Killing spree continues in Karachi

I dont know how all this will end…

Violence in Karachi claims 15 lives | DAWN.COM

**KARACHI: ****Various incidents of violence in Karachi claimed 15 lives during the past twenty four hours, DawnNews reported.
A clash between two rival gangs on Saturday killed five people including a wanted gangster Rashid Bengali, who carried a Rs500,000 bounty on his head. Israr Baloch, who had killed Rashid, was also killed during the clash.

Fear and tension gripped the area as markets and shops in the vicinity closed down for business after the incident.

One person was killed by firing by unknown person in Quaidabad area of the city.

Another person died in Liaqatabad’s Baloch Para C-1 area in Karachi after a stray bullet hit him.

A bullet ridden body was found in Karachi’s Jamshed Quarters area.

Firing by unknown gunmen killed one person each in Korangi No 2-1/2 and Korangi No. 5 areas of the city.

Moreover, various indents of firing claimed three more lives in Gulshan-i-Iqbal, Gulshan-e-Hadeed Orangi and Town areas of Karachi.

One person was killed and another injured in a firing incident in Bilal Colony area. Another person died of gunshot wounds in Karachi’s Faqir Colony area within the remit of Mominabad.

Killing spree continues in Karachi

Ya Allah save my Country n my City Karachi Ameen!

Re: Killing spree continues in Karachi

MQM is leading a peace rally in Karachi while JI is organising Naamoos-e-Rasool (PBUH) rally in the city. All the notables of Sindh, especially Karachi, are in power. Everyone is against target killings and extortion, yet we still lose almost a dozen people on daily basis.

If every body is against bhatta mafia,killings n extortion then who is doing all this? I don believe MQM theyr the source of all this n ANP also,both are rivals, there are areas in wich Urdu speaking ppl can 't enter if so theyr killed, vice versa.

In Karachi, there is political violence, religious violence, and gang violence. But I am wondering what should be 'acceptable' killing count for a city the size of Karachi?!
How many people are killed in other cities, like Bombay or Calcutta or Dhaka or Lahore, etc? Any statistics anyone?

There should be no 'acceptable' count for 'killing'.

Mqm staged peace rally today. I find it disgusting that same parties who are involved in killings, go out there and condemn these killings. next day, anp will hold peace rally and nothing would ever come out of this, because, these so called parties are hindrance in bringing peace in the city. Unless, these parties do not change their violent ways, our Karachi will continue to bleed....

I don't have stats. But the 1st thing that occurred to me also was 5 was not a large number for city of this size.

Just saw it was 15 not 5. Still...

More pertinent question to ask is out of all the murders in other major cities of the world, what proportion of them are investigated and criminals brought to justice, as opposed to Karachi where the murderers are at times appointed ministers and awarded honorary PhD degrees?

Well, this is the problem throughout the country. Not just Karachi.
For example, sectarian killings have been going on since long in the country everywhere. Many killers have been caught. But hardly any ever get punished. Even known terrorists like SSP's Ludhianvi is sent scott-free by our courts due to "lack of evidence".

Karachi's murder rate is definitely high. And Karachi being Mini Pakistan (people from everywhere are here), this rate is a representative of the whole nation. But I just wanted to see how it fares against cities of similar size.

People like to blame MQM for this murder rate, even though political violence is just one part of the overall murders and MQM alone is not responsible for all this political violence. There is also religious violence, which has its roots in Southern Punjab and KP/FATA. Then there is also gang violence which has increased manyfolds due to free distribution of arms in Lyari by Zulfiqar Mirza and co.

aap ki to kya baat he.

This reminds me of Akbar Ilahabadi. There was a guy who had recently read Masnavi Maulana Rom. He met Akbar, and was all praise for Maulana Rom and his Masnavi. Akbar for a while tried to bear this but then couldn't resist and said:" mian, ye maulana Rom Allah taala se bhi barre hein kya?". The guy was surprised and said, "of course not". Akbar replied something like: "itni dayr se aap ke munh se Maulana Rom ki tareef sunay jaa rahe hein, laikin aap ne ek dafa bhi Allah ki koi tareef nahin ki".

You have me dumbfounded Captain1. Just like that guy was dumbfounded by a similarly dumbfounded by Akbar. I have no answer to this* brutally* simple reply from you.

Well said :k:

MQM are the main killers.

Yes, lack of efficient law enforcement is a problem throughout the country. It is not often that known terrorists are appointed interior minister or given direct share in the government of a province though.

zarra nawazi he ji. baaqi sub to Lyari River mein ashnaan kar ke nikle hein.
I wonder why you stopped from saying: “MQM are the ONLY killers”.