My almost 4 year old daughter doesnt like cereal she takes forever when she eats cereal though she loves fry and boil egg with pararha, but i cant give her eggs everyday. So, on weekend its her favorite. She likea cheerios, but w/o milk
but i like to give w/ milk so she gets use it
so please rexoomend cereal that my kid would eat happily as i m tired of nakhra and also breakfast idea for school going kid as she will start next year Inshallah.Gracias!
Re: Kids favorite breakfast cereal
Will she have a cup of milk separately? If she's eating Cheerios, she's getting the grains she needs.
My daughter won't have liquidy cereal either. But she eats Cheerios and drinks milk separately.
You can also make oatmeal pancakes or something.
Make whole wheat paratha and buy the cholesterol free egg product. Boiled eggs can be given by removing the yolk. Eggs provide all kind of nutrients so no worries there. What is paratha , it is also grain/cereal but fried. Do not worry about oil/ghee/fat at this age she will but it all very fast.
They have dozens of flavor of cereal , take here cereal shopping and let her chose her own. You can try mixing things she likes in cereal , for example strawberries , banana , apples , grapes and what not. sky is the limit when it comes flavoring a cereal.
You have one smart kid. I posted some stuff about processed cereal a while ago. It's easy and yummy but oh so not good for you. I don't think I will give it to my kids so they don't get in the habit of eating it as a breakfast staple.
Boiled eggs are fine, even with the yoke. Recent studies have proved all the fear about eggs is unfounded and they are part of a healthy diet and there is nothing wrong with one a day. Just give her some wholemeal toast with it.
You can also try museli with dried fruit and nuts in it.
Sahar, yea she can take separatly, but i dont know for some reason i dont like that way.Mirch, i have tried flavor thing and that makes her more hating :( I work full time i want something quick. I was giving her egg everyday since she became anemic, but she been fine long time ago. I noticed she was gaining weight so since then i start giving her cereal for weekdays only, and i see lot of difference now in weight. Thanks both
Eggs are not bad for a good breakfast. Probably much more healthier than sugary cereals. I like oatmeal as an option. You can put a bit of honey or sugar in it. Warm it up.
my mom would have given everything for us to have egg for breakfast while growing up!!!
You can give her a hard boiled egg everyday.. whats wrong with it? I think it's better than the processed cereal that you buy at the store!!!
Gemini, yaar i was giving her egg and bread everyday,and i continued for long time, but she was gaining too much weight, aur jab sai weekdays cereal start kiya hai weight has reduced and now eggs and Paratha weekend only. I understand she is just lilltle kid but abhi sai nahi roka aa gae ja kar mushquil hota hai. I want her to get use to with cereals, not just egg pararha everyday. Antyway, i am going to check out Cholesterol free egg as Mirch mentioned. And also oatmeal.
If you are considered about her gaining weight, try giving her a hard boiled egg with whole wheat bread instead of fried egg and paratha. You can also give her Omega 3 eggs which are really good for you.
I give mine scrambled eggs with cheese and toast regularly. But yes, it would be good for her to get oats.
Oh yes, granola with fresh fruit, yogurt, and honey is a good option.
I would not worry a lot if mine was not eating breakfast cereal...someone on these forums once said they are just a form of candy (well most of them are).
Maybe you can just give her plain roti with eggwhite omelet,or 'fry' an egg white using cooking spray (I do than for myself sometimes).It does not contain a lot of oil that way,or even better a hard boiled egg...Personally I don't think there is anything wrong with a 4 year old having an egg every day.Mine eats an egg with cheese almost 4-5 days of a week (rest of the days she prefers a paratha or testing my patience when she does not want anything..:()..btw,she is 16.5 month old...:)
Other options can be french toast or waffles or pancakes (all with or without fruit)or even sandwiches (our mom gave us those as we as kids never wanted anything else..:D)
Ure daughter is much smarter...she chose the healthier choicr of food....kiddy cereals have nothing in them...Granted paratha everyday aiNt cool either.... Why not give her oatmeal in e morning? Throw in ssome raisins or fruit? Make it the night before and just warm up in the morning... I do that with my 2 yr old. Also... Yoghurt with musseli? Pancakes? Toast with butter and jam? My son abhors cereals and. Havent really done anything to make hm like them either..so this is what he has for bfast....but mostly its either oatmeal ....or rye bread with some kinda spread or boiled egg on top. Very filling!
And atthis age...there is nothing wrong with egg a day. My kid's paed approved of it cuz the son loves eggs. Course its understandable that u dobt wanna give it every si gle bfast time...there shpuld be variety...
Thanks all, She even eat daal chawal separately :(I just remeber i did try oatmeal before, but she didnt like it. She doesnt like mixxing things...urgh.I have tried pancakes and french toast.Khawateen, how do you make oatmeal for your son? I am going to try again.
What is musseli?
http://www.mueslifusion.com/about-muesli
She might not like it if she has a problem with mixed things… which I think is something you need to generally work (and find imaginative ways to do so) on otherwise she will grow up not eating a lot of things and it will too late to rectify that. Don’t force her because you don’t want her to hate food and eating but don’t give in to all her demands either. I know someone who was a very fussy eater and his parents would only give him the things he liked (it was very soft parenting) and now he has a very restricted and unbalanced diet.
Gemini, yaar i was giving her egg and bread everyday,and i continued for long time, but she was gaining too much weight, aur jab sai weekdays cereal start kiya hai weight has reduced and now eggs and Paratha weekend only. I understand she is just lilltle kid but abhi sai nahi roka aa gae ja kar mushquil hota hai. I want her to get use to with cereals, not just egg pararha everyday. Antyway, i am going to check out Cholesterol free egg as Mirch mentioned. And also oatmeal.
The weight gain would be from the daily paratha and not the egg. Try a whole wheat toast and egg. It would keep her full longer in school as well.
some other option are: whole grain pancakes with honey, toast with jam, porridge, banana and milk. Very important to start fruits and vegetables as a part of diet as well.
Nj, i was giving her 2 slice bread and an egg everyday for weekdays. And she was eating paratha anda weekends. Now, i only give her cereal for weekdays, and anda paratha weekends only I see lot differce in weight.