'Khula Dhula' Culture

Re: 'Khula Dhula' Culture

Yeah I've seen few of them, cuople of them is my friend's friend and other was in my cousin's high school and also met two Pakistani brothers at my workplace with full tattoo on their arms. Even in Pakistan I saw a guy with eyebrow piercing.

It started when Musharraf Sahab gave freedom to media and media slowly started to show it's true colors.

What is Pakistani culture?

Was everything good before Musharraf?

app kay pass bhi moqa hai....

I prefer Musharraf era over any other govt but sticking to the topic it was better before because there were shows and dramas you could watch with family but nowadays even watching a Pakistani channel you have to switch it sometimes

Re: ‘Khula Dhula’ Culture

I can’t. Mahool shut me up for derailing. Saary. :bummer:

Pre Musharraf was conservative era, had only two channels, gov't was strict on censor policy.... I remember, Junoon was banned....

You are saying, Musharraf is responsible of this trend....?

I don't held Musharraf responsible but there should be some code of conduct for the channels. Musharraf did this for our sake so we get to know what's happening around the world but our media took the wrong path.

Now our media is running like an unharnessed horse and nobody has the guts to put it back.

Culture: 3. a particular form or stage of civilization, as that of a certain nation or period

Since Pakistan is actually The Islamic republic of Pakistan, i assumed the aspects of its culture to be based on islam. Since everything is changing (not saying that changes are bad) it is getting away from the islamic aspects little by little.

Traditions are a part of the culture and salwar kameez is a tradiotional dress. The dress was definetely based on the islamic rules wearing wide salwars and kameez that covers you up. It even had a dupatta for the covering of the head. That's what i mean by the seperation of islam and the pakistani culture.

Imaaan, nice sharing and thoughtful reply.... Turkey is also Islamic country.... What is your opinion about them? Musharraf was inspired by Ataturk Mustafa Kamal.... he modernized Turkey....

The people of turkey are not even sure themselves. I felt like being on Erdogans side, but it is very confusing. And since i do not know enough about the whole matter, i feel like i am not eligible enough to say something about it.

Okay.

Are lack of quality content, writer, media adequate the reason ?

Is Indian culture dominating aspect of open culture?

I guess those are the right reasons. Indian culture is still not dominating an open culture since 'Being gay is stamped as being a criminal' today.

I think the problem is that people do not know where to draw a line or if they even want to draw one.

Thread starter asked that it is common in** daily life** as well as TV....

Have you seen such things in your daily life?

Sleeveless dresses? I see a lot of girls wearing them at weddings. Anyhow i think my point of view on this topic was made :)

I just gave sleeveless dresses as an example picked from the other thread but there are lot of other things you can add like smoking in front of elders, lack of respect for elders.

back in 1950s and 1960, Lollywood used to show Vamps in sleeveless. Then 'sleeveless' = Ghundi runn... Now, hero / heroine's mummy can wear sleeveless without being labelled as 'Ghundi run'. It got new meaning and that is liberal.

Is "Gundi run" Punjabi word?

yes.. it translated to Vamp.. Ghunda se ghundi

During discussion Khan sahab was saying that aaj kal kay dramy bary khuly dally hian..... Back in 1960s, PIA was fine and world's second airline among top airlines... I got opportunity to read one of NFP or etc blog and I saw some great pictures of that time.... So, why is this perception among us that Pakistan was never modern five decades ago.... ?