Khoobsurat Pakistan – My City ~~~Abbottabad~~~

ABBOTTABAD, (KNOWN AS THE CITY OF PINES, THE CITY OF SCHOOLS, THE CITY OF PEACE)

My Father is a retired Government Employee. During the course of his service we lived at many places in Pakistan. His last deputation as government employee was at Abbottabad. We loved the place so much that we finally had a house of our own in the Beautiful Beautiful City of Abbottabad. My first introduction with the city was in 1998. I was on college tour. Our first stop was Cantonment Garden also known as Lady Garden. We had our lunch there and then we moved on to Shimla hill. It was lot of fun.

Some views from our house

150 km north of Islamabad and 200 km east of Peshawar at an altitude of 4,120 feet (1,260 m) the city is named after Major James Abbott who settled this district in 1848. He was also the first Deputy Commissioner of the District. The city is also Headquarters to Hazara Division.

Abbottabad is basically known for its Natural beauty and beautiful landscape. The city is the central point for tourism towards northern areas of Pakistan.

**History
Coins of the Greco-Bectrians kings discovered from the Hazara tract suggest that the area was inhabited in first century B.C.

Abbottabad has seen many invasions from outside by the conquering forces of diverse races, tribes and kingdoms.

in the Past the Hindus were living here. They were more in cities compared to to villages. In the Period of the British, Sikhs also came here. Both the Hindus and Sikhs had a strong hold on the trade and influence in the politics. Some of them were in the government.

The current Abbottabad District was originally a Tehsil of Hazara, the Imperial Gazetteer of India described it as follows: TahsÄ«l of Hazāra District, North-West Frontier Province, lying between 33º49’ and 34º 22’ N. and 72º55’ and 73º 31’ E., with an area of 715 square miles. It is bounded on the east by the Jhelum, which divides it from PÅ«nch and the Punjab District of Rawalpindi; and it comprises part of the mountain valleys drained by the Dor and Harroh rivers, together with the hill country eastward. The hill-sides to the north and north-east are covered with timber forest. The population in 1901 was 194,632, compared with 175,735 in 1891. It contains the towns of Abbottabad (population, 7,764), the Tehsil and District head-quarters, and NAWASHAHR (4,114); and 359 villages.

The land revenue and cesses amounted in 1903-4 to Rs. 97,000. The district is named after Major James Abbott the first deputy commissioner of Hazara (1849 - 1853).
During British rule Abbottabad became the capital of Hazara District, which was named after and contained the Hazara valley, a small valley in the outermost Himalayas, between the Indus in the west and Kashmir in the east.

In June 1948, the British Red Cross opened a hospital in Abbottabad to deal with 80-100 patients daily who were being “brought in from the Kashmir fighting areas”.

In 1901 the population of the town and cantonment was 7764.
In 1991 the population was 66,000. In 1998, the population of Abbottabad District was 881,000. Many people identify themselves with hereditary nations. Among these are Swatis, Abbasis, Awan, Utmanzai, Jadoons, Karlal, Syed, Tanoli etc.

(source)

Re: Khoobsurat Pakistan – My City ~Abbottabad~

Beautiful images Zulfi jee.. :slight_smile:

see what i have got..

1915 - Abottabad from Southern Hills

thanks for sharing them :slight_smile:

Re: Khoobsurat Pakistan – My City ~~~Abbottabad~~~

Wow thanx Redi . . .

u come come bhai sahab :@:

Abbottabad sights range from parks to religious attractions. Abbottabad is a summer resort, and it is located among picturesque valleys. The city is an important transit area from which other places such as Skardu and Swat can be reached. The pleasant weather is another aspect that draws tourists.

Some tourist attractions:

Miranjani

Miranjani is the tallest peak in Abbottabad, and it is located in the Himalayan mountain range. This peak is popular among hikers, as it provides an easy climb through pine forests. Other vegetation includes Walnut trees and Maple trees as well as shrubs. If you begin at Nathia Gali, the climb will take approximately 3 hours to get to the peak, where you can enjoy breathtaking views of the surrounding area including rivers and lakes. There are also shorter routes through the forests where you can enjoy the surrounding scenery. The governor’s residence is located at Miranjani.

Ilyasi Mosque

Surrounding the mosque are ponds and hills form the backdrop of this building. The water from nearby springs is believed to be sacred, which makes this mosque famous. There are places around the mosque where delicious food is sold, so after your trip, take some time to stop for lunch. Near the mosque is a military academy.

