"Kerry: Pakistan can be better ally against terror": What does he mean by that?

I saw this news item at some places where Kerry is saying that Pak can do some things better. But nowhere does he explain what exactly does he want Pak to do?!

Any idea? What does Kerry, or America, wants Pakistan to do differently? What would be a better Pakistan response on terror from American perspective?

Pakistan could be a better partner in the fight against terrorists, U.S. Sen. John Kerry said Saturday on the first leg of a visit to Afghanistan and Pakistan to patch up relations following the U.S. killing of Osama bin Laden.

Kerry, chairman of the powerful Senate Foreign Relations Committee, said the United States wants Pakistan to be a real ally in combatting terrorism.

“We believe there are things that can be done better,” he said in a visit to Mazar-i-Sharif, a large city in the north.

Re: "Kerry: Pakistan can be better ally against terror": What does he mean by that?

*to handover it's nuclear weapons to the US or at least the secret codes...that seems to be the bottom-line! They want to be the 'legal guardians' of Pak's nuclear assets!!!

Re: "Kerry: Pakistan can be better ally against terror": What does he mean by that?

bas chanta khana cha raha hai aur kuch nahi!!!

Classic example of good cop bad cop.

Kerry is playing a good cop in this case.

He means...Pakistanis remain fools... :D

why you care about america interests?

Thanks for the input. But your comment looks more like your "dil ki bharaas" than what Americans actually want in this case.

I want to understand what Americans want from Pakistan. Understanding every party's perspective is the first step in making a good intelligent decision.

tell them what pakistan wants from them first. it's our land, not theirs. our land, our rules.

pata lag jaye tey menooN vi das dena

If only we had such rulers who are real men who can speak the truth and who are not cowards, sadly we have the biggest cowards in history ruling our country!

Please try to understand the intention of this thread. Pk does not need to do what Americans want, but we do need to understand what it is.
I am just thinking what Americans would want Pak to do differently. Because I believe Pak is already doing the best it can.

To be a better ally means Pakistan should help bale Americans out from Afghanistan, do operation against TTP (in this case NWA faction) and Quetta shura (they are not concerned about the TTP operating against Pakistan), and allow the Americans to do what ever they want inside Pakistan...that would be a good ally...

in short Pakistan should look after American interests not its own

why we want to understand what an empire wants from us? why they can set standards of doing things which we have to comply to? why? loyalty to empires still in our blood? we have to stop kissing butt!

It is not about COMPLIANCE. It is about understanding your enemy.

Does it soothe you a little? Don't be emotionally charged. You are ruining the thread.

you agree it's our enemy? good first step.

Ok. So if you want to play games then so be it. Now I am going to talk in your own language.

America is neither our friend nor enemy. It is indifferent towards us.
On the other hand Taliban khariji munafiqeen are our enemies. They are not indifferent towards us.

Re: “Kerry: Pakistan can be better ally against terror”: What does he mean by that?

This Pakistan needs to do to be a better ally…

Senator Kerry would urge the Pakistani officials to reduce the number of nuclear assets.

US Senate Committee on Foreign Relations chairman Senator John Kerry would be arriving in Pakistan today. According to American media reports, Senator John Kerry would meet with Pakistani officials and urge them to take bold steps against Al-Qaeda or else the United States Congress would stop the aid to Pakistan.

Senator Kerry would assure the Pakistani officials that if the required steps are taken, Pakistan would play a main role in talks with the Taliban in an attempt to find a political solution in Afghanistan.

According to media reports, Senator Kerry before leaving for Pakistan said that relation between the United States and Pakistan are entering a crucial stage. He added that if Pakistan does not take the steps against Al-Qaeda, relation with the US would be adversely affected.

According to media reports, Senator Kerry would also urge the Pakistani officials to reduce the number of nuclear assets because the US congress members have told the Obama administration that if aid has to be given to Pakistan, there needs to be a reduction in Pakistan’s nuclear assets.

Ali_Syed:

Senator Kerry would urge the Pakistani officials to reduce the number of nuclear assets.

Highly speculative. It did not come from Kerry. It was only Dunya News' reporters conjecture.
Dunya News is saying that Kerry WOULD urge Pakistan. And this future speculation is based on unverified and undisclosed "media reports".
Looks like Dunya News is showing Pakistanis what they want to hear, without care about the truth and reality.

Great work Dunya News.

You are right, the Dunya News report does talk about American media but does not specify which source and I cant find the relevant source from the other side. He will be in Pakistan shortly so it would become clearer as to what more the Americans want from Pakistan.

As far as reduction in nuclear weapons are concerned that could be on the cards, because I have read some recent reports in which the americans are saying that pakistan's nuclear weapons are very unsafe especially after the killing of OBL...some people think that if ISI can shield OBL, they can provide these weapons to those people as well...sooner or later pressure will come on the pakistanis to roll back their nuclear program