Kids on a leash.

Re: Kids on a leash.

heheeh sounds like a real shararti one

Its called SRS (Supplemental Restraint System). Supplemental because it supplements the the primary restraint system, i.e. Maula Jatt.

wah wah kamal ki baat hai :chai:

I know it looks odd but in my family, this would be a hit. My niece is so hyperactive, my sister tries not to take her outside without my BIL or one of us.

When I was a child, we were on our way to Pak for a visit once. I was no more then maybe two or three max. I barely remember this but my mom will never forget it. I followed some lady onto the wrong plane. She was wearing the same coat and everything as my mom and I just kept walking behind her. No one even noticed me...I was so short even then. When I got onto the plane and looked up at her, I realized it wasnt my mom but still didnt panic. I just sat down next to her and waited for my mom to come and get me.

Meanwhile, O'Hare International Airport was in screams because there was a 2 or 3 year old running around without her mommy. My dad says my mother made sure everyone heard her all the way out to the parking lots. There were announcements made, planes checked and finally MOI was found, taken off the plane and handed over to my parents.

That would have been one scary mishap.

This harness thing is a blessing for me, I use it for my 2 years old. Because he just runs away and also seeing that so many road accidents happen with mostly little boys.

Someone mentioned 5 and 9 years olds.....I don't think there's any need for a 5 years old to be put on harness, my 4 years old walks by himself and doesn't stray or anything.

i've got 3 kids under the age of 5, older walks, middle one walks with harness and little one in the stroller.

We need to be carefull with harness when you walk into a lift in case the child with harness is ahead and walks into the lift and the door closes.....

Your story reminds me of this comic strip my husband and I watch. the entire family is on a trip somewhere, and in the car htey realize..they left the daughter behind at the mall. So they rush back. Meanwhile the girl is sitting there, and another boy comes to her very sad. He says he lost his mommy. She says. "oh its okay. I lost my whole family". (instead of her famiyl losing her) :D

Since i guess we're sharing stories--when i was young my mom left me in a grocery store. When she came back, she found me in the stroller (or the cart) playing wiht a cat and the store owners refused to give me back.

Tell him this one tonight.
One kid told his dad in the mall "abbu abbu ammi kho ga-e"
Dad said "baita hamaree aisee kismat kahan" :D

I don’t care what people think of it and how it looks to them–safety of my kid is important than anything in the world – I’m going to make full use of this come time for her to walk in the mall with us. :k:

I have to say I have never seen a kid in a leash here in my country in europe ... just dogs .. but if its good for safety I am for it ... there was a time when my daughter just ran out in the street without warning and a car had to stop right before her ... thank God nothing happened but it scared me for good and I still get the gitters when i think of it today.

ohh noo!

once my mum was out with my brother and my other sisters, and my brother was on the leash and as my mums grip got looser he ran for it…so basially he was let loose with his leash on…trust me, he was a nightmare to control when he was a baby :hayaa:

:no:

I think theyre a great idea, my nephews are little devils though. As soon as theyre clipped in they just fall to the ground and lay there, refusing to move until its taken off. I cant remember where we bought them from, but we found a new type of harness, its like a backpack in the shape of an animal and then its has the strap attached to the top. So you just get the kid to wear it like a normal backpack and then grap onto the strap, in their little heads they still think theyre free and independent but you still have control. Its great cause it takes that 'dog on a leash' look away too.

Ditto!

I can totally understand why parents would use something like that, especially in crowded places. It might look funny sometimes, but at least the parents are concerned about the safety and well-being of their children

Not all children are old enough to understand things like this, like for example a two year

*You talk to them before leaving the house, explain step by step what is going to happen e.g you are going to hold mummy's hand.

Kids usually respond well when an adult tells them what is going to happen, rather than just taking them out without explaining where, why, how and what.*

That is where we disagree. I have worked with/looked after a lot of 2 year olds and I can honestly say, hand on my heart, they respond well to clear explanations and expectations. You just have to know how to talk to them. :)

Milly, you're right about talking to little ones and all that. Yet, its impossible to keep a hold on little hands while shopping esp when you have more than one. Little ones can quickly become lost in a crowded mall or store or any situation really where there are crowds and/or excitement and mom needs to use hands to shop and pay. Sure, they know to stay by mom...but at a height of less than 3 feet they're looking at kneecaps. Its very easy to confuse one set of kneecaps for another lol!

Try taking 3 excited kids to Disney! It gets so crowded there that there can be a wait of an hour or more for the attractions. The potential for getting lost is pretty huge I think...and Disney is always announcing lost kids. Actually, Ive heard those announcements in stores and malls too. Me? Id rather be safer with littles.

^Ditto!

Not all 2 year old's are on the same language skill and understand everything. Everyone learns differently. Talking to them may not always work, if they don't quite understand. I think the harness is a safe bet or just be very aware of where your kid is.

Off topic, this reminds me of a song by Korn....Feeling like a freak on a leash...hehe

Been there, done that, 4 times ( in fact, spent 3 days in DisneyLand Paris 5 weeks ago!)

You know, iv just realised what I say doesnt hold any merit here as I havnt physically pushed a child out of my vagina.

Hush little Milly! :)

What a gr8 question Mirch bhai.

I don't like this jaanwaron ki tarha becharay buchchon ko pattay bandhna.

Meray khiaal main yay buchchon say jaanwaron wala sulook karnay kay mutradif hai.

Haath pakarnay main kia jata hai. Why use putta.

Buchchon ko agar bohat chotay say har haal main haath pakray rehnay ki tarbiaat di jaay to ziada bahtar hai.

Bazaar main agar cheezain daikhnay kay liaay haath chorna paray to buchchay ko sikha dain kay wo aap ka pakra pakray rahain us dauraan takay agar aap munhamik ho jain kisi cheez main to aap ko pata rahay kay buchcha idha idhar naheen jaay ga.

Buchchay ko sikha dain kay har haal main ammi ya parnet ka kapra naheen chorna na idhar udhar jaana.

When I was young I heard my nani saying "Aati bahoria (baho) aur janamta buchcha ko jo adat laga di jaay wo wohi karta hai" I totallay agree with this misaal.

Sikhain adat lagain isi liaay to Allah parents say nawazta hai.