drive, whatever that may be.

Should people blame their ‘ability’ or lack of it when it comes to achieving their goals in life? Are we all capable of achieving the highest or should people settle for average and blame it on ability, qismat etc
Are our shortcomings a reality or an excuse to compromise on mediocrity?

blush I am not very eloquent, but thank you for saying that.

Fayz, what do you think is the case? Your thoughts?

The point in my thread was that other people see it as "ability", not necessarily that its the person's own limitation. And the reason I say this is because of the way I have heard people speak about others in positions that they consider are "beneath" them, as if the person doesnt have the ability to be any better. Sort of like how people see handicapped people and think they have a limited "ability".

I have my own views on this but prefer to discuss it with you privately, as you know how I go on and on and cant just explain my point in a few lines. hehe. grin

A :flower1: to RT, and you can go educate yourself mongoose kai khala, no need to be so rude if you have no idea what you are on about.

Chalai ahtai hai from the pits of manchester.

edit:chalo dafa karo, tum be kya yaad rakho gai, hiccup nai aaj tummai baksh diya

Its funny I was reflecting on similar thoughts few minutes back before seeing this thread. I was thinking about some coworkers who work at my company that I just don't see them excelling too much further in thier positions. Altough they are good at what they do, they don't have what it takes to be good leaders and to excel in their careers to be managers, directors, or CEOs. A software programmer will only be programmer no matter how much he knows about programming. But with having leadership and managerial skills, one can hire experts in their fields to do the work that they do right now and go up to the next level.

A part of me feels sorry for them who lack the ablity to grow, but then I think...it's their life...they should be the one who should feel sorry or be satisfied with what they are.

Originally posted by Fayz: *
Should people blame their ‘ability’ or lack of it when it comes to achieving their goals in life? Are we all capable of achieving the highest or should people settle for average and blame it on ability, qismat
no.. not really :-) it takes sacrifices, devotion, focus and to be able to get back on the horse, *after
u've been kicked in the teeth.. and not qismat and abilities..

i believe, other than technicality factor, EVERYONE can do EVERY job in their organizations.. willing to GET there by MAKING their way is what makes them think again and either compromise, or go in some other, less challenging direction..

:-)