Could someone please help me out with the translation for a song. Sorry for asking. Wasn’t certain which Forum this goes in; most of you have amazing comprehension skills here (Masha’Allah) so thought i’d post it here. Song is ‘saphal hogi teri’ from the movie Aradhana. There are some parts where i just don’t understand what is being stated. :bummer: :crying: i really want to understand this song, that’s all. Can someone please help me out?
:o At least i figured this out on my own, the word ‘aradhana’ means worship or devotion. But what the heck does ‘saphal hogi teri’ mean? There’s a part in the song where he states,
kahin pai hai dukh ki saaya
kahin pai hai khushiyaan ki bhool (?)
bura bhala jaisa hi hai
yehi tau hai bagiya ka roop (?)
Haan ji, sab khariyat hai. i don’t know, i love listening to old songs, the sadder the better:D Just started doing this actually a year or so ago, uss sai pehlay i didn’t. My mother also likes it, but she doesn’t like the really really sad songs - just like you, she finds them too sad. But isn’t the voice of the singer in this one (i think it’s SD Burman?), so touching? There’s so much sadness in his voice… so much grief, but yet so much eloquence in the lyrics.
Thank you so much for your reply and for trying to help me out Thank you. i appreciate it.
Acha…so ‘saphal’ means successful. That makes sense actually… saphal hogi teri…
oh :o hehe… thankoo
haaN… he mentions a mali somewhere in there as well. Basically the story in the movie is about a lady who gets married to a guy she loves, but they both get married at a temple infront of a priest, without informing anyone. Technically they are married but no one in the society believes them (because obviously there has been no public ceremony, customs waghera). A few short days later, the husband dies in a plane crash (he was a pilot), but by which time his widow is already pregnant. This song was playing after her husband had died, and her father had passed away - so she’s left all alone in the world (her mother had passed away a long time back). Everyone in the society thinks that the child is born illegitimately (out of wedlock).. That’s the gist of the movie and that’s why this song is so sad.
Azad, Yes you are right - that’s what he sings - kahe ko roye / chahe jo hone… no point in crying, tears are useless.