Kibla

How does one determine where kibla is located?

find out the direction to the makkah (Saudi Arabia) on the globe just like u find out about any certain place is on east/west/north/south or the combination...

Kibla is located? I am assuming you mean the direction of Kibla..

The simplest solution is to buy a compass. Take it to a mosque nearest your home. Check the direction of Kibla in the mosque and note down the compass reading. Use it anywhere else in the vicinity. Problem solved.

There are Kibla-finder compasses also available. They have an extensive list of cities identified in the accompanying booklet, which gives the compass reading for the city. Using the Kibla-finder compass, you can find the direction of Mekkah Al Mukaramma from all major cities, or can estimate very easily for practically anywhere by using a major city nearby.

*Originally posted by Anwaar Qureshi: *
find out the direction to the makkah (Saudi Arabia) on the globe just like u find out about any certain place is on east/west/north/south or the combination...

so I should offer prayer standing towards the globe then? :)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Kibla is located? I am assuming you mean the direction of Kibla..

The simplest solution is to buy a compass. Take it to a mosque nearest your home. Check the direction of Kibla in the mosque and note down the compass reading. Use it anywhere else in the vicinity. Problem solved.

There are Kibla-finder compasses also available. They have an extensive list of cities identified in the accompanying booklet, which gives the compass reading for the city. Using the Kibla-finder compass, you can find the direction of Mekkah Al Mukaramma from all major cities, or can estimate very easily for practically anywhere by using a major city nearby.

yeh thats what i meant...

thanks for the compass idea. is the kibla like in direction where the sun sets? im not sure...i heard something like that...

*Originally posted by lussi: *
thanks for the compass idea. is the kibla like in direction where the sun sets? im not sure...i heard something like that...
Not really. It really depends on where you are. For those in Pakistan, for example, Mekkah is on the west, so they can use the direction of sun-set. For those in North America, its a bit more complicated then that. Without going into a lot of different theories, I will suggest to get a compass and check the direction from inside a mosque.

was it too hard to understand? well Faisal said it more correctly…

bhai jaan where sun sets is the West and Saudia is in the west “on the globe”:slight_smile: from the location of pakistan…

Makkah is in south of Madinah so people face in south in madinah … hopefully u understood what i meant:-)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Not really. It really depends on where you are. For those in Pakistan, for example, Mekkah is on the west, so they can use the direction of sun-set. For those in North America, its a bit more complicated then that. Without going into a lot of different theories, I will suggest to get a compass and check the direction from inside a mosque.

would do..thanks

yea sort of…thanks…

Close your eyes ... or karray ho kar ahista say ghool ghommtay rahain .. Jab ka'aba samnay aay ga aap khud hi daikh lo ge.

what if you were on the moon?

Let's not ignore the fact that we're on a spherical planet.

pick two points on a sphere and try and find out the 'absolute direction' of one from the other. You cannot 'face' the other point as due to the curvature you're always facing some part directly inside the sphere. Any other 'path' you trace would be arbitrary as there could be several other virtual paths traced to the same point..

Conclusion: As has happened with many other instructions in Religion, 'facing the Qibla' has been trivialized to mean something physical when it actually means a 'mental focus'. so you could be anywhere and still have the 'focus' on what the Sacred place of prostration stands for.

PA has given this discussion an interesting turn. I never thought of it. It would make sense for all the namaazees in a masjid to follow the same direction but does it really matter if one is praying at home or in a moving vehicle? I have seen people pray on an airplane and they don't make an extra effort to find the direction. Which makes sense.

aap ko nazar agia .. khoob hum bhi yahi keh rahay thay keh mushkil nahi hay

well PA, just for the sake of argument: who says that the instruction of facing the Qibla using the shortest distance between the two points should be done using classical geometry? Because then indeed, you cannot face the point; but suppose we use 'curved geometry', then we can indeed obtain the shortest distance between two points on a sphere.

If the latter indeed is the case, then we will get some interesting things: because if u are just north of the exact opposite side of the world with respect to Saudia, u should face north in order to get the shortest distance to the Qibla...(just like aeroplances fly over the North Pole to get from Canada to Russia)....hmm...interesting

the argument starts when 'facing the Qiblah' is misinterpreted or rather interpreted in a literal sense. Everything else follows.. establishing 'line of sight' or 'theoretical straight lines' is just the next step.

Interestingly enough, the verses that tell Muslims to 'face the Qiblah' have nothing pertaining to salat.. i.e. they are just instructing Muslims to focus on what the Masjid-Al-Haraam stands for.. not a 'direction' in which to align their face physically when they offer salat.

in that case i direct my question to the people who pray towards the qibla: do u take the shortest distance on the map, or take the geometry to take the shortest distance? in other words: when in west canada, will u pray towards the North-East?

*Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad: *

they are just instructing Muslims to focus on what the Masjid-Al-Haraam stands for.. not a 'direction' in which to align their face physically when they offer salat.
wow.. meaning first muslims were facing Bait-ul-Maqdas that is to focus on what that place stands for .. later were asked to face Ka'aba cuz now ka'aba stands for that purpose... May be u have more insight of the incident of "Masjid AL Qiblatain" oh but wait a min.... that is only through ahaadeeth.. sorry my bad:)....

Great!