Korma sauce. Please help !

Hello. Can anyone please give me a good (simple, not tooooo many ingredients) korma recipe for the sauce only .. im not going to be putting any type of meat in it.. i just need sauce, and lots of it

Thanks in advance

Re: Korma sauce. Please help !

Thinly slice 3 - 4 medium size onions. Then heat oil and start frying these sliced onions. When browned slightly, take them out on a tissue paper and let them cool down so they will turn crisp

Now in a bowl of yoghurt , mix in this the crispy onion after crushing it gently with your fingers , add in ginger , garlic paste , 3-4 tablespoons of Korma masala and mix .

Heat oil , pour this mixture into the oil and let it cook until oil separates .

Done !

Sounds so simple !! Thank you.

I do have a question though- what would i ass to mlae a bigger batch/quantity of this? No water?

Should i add alotttttttt of yogurt and extra oil... ?

Im trying to make this sauce for about 20 people

If I like to get fancy then I blend almonds in the sauce and throw in some whole almonds. Adding too much yogurt will make it sour you have to balance sweetness of onions with tartness of yoghurt. You can add cream/milk to add quantity. Why no meat though?

Please excuse my many spelling mistakes earlier!! Im usually very good about that, but typing fast on my phone, i forgot to check.

Anyway - if i add cream/milk, wouldnt that made it creamy sauce? Isnt korma supposed to be more like salan curry sauce? Please correct me if im wrong

The reason why i need only sauce is cause im hosting a party soon and wanted to do a chipotle themed dinner.. rice, meat, salsa, all of it.. hubby thinks it would be a more unique idea to do it desi style .. so for example, meat would be cooked with minimal spices and kept separate... cause the flavor would come from butter chicken sauce, korma sauce, and daal for anyone who wants veggie ... chutney instead of sour cream, dhania instead of lettuce ... im sure you get the idea..

Ialready know how to make fabulous butter chicken sauce, its the korma im worried about

Yogurt is dairy also so adding more dairy is really not a problem. Most of commercial Korma sauces have cream in them. I have a lot of tricks up my sleeve. There are so many ways to cook Korma. Following is ingredient list of Pattaks. Personally, I don't like to add tomatoes puree in Korma. Korma is supposed to be rich and thicker than regular curry

Water, Cream, Creamed Coconut, Sugar, **Desiccated Coconut, Vegetable Oil, **Onion, Modified **Corn Starch, Concentrated Tomato Puree, Spices (Contains Mustard), Lemon Juice, **Salt, **Ginger, **Lactic Acid, **Garlic, Dried Coriander Leaf.**************

I know korma is supposed to be thick and creamy..
But what i meant was, wouldnt it be too white/creamy looking/tasting? Cause i would want it to be reddish/brownish looking sauce .. i know some indians make it whitish, but to me, that wouldnt seem like real korma lol..

I guess not since you suggested it lol..

And i have never heard of tomatoes in it either.

Alright, im gonna give it a trial run and see how it goes ...

Thank you

That's right! Qorma is an ages old curry. Tomatoes came to the Indian sub-continent only in 1830.

The authentic qorma has at least 10 spices. Nutmeg, mace and green cardamom are the most important one to give qorma - the real taste of qorma!
e
Better make your own spice mix or if you do not bother get the Laziza qorma mix.

Laal piyaz… aesay talo phir shuka lo… phir woh dar dary hojain gain.. jo kay qormay ki base banain gain… :cobra:

qormay main timatar nahi dalty hian...

jo banda qormay main timatar dal rahi hia.. woh qormay ki toheen kar raha hia... usnay qormay ko bhai aloo tinday ki category main dal diya... khuda ra yeh zulm mat karo...

The spices will color the sauce, if you add paprika it will bring out delightful color. A dash of saffron makes it real aromatic too. How are you planning to cook the meat..just bhunna or some other kind. With your theme I would recommend shredded meat.

For the spices, im going to use a mix, i think i have shan.. is laziza better? If so, i'll get that to use instead

Im gonna use keema and chicken

For keema, im just gonna fry it with ginger/garlic paste, salt and black pepper

For chicken, im gonna boil chicken legs/thighs, shred it, and fry it (a little blackened) with the same stuff as keema

Then i'll use that yakhni to make the rice, plain with lots of dhania and some salt

Yes, Laziza is far better. Try its Biryani as well.

Ok i'll get laziza then.. is laziza good in general?

I typically get shan mixes for biryani, korma, tikka, jalfrezi, and karahi.. i love them but the only problem is that they are all too spicy, it kind of takes away from the flavor a bit

Hahaaaa

When i fry the onion, they have to be brown enough to crisp up when laid out to dry right?

Can i blend it in my blender withthe yogurt instead of by hand?

Yes you can blend it with yogurt as well. It does not alter the taste.

Why don't you just use fried onions, some Chinese stores have better quality fried onions. Sometimes as a hack I use the dehydrated onion flakes and they don't smell the house and brown in seconds and the taste is still great.

once fired onion dried... you can haath say chora ...

app apnay hathon say un dried onion ko chora chora kar sakti hian...