Khan Baba

I lived in Pindi with my khala as a kid. We lived on this road full of potholes that all the elders complained about but us kids loved them because they’d fill up with oil and rainwater and have little colorful rainbows in them. The challi wala used to come by a lot, “challi lay lo, challi lay lo!”

We would bug our nani and khala to give us 5 rupaya to go buy challian and would hop out the front door with khala in tow. Khala would holler “Khan!!!” from the gate so that he could stop his rehRi. They were all Khans to her. We’d run down the street, me, my perpetually jaundiced and sickly little sister (the abo hawa and paani didn’t suit her), and three of my cousins, waving our paanch rupaya note in the air. Khala would tell Khan to bring out challian, naram naram wali, for the bachay loag, on account that the hard ones would give us “loose motions”. Haha it never even fazed us when she talked about our bathroom habits to strangers or wiped our snot with her dupatta.

Miss all that so much. Childhood in Pakistan is the best. I want my kids to grow up there and get sick off off challian, watch the raddi kaghaz walay burn bonfires in the gali. Play squash on the driveway wall and dent the gate when playing cricket and bug their grandparents with the racket, have their own kiyariaN to kill flowers in year round, smash snails like we loved doing. Hone their sadism by sprinkling salt on worms, throw rocks on slugs clinging to the walls.Man we were messed up creatures.

Man, life over here is so boring. No place to ride a bike, no menacing bulldogs, no robberies, no sticky icky heat, yucky half pani half oily milk. Eid means nothing, 14th August means nothing. All the Pakistani kids growing up here are locked into their darbay like motay choozay, they don’t seem to do anything fun. All they care about is tv pe kya arahai hai, about their weight (what’s with the weight obsession these days?)

Oh yeah, and carry love affairs with the saath walay larkay, and scare each other by believing the bump in the middle of the park was a little murdered kid’s grave.

I wish I could go back in time, all us cousins and my sister sitting on a charpai with our servant Raza, the Pathan naswaar sniffing Rambo, lifting the charpai and we would all scream in fear and excitement that he would tip us over and we’d be hanging on by our fingers.

The best rollercoaster is free.

Haha I loved lighting fires in Pakistan. Here the friggin wood darba would burn down.

Re: Khan Baba

Challi-walaz and mooli wallaz in Pindi! Kya yaad dilla diya :(

what's challi?

challian is supari those mixures with nuts and various seeds right? Btw this piece was very vivid and great memories you have. I wish I could have experienced more stuff like that!

**Challi **is corn-on-the-cob.. not supari. Its also called "bhuttay" in some parts. It is either slow cooked by putting it inside hot sand or fire-cooked on a flame.

oh chulli! I was thinking its chaaliyah. Either way Ive never had that. :(

those sliced moolis with masalaa, just :yummy:

man the best challis i ever had were the ones sold by the pathan bhai in hot sand outside FG Sir Syed College at about 3 PM. Never had ones like those again.

hahha chaaliya, you bhayyan :smiley:

what? This is unfair I do not like it when I dont understand Punjabi words! Whats bhayyan? And Im saying chaaliya right? Or is it that also something else?

ama bhai 5abi im a bhayya and proud of it..

spits chaliya

You don’t have to go all the way to pakistan for that. There’s this little stall outside a shop on Gerrard Street in Toronto …

where where where? What shop?

even the mexicans have their own form of "bhuttay" "challi", but they boil the cobs and it dont taste the same as a the ones slow cooked in hot sand, sold by the pathan dudes

ravage kaka mannu pata ciga :>
spits his naswaar

oh Sarah! there's so much we have in common :( I miss all that too *sniff it's so boring here

not to mention the chaat wala and the paapar and khoye waali kulfi wala uncle...to us every old guy/girl was an uncle or aunty! and at night the anday wala grrrr so many memorries

but then again times have changed...and so have people :( nothing's the same anymore in pakistan either

I can’t remember, only ever been to Gerrard once and I was distracted the whole time by someone else in my group.

I’m heading back on Saturday inshallah, I’ll try and take a close look.

oh man…childhood dayz were so much fun..

abhee bhee i see my nephews and nieces enjoying all this stuff

i still eat all this junk food and challiz :smiley: cant live without it…

childhood in pakistan is the best…other than that its jus PHEEKA…

kulfi (my fav snack it was!!)..for ath anay/aik rupay/do ruay, challi, gol gappay, gola ganda (oopar malai laga k), ath aanay wali dandi wali ayskreem, chooRan, imli, umrood, faalsay!!! zeeray ke biskit, bakar Khanyaan

school k saamnay also the dude would be standing with the rehris selling all the stuff

i used to get 3 rupees for school lunch everyday and 2 rupees for evening snacks

and the games we used to play in the mohalla with the other kidz…chuppan chupai, pakram pakrai, baraf paani, chor chor, cricket

sarra kuch chappal utaar k coz apparently we cudnt run that fast with jootay/chappal on :hehe:

girly gamez gurya kee shaadi, ghar ghar, proper making a ghar with sticks and everything

when it used to rain we use to all throw each others chappals in the muddy ponds all over the mohalla, it hardly used to rain in karachi so it used to be a mega event when it did. we used to make lil mud balls (kababs) and “fry” them in those ponds hehehe

and we used to go into that dirty water (used to cmoe to our waists) and play in it haha

bakra Eid pe it used to be so much fun, all the kids with their bakras and gayays…doing bakra racing and all that.and for days the janwarz would be there..it was like a proper mela..

and on shab-e-baraat phoRRing patakhay and phuljaryaan

14th aug pe competition hota tha k kis k ghar pe sab se zada jhandyaan lagi haen hehehe

Eid pe all the lil ones getting all dressed and frenzy to collect Eidi and comparing eidis .. lil girlz in their lehngas with chooryan and the lil boys in their shalwar kameez and topi n kotiz

and u’re so right…my nani also used to wipe my face when wet or jab naak behti thee with the aanchal of her sari :slight_smile:

Chorni you’re right some things have changed but it depends on the area where u live. if u live in a really posh locality like defence then forget abt ur kids interacting with the neighbors kids or playing the kinda stuff we played when we were kids.

but if u live in a proper mohalla where ppl r more social then then kids still do this stuff. in karachi theres lots of appartments and we lived in appartments where ppl r mostly middle ya max upper middle class and all the kids in our appartments, we used to play together, it was like gaaon type atmosphere almost…really cool…

these days too my cousins kids who live in the not so posh areas of karachi or my nephews and niece and cousins in pindi still do the stuff we used to do as kids…

^ wat i loved about karachi was the chalgoze at like midnight!! n i think the appartment we lived in were like that too, we did everything together and had lots of fights
n how can u guys forget shakarkandi n chaany n kulfi n dhai bhallay n pani puri

I don't think you can get challiyaN and shakarqandi like Pakistan's anywhere else. :(

And you sooooo right about the whole childhood experience in Pakistan. The Eid melas at bazaars, the 14th august, the Ramadaans, the qulfi walay, golay ganday walay etc. etc.