*¬ Kon Rehta / Rehti Hai Manchester Main ¬*

Salaam y’all

hows everyone.

I needed some information if anyone can help .. i want to know from those who have attened or do attend manchester uni or manhester met uni - uk ..

I am in egypt at the moment .. and doing a BA in Islamic Sciences, and in the following academic year i want to join a uni in UK and inshaAllah plan to do an MA in Islamic Sciences.

I have a slight problem that i want to apply for the MA however i wont have the BA qualification in order to apply for the MA.

So what i want to know, which i heard just recently that is it possible i maybe able to apply as a ‘‘Mature Student’’ (Am 24), into this MA course on the basis of my age, and it will be possible to present my BA later on also as a qualification.

or lets just say i dont even have a BA but just want to apply in MA Islamic sciences or something along the lines related to Islam, on the basis as a ‘‘mature student’’.

Since i heard this, i am not sure but if it is true, it may also be possible that some unis may not provide this facility, if anyone knows, which unis do have this system where someone can apply as a mature student.

I would be grateful of you guys if you could shed some light on this or can give me some info regarding this. If it is possible then id like to get started and apply.

Thank you guys in advance. :slight_smile:

Re: ¬ Kon Rehta / Rehti Hai Manchester Main ¬

You cannot do MA unless you have a BA degree in Islamic Sciences. In the UK no unis are accepting without BA degrees. do BA then apply for MA in your chosen study in the UK. Uni of birmingham of doing MA in islamic studies and theology which is link to your course of study and it covers the modules as well. fee in study in UK uni for masters is £15000. to apply in for uni in uk you need the following documents:

personal statement writing about yourself and your amibitious and why you want to study the course and your reasons, includes 500 words

copies of all your academic transcripts & certificates

two reference letter, one from your teacher and other from a former employer who can recommend you to study abroad

a sponsor letter from your family, friends or you may hava a business

usd101 : thanx for the reply .. and thanx for the info .. jazakAllah

i ll look into everything further ..i was only asking cos i heard some info ..that if not MA it is possible to apply as a mature student ..

oh btw .. i live in the UK anyway .. am a british citizen ..so thing of studying abroad and all that shudnt be a problem.

FBI best thing for you would be to just them give a call. contact addmissions office and ask them. As for the fee structure the above poster mentioned, that doesn't apply to you since you are not an overseas student.

yeh K K .. am gona give em a call tomorrow when offices open ..

cos i just heard about this yesterday .. i thought see if anyone here knows something ..then i could relate that too whn i give em a call

but thanx hey :)

As far as I know, the provision for mature students is meant to allow individuals the opportunity to demonstrate academic potential by other than strictly academic means. For instance, you might lack the academic prerequisites and background but have several years of life and work experience demonstrating your potential for further studies.

In your case, since you’ve been enrolled in University for the last few years, you probably won’t be able to apply for consideration as a mature student. The age factor may also not factor in, since 24 – 27 is typically the age that many students would consider grad school… it’s not like you’re very old.

Finally, in order to show that you’re suitable for a graduate degree, I would certainly advise against jumping ship before finishing your undergraduate degree. You’re better off finishing the degree with something to show for your seriousness to pursue a more advanced degree.

hmm yeh i see what ya mean ..thanx, u also have a valid point ..

and yeh i am finishing my BA ..its just that i wont have the degree to show when i apply but yeh it will be complete.

^ I'd certainly check with the University... but having taught at three different ones... this is from what I know.

Also, if your degree is complete... then many Universities will let you apply for admission based on your latest transcripts (including the academic term preceding your last one). Barring a really awful last term, you should be okay.

Just make sure you have strong recommendations and a solid personal statement.