Kutta, Badmash, Haramzada and ****** are now officially english words!!

LONDON: *Badmash, changa, chuddie *and *desi *are the latest Indian-origin words to enter the English language, courtesy the Collins English Dictionary.

“This is the second wave of words from Indian languages to hit English,” said B K Mahal, the Britain-based Asian author and advisor to a Collins team documenting the new movement towards Hinglish - a linguistic fusion of Hindi and English.

“From the time when British and Indian cultures first collided in the 17th century, Indian languages have contributed to English vocabulary,” she said.

Many words of daily use in English are of Indian origin, including words like shampoo, bangle, bungalow, jungle, mantra, pundit and cot. They have figured in all major English-language dictionaries for many years.

However, the latest edition of Collins, to be published Thursday, goes a step further by officially acknowledging the role of *Hinglish *in the evolution of English.

The edition is full of unusual and unexpected Indian words - this time thanks to popular Asian culture rather than colonial collision. Many words have a distinct Punjabi flavour.

Hinglish words figuring in the dictionary this year include aunti- *ji *and uncle- *ji *, *freshie *(a new immigrant), *gora *(White), *kutta *(dog) and *kutti *(bitch), *haramzada *and *haramzadi *(described as *******s or obnoxious/despicable) and yaar (friend).

And quite appropriately, there’s machi chips - Hinglish for that quintessential English dish, fish n’ chips.

Re: Kutta, Badmash, Haramzada and ****** are now officially english words!!

Sorry, here is the link…

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/1136320.cms

*chuddie *as in shorts? my mind for sure is in the gutter

so India is now adapted in English :k:

What about bhund?

Theres a curry sauce in the UK infamously called 'bhund sauce' :D
UK guppies will know what I'm on about.

BadM'aash is a Persian word, HaramZaada is Arabic and Persian.

Kab tak yeh jhoot ki izzat banaaey rakho ge? First in Bollywood you pass off Urdu as Hindi, then cuisine idigneous to the Pakistani region as Indian food and then people of Pakistani (Khan's Kapoor's of Bollywood) and Iranian (John Abraham) descent as ethnically Indian (Stick to your Arjun rampals, ajay devgans and rani mukherjees they represent you best) then Iranian Sherwanis and Afghan Shalwar Kameez as Indian dress...

Culture theives, India ki apni bhi koi khaasiyat hai ke nahein..

chuddie? lol. Isn't 'changa' a punjabi word? Seems as though Punjabi is taking over the world, it really is the in thing.

Innit!! It was only time. We pakis are gonn take over the freakin empire.

Don't forget Paki...do the Brits exchange that for any of the new ones mentioned above?

yea course. Like nigger and wog. You get pakis wakis coconuts and wiggas. they all hail from the same identity crisis.

So what do the stars in the title of this thread represent?

wog - thats one derogatory term that never made it to South Africa.

Does anyone remember the golliwog from enid blytons book - he was the supposedly ugly, black doll who was the social outcast.

hey so long as injuns take credit for the nasties. its all good.

just dont be nicking credit for our darn baltis aswell!!!

Goray already use that word for cheengum. :konfused:

na, they got their 'chicken makan-walla' going strong.

I remember! I refuse to let any Enid Blyton book in my classroom. Hated her books, hated The Railway Children.

by the way, as Chel Chabila Babu pointed out, Haraam*zada is not Hindi word, Indians can hardly pronounce it.... all they can say is Haraamj*ada.

I loved the Famous Five :(

read most of her books actually.

i know nigger is derogatory but is negro a derogatory word as well?

the ***** in the title of the thread stands for the feminine gender of haramazaada.....

I couldn't put it in the title. My mom taught me to respect chicks.
shyly leaves the room

The ***** in the actual article stands for "bUstards." just replace the "u" with an "a."