KICHAREE

ok dont laugh ..but i deperately need the receipe of khicharee..i have a severe pain due to wisdom tooth and have to eat soft food:)so anyone ???

Re: KICHAREE

there's a recipe at desicookbook.com

Here is my simple recipe

1- fry onions

2-put some simple masals
(namak, mirch etc)

3-add moong daal plus water

4-after daal is cooked add rice and water and let tha cook for a short while

That's it!!!!!!!!

ayiiiii… i hate tootaches… makes us adults feel the pain babies go thru when teething… have u tried puttin on some clover oil? (laung ka tail).. it helps a lot

do u want the liquidy kichri recipe.. or the solid one?

the solid kind

1/2 cup rice and 1/2 cup hari chilkay wali daal ( both presoaked and mixed together)

3 whole red chillies hand crushed

1 tbsp salt

1/2 tsp zeera whole

1tsp ginger and garlic paste

4 whole black peppers/ 2 clovers (laungs)

1 big spoon of oil

1 tbsp friend onions (crushed)

warm oil, add all masalay cept onions. then add rice with daal… sautee… for about 2 mins… then add enuff water to cook the rice and daal… once done, add crushed onions and put on dum

feel better :flower1:

Bari dair ki meharbaan aatay atay :D

Khair, here's mine:

Take equal amount of moong daal split with cover and chawal, soak in water for 1/2 hr seperately.
Fry 1/2 onion in oil till brown, add darcheeni, long, zeera, black pepper waghaira. Then add ginger/garlic past 1tbsp bhoonafy.
add some water, put daal in the water and let it cook for 10-15 min. Then add more water if needed, (according to the chawal measurement) let it boil. Then add chawal.. when water dries put it on dam, on low heat.

Oh forgot to mention namak.. :D
you can add it anytime before water dries up

OK I make it without onion.

Take equal amounts of moong dal and rice, pressure cook with enough water, a little salt, haldi.

Take chopped green chilies (according to how spicy you like it), zeera, and some chopped ginger, crush it with a rolling pin. Heat oil, add the crushed mixture and fry for a minute, then add crushed black pepper. pour this mixture into the khichree and mix well. Adjust the namak.

I like to add just a little cream to the khichree so it's creamy not solid.

SHeen
so whose recipe are you going with?

mine :naraz:

^awaien?

What colour is moong daal?

light green with chilka

yaar all are receipes are amaizing....haar rooz i try diff khicaree imaan sai i am enjoying alot:)

^ chal makhan baaz :snooty:

sadaf's recipe,,i use lal wali masoor ki dal instead of moong daal,,,,i make in rice cooker,,sara masala bana layte hoon exaclty like sadaf aur suub kuch rice cooker mai dal daytee hoon...woh waisey woh naram wali khichree nahee hotee.is mai aik aik danaa alagg hota hai rice ka,,,,we eat with qeema,,,til ki chatnee,,,tamatar ka salan and papar,,u know hydro's;)

did u girls try keemai wali khichri,it so tasty.

qeemqqy walqy chawal i know but khichree nope..

yes married in this we add keema with mong dall and my mother in law made it for me .we cook qeema like we normally cook for salan but with little oil and add it too kichri along with rice.u can make it with leftovber qeema too,if u girls need the recipe i will post it.

post recipe plz ^

Angle its so easy like u make other khichri,take for 2 cup rice one cup mong dall chillkoo wali,and one paio qeema,fry onions in oil add sabit garam masala,and zeera when onions become gloden brown add qeema in it and cook until it water dry add ginger ,garlic paste and cook,then add salt,little black paperrs and if u want it little spicy thena dd redchillie powder or green chillies to it,thena dd 2tbs yougert to it and cook then add the dall and water ,when dall is half cooked add rice to it and if u see the water is dry then add water that enough for the rice to cook ,when water dries ,put it on dumfor 10 min.
u can add more qeema in it if u like it tase good if qeema=rice.and dall is 1/2 of rice.u can also put tomatoes instead of yougert .
eat khichri top with butter and lehsun kee chutney is tase sooo yummmmy.

I made it for the first time yesterday:

1 cup rice and 1 cup daal (i think it was moong, yellow, little, and sort of oval shaped), soaked for about 20 minutes. I soaked them together; didn't see the need to separate.

I fried about half an onion in olive oil, with some whole zeera, cloves, elaychee, cinnamon, and crushed red pepper. Once onions were slight brown, I added a tsp of ground garlic and tsp of ground ginger and a 0.5 tsp of salt.

I drained rice and daal and added them to the mixture, letting it all mix together. Then I added 3 cups of water, covered the pot, and let it cook.

Came out great! Thanks for the ideas guys. I adapted this from what I saw above.