Kitchen ka kaam after Shaadi

Hello everybody
Okay so is it such a big deal if I can’t cook!!! Like after i get married do you think this will affect my life! I mean i can obviuosly follow a cook book but just i cant cook without recipe in front of me. I need someone who maybe experienced the same problem

Re: Kitchen ka kaam after Shaadi

I went to my susral with recipes books in my jahez.. yep no kidding!!!

Soon after shadi, I had to live alone with my husband who loves food.. I had about 10 recipe books including the one that I made by copy pasting recipes from GS or getting some from my mom and aunties! I dun think I would have survived without a recipe book.. if the recipe says 6-7 cardamoms, I would actually count them and add them in!! Still I had some accidents where the food turned out just awful but you learn a lot from your experience.. recipe books rule!!!

good luck!

My mother learned most of her cooking from my dadi (her MIL) after she got married cause my nani passed away when my mom was young and mom was the oldest sibling so no other lady in the house to teach her.

Its really not a big deal .. follow the cook books

k cuz i was worried..and all these aunties were like oo u should learn cooking but i am sooo busy with school

Take out zindabaad :chai:

And with that, I hit my 1000th post…!

^ and u just want to post something so u said that!!!

Whether its a big deal or not depends totally on your inlaws and your hubby. If they are understanding and nice - then no your lack of cooking skills wont effect your life. If they dont understand and you live with your inlaws - they will make you regret you didnt learn good nice desi cooking .. Best of luck!

Excuse me but i think that the husband should also know how to cook, jsut as much as the wife.

Secondly, cook bland food for your in-laws and they'll never ask u to cook again. Mine tried to make me cook like them, i was having none of it and overdone it on the tomatoes time and time again!

Since you care and are worried about it all, I am sure you will turn out to be the best cook there is, Inshallah. Desi cooking requires some attention to details and since you care you can do it.
Start it small with some easy dishes , like daal chawal , vegitables and small quantities and you will be a pro in no time. Good luck.

Although it's not a big deal if you don't know how to cook before getting married I'd say it's a BIG plus and it's a skill that you'll definitely use a lot later when you have a family so why not start learning now? Also to make you feel better, I thought I was a pro at cooking but when I got married I had to learn cooking all over again MIL's way so yeah that happens too a lot of times. :)

lolz... yeah everyone should know how to cook.

I mean if you moved out into your own place (single) what would you eat, takeaways, ready meals, sandwiches, pot noodle?

mahiya, what do you eat now? who cooks it for you?

well same thing,i dodnt evev know how to tarkafy daal,,but knew how to make chinese food and baking,cauze i was in dorm for five yrs b4 shaddi,i was with my inlaws so khana pakanay ki zarrorat nahee paree foe almost 2 months.but i started learning,,
at that time i have loads of recipe books,,
,laikin phir baat samajh ayee kailarki ko cooking zarorr anee chahyee,,,,,good luck to all girls,,,

Larkoon ko bhee aanee chahyee , kabhee kabhee wife ko break danay kay lee a ya to make her feel special. Aur kabhee kabee wife maikay bhee chalee jatee hain for vacation or narazz ho k. No ?
I lived as a single man for about a year and a half in USA and got sick and tired of eating out pretty soon, pizza , KFC , burgers , etc .
In Pakistan I did not even boil an egg but knew some basic rules of desi cooking , so I used them and I was cooking nice looking , tasting and very aromatic meals in no time.
Some one will say that you could eat at desi restaurants, but all the cities of USA do not have desi restaurants.
The basic rules of desi cooking are:
1. Do not put water in any thing until it has been bhonafied .
2. Water in rice should be one and half inch higher than the layer of rice in a pot. You can use your finger joint for measuring purposes.
3. Do not leave the handi/cooking pot on the fire and go do something else, you have to attend to what you are cooking till it is ready and untill you are pro.
4. Do not invite anybody to taste your cooking until you have mastered that dish and you yourself like it.

jee MIrch bohat see dishes mai nay hubbies say seekeen hain,,he makes the best khitchri,,,waisey tou cook nahee kertay but he knows how to cook,,and u were single na but my bhuuby was with his bhabies and mother ,,is lye cook nahee kertay thay,,,