Labour Day Weekend.

Re: Labour Day Weekend.

The All State Arena is different Funguy. That was close to where we were staying.

Nahi Femme, the ASA is where I was staying. They do concerts there.

Sounds like you guys had fun. I love chicago. Spent many a weekends there when by cousin was at Northwestern.

We had a pimped out guppy meet in NY on sunday evening.

Oh yeah, I had the best pizza ever in Chicago. Some place that starts with a ‘G’ … I think it was the same Italian restaurant you went to Femme. Ummm, it was yummy. :yummy: . Awww, I want to go back. It’s not fair, I didn’t get to see the city properly at all. :frowning:

Uff ho... I know. Rosemont convention center is different than All State Arena (home of Chicago Blackhawks hockey). Rosemont conventions center is now called Stephen Donald Convention center and I have been there a few times.

Govinos or Giovanis?

Giordano’s on Higgins Road.

I got so sick of telling everyone to go to Lake Shore but everyone was too busy doing nothing. Chicago is beautiful and I would love to visit it again. Both times I have been so far was in such a rush with not enough time. Insha Allah third time should be better. I am askng Mehnaz to do a DC/NYC tour later then we can have another pimped out meet at NYC PD .

The place we had dinner at was Carlucci's and our pizza was made at our hotel, it was damn good.

Are you telling me you didn't do the bicycling thing on Lake Shore's Navy Pier? At least Mehnaz made it to Michigan Ave... and you Femme, stayed in your hotel eating 'damn good pizzas'? Such a desi you are.

I went to michigan avenue TWICE and even drove by Navy Pier, was too late to go in though. SO there :snooty:
and no there was no time for bicycling.

:hehe: Funguy, me and Femme were together at Michigan Avenue. She was lucky enough to go again at night time.

My sister went to Navy Pier on a boat cruise and said the entire downtown area, especially Navy Pier, looked amazing at night. It’s too bad I did not get to go … next time inshallah. :frowning:

Another desi thing - just sit in the car and drive around and tell others that you saw this and that. Mohtarma, jab tak zameen per qadam nahee rakhay jaaeiN, trip poora nahee hota. So, basically you wasted all my advice. Did you go to Devon?

Devon Street reminded me so much of England. It's a lot better than Toronto's Gerrard Street.

Remember Femme how excited I got when I saw "Ambala of London" and how I was saying that I should get some for my family? Well, I got yelled at for not bringing home any mithai. I bet you it does not taste the same. I should have gotten some mithai from Tahoor or whatever that place is called. I didn't realise how famous it is.

Next time inshallah. :(

I really like the ambience in Ambala of London. All the mithai waalaaz look like doctors in their long white overcoats. lol

And don't tell me you were not told about Tahoora as a Chicago landmark (desi of course). You girls don't read my PMs seriously. Well that's another long story.

Aww nice to hear you enjoyed yourselves :)

We had lunch at Usmanias FG. The food was very good. We had left overs packed for later but ended up giving it to beggars in the street. It truly reminded me of Pkaistan, never seen a single street with so many beggars on it in US yet. I could have followed your site-seeing advice if I was with fewer people and a rental car of my own not relying on groups. Next time.

FG I told everyone about Tahooras fame :D It was drilled in to my head by the people i last visited chicago with.

I had asked you to eat at JK Kabab House!!!!!!!!!!

No more advice for you.

JK Kaba house? Are you sure???

This is the first time I went to ISNa, it was fun… I missed most of the lectures (hung out at devon instead :hehe: ), and I think that bazaar is meant for females only, with all the clothes and decorative items. But it was good..

It was also nice to meet some guppies namely fraudia bhai, menaz, femme and one other guppie whose nick i forgot. I spent most of the time with Fraudia bhai, who is truely an amazing person, a very knowledgeable, friendly and not to mention ‘shughli’ guy to hang out with!

It was good to see some new faces i.e. Mehnaz, Femme and Spock, see some old pals hmcq and Eros, and a number of friends from college.Heck I even met some second cousins who I have not met since I was a kid.

To all those kicking my butt for not being able to spend more time with my guppie guests, I acknowledge that. I did have a blast hanging out with Spock during the event though, Mehnaz and Femme obviously wanted to watch the show rather than discuss the finer aspects of underwater basket weaving with me anyways.

Here are my excuses, some are real and some are not, there is a pattern, first oen to figure it out gets free kebabs from khan’s BBQ next time you are in town (better than JK funguy)

1) I had been traveling for work, hardly on GS and did not know if gupsters were going to be in town
2) The aliens had replaced me with a replica for the evening, I am a good host otherwise
3) Salman and I had some stuff to discuss and due to the schedules, at that event was the only place we could have talked
4) I had smoked the wrong stuff, and my perception of reality was completely altered. Instead of Mehnaz and Femme, I thought I saw Munkar and Nakeer, and bailed
5) I had over a dozen family guests in town and keeping them organized was like herding cats
6) Begum would have kicked me out if she saw me talking to pretty girls like Mehnaz and Femme for more than 2 minutes, I had a stopwatch running
7) We had to be advisors, chaperones and reality checks for 3 guys ( one of my cousins, one of begum’s cousins, and a college friend) plus 3 girls ( 2 of begums cousins and one friend) who were trying to meet people and that took a lot of patience
8) It was not me, I had hired someone to play me and obviously he failed
9) I did not want to bug Mehnaz and Femme while they were trying to watch the show.
10) I had run out of words quota for the day

Anyways, It was nice to see everyone who was there. Mehnaz and Femme, I did try to locate you guys after we were done but could not find you. Soon after the gang fight in front of hyatt, about 20 of us decided to go to Millenium park and played pithoo until the damn tennis ball went down a drain, and then kho kho until about 4 a.m. You missed out on that. we had cops come by and they even asked what the game was.

aray bhai yeh toh sirf $5 waali tareefain hain, mein nay tumhain $20 diye thay…