Yesterday, I was talking to my mama & my bhabi while i was packing stuff. I was telling them what i plan to wear when. I told them for the first 7-10 days on dinners i am going to wear this dress with a kaam ka motif, this dress with embroidery, this dress with kaam on collar & sleeves & blah blah.
basically, I am some one who feels conscious over dressing or just being too dressed at home or even outside. I always counter check whether i am too dressed up. I like simpler stylishly sewn dresses and nice jewellery with soft makeup.
They were pretty surprised at my selection of clothes to wear the first week. They were expecting me to wear the heaviest dresses that have full kaam on shirt, or those that have a lot of kaam on galla or have a heavier look to them. I had kept those for some one’s wedding maybe my bro or SIL or any one. They made quite a lot of fun of me and told me these dresses would never really come in use specially because you will not be living here. Even if you wear them once on their wedding,who knows when their wedding will be and what fashion will then be. They told me this might be the only time when you can dress that much and this is THE time. Every one checks out the new bride so dress up proper and wear your heavy fancy stuff.
This got me thinking that even if i like plainer more elegant sorts, the bride is still expected to wear reds, brighter shades, some chim chim, golden, silver, heavier kaam and basically a newly wedded look.
So what sort of dresses did you wear after wedding or are you planning to wear?
Its true you are expected to wear the heaviest and maybe that's the only time you will get a chance to basically cuz all eyes are on you - you can mix and match - like i plan to wear really different colors and styles - maybe something simple one day and maybe something heavy the next - its just the 10 days things .. till all your in laws' relatives and all leave ... you can go to the semis followed by the casuals to the pajamas then i guess. :)
I am more concerned about what I will be wearing after my rukhsati and the morning before the valima lol I want to look flipping different :D
^ i guess i can only do that if i show up in a bikini lol ... but yeah .. like if i wear red ..... for the next morning id wear pale grey or ivory or dark green or light pale green - something very different from the valima/reception outfit as well which i think will be beige or peach.
My thinking skips all that and gets to the clothes i need to wear Valima morning, the Maklawa day, dinners and after wards.
How how in the world can i wear a wedding-wear dress at home or some one’s home .. that’s so awkward.. I’d be a like blingy earring moving here & there.
Yep !! welcome to the desii worldd .. mannn the MILs wanttt to see you like that ... mine does for sure!!
I have NEVER worn ANY formal outfit in my entire life!! imagine that .. even on the 1-2 weddings I have attended in my life .. iv worn nothing more than whats called semis ...
but i think its time I wear the lehngas and the ghararas in the House ! LOL
and plus if you don't want to do it for 10 days .. do it for the heck of it and mayve 3-5 days after the valima :D show emm the blings you got :P
another pt - if you leave your heavy outfits you've gotten made in the closet - chances are theyll stay there unless you gots another wedding coming up soon after yours ... dont regret spendin all those bucks babes.
You're right! I will have to wear heavy blingy stuff even if i am not comfortable in it. I don't know I just get way too self conscious if I am chimku. Imagine, i was feeling blingy on my own nikkah even as a bride. WTH is wrong with me!!!
Khair, I should get some heavy stuff made. Aunty is planning to make some heavy clothes from her side too so will probably wear those as well. Ya'Allah - Start calling me a glittery lace from now on, cuz that's what ill end up looking!
I am totally like you but when i met my MIL i had made up my mind that things will have to change .. even my fiance hates me blinging in desi outfits but iv figured its the only time I can wear those kinda things and show off u know .. aur kub sab mujhe dekheingay?
dont get me wrong .. if ure comfy with semis ... to hell with all :D
Its true that you never know when you bro/ sis will get married and then if you can really fit in the dresses you have made now :P so I guess its better to utilize all those formals atleast once after marriage because I have seem my aunts giving their formals to maids which are not even touched one time.
Fashion changes so does the size. And I know when it comes to the weddings of the siblings one will be definitely looking to make something new.
I kept a really nice suit of mine unstitch considering I will get it stitched for coming Eid after my wedding. And my mom was like--- You will be buying new clothes for sure for the Eid, yeh kapre dekh dekh ke hi poorane lagne lagenge tumhen!
I am totally like you but when i met my MIL i had made up my mind that things will have to change .. even my fiance hates me blinging in desi outfits but iv figured its the only time I can wear those kinda things and show off u know .. aur kub sab mujhe dekheingay?
dont get me wrong .. if ure comfy with semis ... to hell with all :D
I was too the same. Even I wanted to have simpler bridal dresses, my hubby doesn't like heavy dresses and heavy jewellery, and I always wanted a VERY light color and lightly embellished suit for my valima but then I knew my mom and MIL would love to see me in bright colored heavy dress so I ordered a heavy one!
i will be wearing formals and semis.. i dont like very heavy outfits and not getting many of that sort.. for evenings i'll have dramatic hair do and make up with them it makes you feel comfy and gives a heavier look at the same time
I don't think I have enough 'heavy' outfits :-/ one maybe. Just hoping the inlaws don't expect me to be wearing that kind of stuff. Of if they do they will have that type of clothes made for me right? :-/
i have been scolded and told that for two years, my dresses would be:
everyday wear - what I now at the moment consider party wear
party wear - what I now consider wearing to a wedding
wedding wear - the insanely heavy wedding wear
I think you should wear whatever you are comfortable in. I don't wear heavy clothes and that never changed.
In fact, to be totally honest, I think it looks ridiculous when a new bride is at someone's house for a davat and they are all in semi formals and she's blinged out.
ahh yea feck it...sure u'll never get a chance to wear all that bling bling.....jeans and a tshirt when im with him....heavy desi wear when im around the family, friends etc etc.... :D