Good efforts. I don't know what will be different though. The difference I have seen in recent dramas is Doraha and Yeh Zindaig Hai.
Try to convey my message to Seema Gazal and other prominent writers, not to follow StarPlus please. We have our own identity and we should stick with our brilliant story telling techniques that we mastered in last 45 years of television. Otherwise, we will get stuck in funky sets, saaris and 'hazaar corer ki factory' like talks in our dramas. The soaps are worst kinds of creative art.
My 2c for Shaikhs is to also explore some other sites one day outside Scotland. Its always refreshing to see their site selection and picturization, but its getting montonous for their projects. You know what I mean.
- **It was never a SOAP when Seema conceptualized it. It was a straight 13 episoder! and Seema hates STAR+ impacts or mention or even nearby it...but so much and so huge is the STAR+ impact on our minds that half a situation close to it..leads us to believe what you RIGHTLY say. But, let me tell you...we will not go STAR+ way anymore that we cannot afford the scenes and cxonsistent FLASHING of DHUNN....DHUNN...THAAK...close shots on characters to attract the viewers by some way or the other! Indians know we cant show the scenes and situations they do--and realising that they continue with their atrocities. NAUSHEEN ALI SARDAR & AMNA SHARIF who had done soaps in India...while doing ANA with Humayun Saeed's production is Dubai (2003-4) really felt relieved being off from TONs of make-up which our Laiqadoesn't believe in and 5000 power lights which our camera great Naeem Mustafa doesn't believe in..and the softness which our Sullu bhai the Director believed in....and it was our greatest SEEMA GHAZAL (Zindabad) serial!!!:) They said that most of the Indy TV artiste were fed up with the KAPOORS of BALAJI for overdoing everything!. One more aspect which greatly benefits the INDY SHOWBIZ (TV) is the HUGE market India has on COMMERCIALS. Ours is limited to UNILEVER, ICI, ENGRO, BANKS on highly limited basis. We do not have patronization by Multi-National Corpn. Aik hai UNILEVER for LSA magarr usska bhi QEEMA nikaal ke rakh diya aap ki qaum ne mulk mein aur mulk se bahirr beith karr full of LOLs and fumes!!! and when *such things happens....SUCH THINGS HAPPEN! *
- Yours is not 2 cents--it could be a ten dollar worth that Zulfi has since decided to capitalize on Morrocco and Spain this summer when we all go from Glasgow accordingly.
Khush Rahein..