Thandiani

Thandiani is located 24 kilometers from Abbottabad city, and it makes a good outing for the day. You can get there by a road, which is in reasonable condition, and winds up to a height of 2,400 meters. The drive takes approximately 80 minutes, with beautiful scenery along the way. Thandiani translates to mean “cool place,” and can offer respite from the heat. In Thandiani, you can take a scenic walk through the forest.

(Source)

• Khanka Mahboobabad Shareef Havelian
  • Banda Phugwarian & Dobather (Beautiful villages surrounded by Shimla Hill)
  • Namli Maira
  • Nathiagali
  • Ayubia
  • Thandiani
  • Ilyasi Masjid
  • Shimla Pahari
  • Canttonment Park (also known as Lady Garden)
  • Harnow (Harnoi)
    Me and my son enjoying Harnoi River

• Bagnotar
  • Jhangi Khoja
  • Paswal

is the water cool cool?

no need of prickly heat powder haina :(

Education (The City of Schools)

The city of Abbottabad is a small, organized and a clean town. Apart from being a city of beautiful landscape and peaceful environment, it is also a source of attraction for the people from all over Pakistan due to its educational services. The city of Abbottabad is rich with a number of schools, colleges and other institutes. As Abbottabad serves as a gateway to education, it is also known as the “City of Schools”. The schools and colleges are promoting a good standard of education in the entire region.

Besides the basic education, the professional education is also not being neglected in the region. Furthermore Abbottabad is a home of numerous professional and educational institutions, several military organizations like PMA (Pakistan Military Academy Kakul), Training establishments, Technical Institutes, Government departments, civil societies and colonies. Abbottabad has got four Medical Colleges (women medical college is also one of them).These produce a large number of doctors every year. An IT university, CIIT (COMSATS Institute of Information Technology), is also established in Abbottabad as a project of Ministry of Science and Technology. The CIIT is the only institution in the country which specializes and concentrates on IT and is a national milestone of establishing the first IT University in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Other than that, there are many schools which are famous all over the country, such as ABHC, APS, PIPS PHPS. These schools provide excellent education for the children of the city.

(Source)

This time I visited Pakistan in the month of June. The weather was cool enough that we had to cancell our visit to Harnoi because of bacha party :p

w0w lucky ppl mashaAllah..

Re: Khoobsurat Pakistan – My City ~Abbottabad~

Automotive (car exhibition and car racing event)

Apart from its cultural, educational and military importance, this city also has the credit of holding the popular “Automotive” car exhibition and car racing event which promotes professional racing, safe driving and charity in Pakistan. The most recent event was held on 14 August 2008 at Ayub Medical College where more than 2000 people came to see the custom designed and modified from many parts of Pakistan. Dr. Ehsen Naveed Irfan, organizer of the event, called it “a positive effort in progression in the field of car racing in Pakistan”. The local press called it a good and safe effort which provided the best entertainment on the Independence day of Pakistan. There are many sports clubs that are working to promote their respective sports. One of them is District Badminton Association of Abbottabad. In the month of June, the same Association arranged the provincial championship. Peshawar District Won Men’s singles and Doubles and Boys singles competition. District Abbottabad won Ladies singles and doubles titles.

(Source)

Malik saab, nice thread. and good pic laying in the water : D

so you came back to Qatar?

we are INSHA ALLAH heading to north... count down has started... 30 days to go!

Hey Aceones where r u going??

even the north has been affected by Flood

our plan is to visit upper kaghan valley, go to dudipat, then saral lake, and then ratti galli and enter AJK from there ...

road upto jalkhad has opened as per latest info after flood, actually it was only closed for 3 days...

yes the area is affected, but you know that people in those areas have no other way of income, other than tourism, and everything related to it

well my cousin went to kaghan n the flood came there ......he said it was horrible there .....

anyhow best of luck to u

Do Update me with ur tour esp the pictures :D

Yes Ace Bhai I am back in Qatar now . . .

This time we visited tha Donga Gali as pr your suggestion . . . It was awesome.

Thanks for sharing. I visited these places in the autumn of 1991! Abbotabad is really very beautiful.

plan was 100% confirmed till few days ago. but looking at the situation in country we are thinking to change it into some kind of relief effort rather than a hiking trip, still there is a month to go. we have not finalized yet what to do...

good that you enjoyed : )