KP govt to pay forces Rs20m for helicopter operations

I think this is very shameful. The people of KP have already suffered a lot because of so called War on Terror for which Pak Army is getting paid by US. Now they are making use of this tragedy to earn even more money for themselves. Pak Government is asking for charity from all over the world but expects its own provincial government to pay money for rescuing flood affected citizens. Even the US Chinook Helicopters which have been provided free of cost by US are being used to earn money.

Any guppies from KP here ?

Re: KP govt to pay forces Rs20m for helicopter operations

I thought Pak Army bought those helicopters from taxpayers money in the first place. Double-charging public for the same service! Shameful.

acha tu yeh bhi business shrooh ker diya. pehlay tu nahi soona tha keh rescue operation kay bee charges hain.

yeh saari khel ..aik hi saalay kameenay chor zardari ki hai ... full on lanats on him ... I mean ..say they are getting charged for the service rendered ...zardari should over look it and order the service to be free .. since its being provided in a time of need where no one can actually stop nature .. and to the awaam of pakistan who they begged their votes from ...

but nooooo haram khor aur aadi of chori, daakay .. loot maar and this comes under ..loot simple as that .. drain out the money from the awam and and run away to uk, europe us and never look back ..

^^
No point in heaping abuse on Zardari. Even a 4 yr kid in Pakistan knows that if Kiyani wanted he could just send a couple of havaldars to arrest this idiot. But there is no coup because he knows that :

1. US will stop paying money and giving military toys to Army if there is a military government.

2. Pakistan is in a bad shape right now and Zardari acts as a convenient lightning rod to attract all the blame for everything bad in Pakistan. If Kayani becomes the President, he will be in a similar position.

Sadly, these money grubbing Generals have turned the proud Army into a mercenary force. The brave soldiers are dieing and fighting the so called terrorists who are our citizens so that Generals can be paid dollars. And now the very same military brass is asking for money in exchange for rescuing civilians.

^^ any other news source for the same news???

No as you can see the report is based on anonymous sources and not on some press conference. But "The News" belongs to the the Jang Group which is the largest selling newspaper in Pakistan and its stance is largely Pro-Army unlike "Dawn". So it seems pretty credible to me.

It is disturbing news and knowing the fact that Army had earned good points and after Altaf's current call, we are having such things which can really hurt the reputation of Pak-Army... that is the reason i have asked for another source, if the news is true, then it should have been published in other news-paper

I understand what you are saying but you must realize that no politician can hope to survive politically if he directly takes on the Generals. This is especially true in KP. So I think it is a little far-fetched to expect that KP CM will call a press conference to brief reporters from different newspapers about these facts.

What happened is this case is a concerned official who contacted the "Jang Group" and gave them the dirty details . He must have had some compelling evidence or they wouldn't have published this report. I think that JG is a pretty reliable newspaper group and not some propaganda rag. So I believe it .

^^ The ANP have lived their lives by taking on Generals and defaming Pak-Army...

Anyway, there is no news about on GEO lets wait and see how things unfold on this

There isn't any further source about this NEWS. If it was or it is right then it would have sparked through all other Newspapers, because at the point where Pakistan is asking for donations at the same point "if" army ask such thing. Its shameful.

I searched it over internet and only PPP supporting websites are publishing it further and are also linking it back to "the news".

What is big deal about the news?

Army or rangers charging for services is nothing new nor exceptional anywhere in the world… neither such charges is business. Government has to pay extra to the army even when army go on war … that is called extra expenses of war. Even USA is spending huge amount on army when army is operational in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Army get allocated certain amount in budget and they have to keep their expenditure within that budgeted amount. If their expenditure rises than it has to come from somewhere. Normal Army budget covers day to day army expenses plus for maintaining and modernisation of equipments/arsenal. Army do not get money to go on war or tackle calamity in country.

If any province (or federal government) asks army for services or help, then they pay for it from provincial (or federal) budget.

Expenditure of Rs 20 million for 1000 helicopter trips in ‘KP’ helping flood victim is no big deal. ‘KP’ should pay for it. I am sure other provinces must be paying for army rescue efforts in their province too.

Waisay … Rs 20 million is very little for 1000 helicopter trips … as … if such trips were arranged using civilian sources by provincial corrupt ministers and bureaucrats then they would have shown expenditure more than Rs 250 million for same number of trips and then ministers, bureaucrats plus civilian provider would have pocketed most of those extra money.

Note: Each trip could be of several hours where both helicopter as well as rescue team is endangered. Army is charging Rs 20,000 (or $235) per trip on average that may be cost of fuel plus probably (most likely not) extra payment (as allowance) to rescue team consisting of several members … where they were even risking their life.

Just imagine how much it would have cost per trip … If same rescue service was available from private sources and province (KP) had asked for that … then I am sure each trip consisting of rescue team of several trained members on helicopter, fuel, wear and tear of helicopter, insurance considering chances that helicopter could get damage, lost, team member might get injured or lose life, etc … plus profit of the company, plus bribes to ministers and bureaucrats … etc, etc … I am pretty sure that cost per trip would have been much over Rs 250,000 (instead of Rs 20,000 army charging).

Is this charging province for extra service something new?

Not really. In last year budget (2009-10) Sindh government allocated Rs1000 million (Rs 1 billion) for ‘Rangers and Frontier Constabulary’ … as that is what they were paying annually to them so to keep law and order in Karachi.

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Regional/Karachi/15-Jan-2010/Sindh-spending-Rs1b-on-Rangers-annually

This year, payment is much higher as rangers are more involved in Karachi to maintain law and order.

Well said :k:

I wonder if the news is true, since a 1000 trips of a helicopter will cost a lot more money than Rs 20 million. I was hearing about a UN rescue mission on helicopter and they were saying each 1 hour trip costs like 10,000$.

My guess is this might be just the cost of fuel.

okay fair enough. KP govt will pay them the operating expenses.

then maybe the army can pay back the govt the money it cost to get them the helicopters in the first place?

Maybe the army can pay from its 8 billion dollar budge!

If Pakistanis want to then Pakistan can have army without helicopter or tanks ... rather not even guns ... well, why 620000 armed force?

It is really funny that some Pakistanis complain about armed forces, cry on military budget allocation of around 4 to 5 billion dollars a year (that is for army, navy and airforce) still want armed forces to stand in front of Indian army that spends over 40 billion dollars a year. Plus, whenever any calamity comes they expect army to come forward and risk their life free ... be that calamity is earthquake, flood, terrorism, law and order or whatever.

Now, some want that army run helicopters without even fuel :). ... Meanwhile, same Pakistanis vote and lick ass of Demons who loot and plunder them, buy mansions in west, fill their Swiss accounts, and become billionaires (in dollars).

What the F ... are we nation of jokers? :)

^ These complainers will be out of the country before Indian army even thinks of attacking Pakistan, they got nothing to lose.

Oh thanks for the concern. I am from KP. I hope that helps. :halo:

And yes Namaste M0an and welcome back to the forum.

BTW I would like to see a credible and objective news organization like DAWN reporting it. Not the News with its crappy standards of journalism. Just because it goes ga ga about “aman ki asha” or mimics tabloid-esque journalism like covering shoaib-sania wedding on front pages for 12 days in a row doesn’t make it credible.

We don't have education. We don't have health care. Wo don't have any infra structure. But hell yeah!! We have an army!

The country is drowning, there are food shortages, the national debt is ballooning, entrapping us in a vicious cycle. But the army shall remain, whetehr we do or don't.