Bhai logo if ur the mature ones then plz give us bacha log a chance, let us do our job and don't freak out when we remove personal insults/profanity from your posts. That is one of the Do's of good moderation, innit? Chalo hun TLK bhai de seenay naal lag jao tey meri tarfo halal hugs!
I agree with CM. too many kids are being asked to run forums which were run by adults in the past. you need moderators who as posters are respected for maturity, sensibility and consistency. people like Sahar02 and some of the guys in PA/WA do a good job and are hence, well respected. but some of the newer mods seem to be on a power trip. it's not their job to be editing people's opinions just because they don't like them. if I say Saudi Arabia is a hellhole after having lived there for 10 years, that is my opinion. if that is edited because it is considered offensive, there's plenty written about Pakistan and practically every country on the planet that I find offensive. why is that stuff not edited? some of the recent intellectual giants who've joined the mod team are at best capable of handling Cafe or something where they can post smileys till the end of days. but they are incapable of running any grown up forum.
I agree with CM. too many kids are being asked to run forums which were run by adults in the past.
difference of opinion does not make the other party 'Kids' ...mods dont take personal decision, they just make sure that GS policies are properly implemented.
fair enough.
so which GS rule did I break by calling Saudi Arabia a hellhole? especially like I said far worse has been and is said about every other country on the planet right here on GS? the post which said that Pakistan deserves floods, death and destruction wasn't edited and is probably still there. but my less than complimentary post about Saudi Arabia was edited within seconds.
if difference of opinion doesn't make these mods kids, then difference of opinion is also not sufficient reason for these mods to go editing people's posts whose opinions they don't like.
Bhaiyya, I edit out phrases like s***hole, hellhole and u decide to hold a grudge against that for like forever!
I edit out personal insults and a thread pops up in feedback.
I edit out violent videos and all hell breaks loose.
I think its karma, I annoyed so many mods back in the days! … Hola Sara!
Ok here’s the deal. I don’t care how controversional your views are, just express them in a sane manner, thats all I ask for! People who are not happy with Pakistan may refer to it as a failed nation, thats their view, thats fine. But if they refer to Pakistan as a craphole, that is offensive to many and it will be edited whether they like it or not. Pigs isn’t a bad word either, but when some posters start referring to Indians as pigs, that will also be edited. That is how it works. Now if, because of that, they want to turn around and label me a traitor to Pakistan for not allowing offensive comments against India, or if they want to label me a taaliban supporter for not allowing gaaliyan against taaliban, I really couldn’t care less, thats fine by me.
And the last thing I’m going to say is that TLK bhai and other CMs and Admins are very fair and direct people. If they see their mods doing something they shouldn’t be doing, they will deal with it immediately, so don’t worry I’m not going to lurk around the forum with a danda in my hand exerting authority over people and abusing my mod rights. You need not fear, we’re just nannay munnay harmless lil kids.
Thats all folks! I’ll let my CMs answer any further concerns.
I edit out phrases like s***hole, hellhole and u decide to hold a grudge against that for like forever!
****hole is bleeped out for a reason. but what's wrong with hellhole?
what's worse me calling Saudi Arabia a hellhole? or another poster saying all of Pakistan deserves large scale death and destruction because some Pakistanis are corrupt? or another poster (who is also a mod mashallah) saying that Taliban aren't that bad and are probably better than us because Taliban only blow people up?
try to use your brain before answering this one.
Ok here's the deal. I don't care how controversional your views are, just express them in a sane manner, thats all I ask for!
what I said and the way I said it was perfectly sane. if it doesn't jive with your views, that's your problem but not a good enough reason for you to go around editing posts that you maybe can't even comprehend.
so don't worry I'm not going to lurk around the forum with a danda in my hand exerting authority over people and abusing my mod rights. You need not fear, we're just nannay munnay harmless lil kids.
fear, worry, danda, authority, mod rights? chanda your ego is a tad out of control. that's probably why you're in mod overdrive. just relax. calm down. have some tums or something.
I agree with CM.** too many kids are being asked to run forums which were run by adults in the past**. you need moderators who as posters are respected for maturity, sensibility and consistency. people like Sahar02 and some of the guys in PA/WA do a good job and are hence, well respected. but some of the newer mods seem to be on a power trip. it's not their job to be editing people's opinions just because they don't like them. if I say Saudi Arabia is a hellhole after having lived there for 10 years, that is my opinion. if that is edited because it is considered offensive, there's plenty written about Pakistan and practically every country on the planet that I find offensive. why is that stuff not edited? some of the recent intellectual giants who've joined the mod team are at best capable of handling Cafe or something where they can post smileys till the end of days. but they are incapable of running any grown up forum.
If that were the case then how come we had so many feedback threads against the mods and their actions in the past as well?
It's very natural to criticize an action of it goes against you. I remember starting a complaint thread against "General Forum" mods the first month I registered on GS. And then there the perpetual whiners. I think their goal is to come to GS to whine because they probably don't get to do enough of it elsewhere.
The young mods we have today represent our new generation. They bring a new flavor to the forum, a new zest and enthusiasm. As senior members of the forum, you should encourage them and help them out with their jobs that they are volunteering for. This is not to say that members aren't allowed to complain, but please don't be so quick to blame and open feedback threads. Many issues can be peacfully resolved via PMs.
sigh I must say only the “kids” get my posts. BBQ realized i was merely being a troll. Samb on the other hand routinely proves he comes from a Wadera family. No brains and full on steam.
And Terminator, if I was mod of any forum, Hell would freeze over. I tried to get Jaanwar as the mod of life 1 but to no avail. The life1 mods have a general dislike for real men. That is why shak is a mod for life 1
I know man .. .. the life 1 sections already sucks and ever since "he" has become the mod, I have stopped visiting it .. .. he has personal biasness for "men" ..
Hmm....that should change. Lets try to make jaanwar a mod again. However me advocating that would only work against him. The Life1 mods hate men. save the ones they married.