OK, you kinship mavens:
Are your father’s first cousins (the male ones) also considered your *chachas, *like his brothers are?
OK, you kinship mavens:
Are your father’s first cousins (the male ones) also considered your *chachas, *like his brothers are?
Re: Kinship term help needed
yes
Yup
Affirmative.
In terms of desi relations, yes. Like my first cousin's children consider me as a khala an I guess this is simplified/general...but the actual relationship would be first cousin once removed, i think.
OK, that's what I thought. Yes, in American kinship terms, that is first cousins once removed.
Is it legal for a chacha to marry his niece?
He will still be ghair mahram, so you can marry him. But don't go calling him chacha afterwards. :p
Is it legal for a chacha to marry his niece?
LOL....when you say it like that, it sounds so wrong...blech! Sounds less eew when you use the Amreeki kinship terms and say distant cousins getting married.
My Mamoo married his first cousin’s daughter ![]()
But it is eeew...
Yea, I guess so, by today’s standards…30 years ago? Not so much… ![]()
I would say it depends on the relationship. If the father and his cousins are close or on good terms, then yes they can be considered “chachu” but if it’s the kind of relationship where it’s like “Oh I have a cousin that I’ve never met and have no attachment to”…I guess you could call them just uncle. That’s how I see it.
It sounds icky but think about it this way. In the previous generations, it was common for large age gaps, like 20, 30, even 40 years between kids (no i’m not exaggerating when I say this…my dad’s eldest sister was in her thirties and had kids by the time my dad’s youngest brother was born). So let’s say there are two brothers and…
Ok second try, let’s say I’m a guy and I have a cousin who’s 15 years younger than me (not a stretch by any means). I have a daughter. that cousin and my daughter get married. What would make it potentially VERY ICKY is if that cousin was a part of my daughter’s life and came around all the time and we were very close and she called him chachu and suddenly they like each other. (EWWWW!)
What would make it slightly less icky is if I never even met the cousin, just knew he existed but never had any interaction with him and somehow thru family their rishta is set.
you know what, i’m arleady getting confused just thinking about it, Im sure u can get the point. ![]()
But it’s true, I actually have a first cousin who’s son I could have married (theoretically speaking) since he was about 5 years older than me. I was best friends wiht his sister who was a few month solder than me, so we’d joke that im her aunty whos younger than her..so im “eenty”… ![]()
This reminds me of a joke....
A girl got married to her cousin.... on her wedding night she was waiting for him in the room. When he entered the light suddenly went out (due to load shedding).
In the darkness the guy hit something and cried... 'ahhhhhh'...
The girl said spontaneously ... 'dekh ke bhai jaan'.... :D
Moral of the story... '*aur karo cousins se shadi' *!!!!
Chacha or taya. Depending on them
Being younger or older.
OK, here's another one:
A cousin of your cousin...is that your cousin? Like, my father's brother's wife's brother's kids? (My chacha's sala's children)...are they considered my cousins? (Because in American kinship, I don't think they are, because they are not related by blood.) And would that chacha's sala also be my chacha?
^ now that's a stretch. Depending on the closeness, I would consider that extended family at best, but no immediate or direct relation. Like my sisters inlaws are in Khi. We're here in the States. Her bro-in-laws kids are my niece's first cousins and my children are too. But my kids and those kids have no relation at all. In fact, they've never even met!