Kentucky Derby Day

So yesterday, the League of Ordinary Gentlemen hosted it’s 2nd Annual Kentucky Derby Party. The idea was that the women would come wearing fancy derby hats as is the custom in Kentucky. The men would wear bowlers. As people arrived at the party they picked a horse’s name out of a hat and learned all they could about their horse online. The hosts, Ken and Dr. Jenny, served mint juleps and southern iced tea in silver cups, again, as is the custom on derby day. There was a BBQ with yumm food and lots of noise.

Now, here’s the fun part, whoever picked the horses that came in 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or last, won prizes. The prize for 1st place, a gourmet chocolate cake from a fancy bakery. For 2nd place, a bouquet of roses. For third place, 2 movie tickets and a box of junior mints. For last place, a $10 gift card to Starbucks and a bottle of glue.

I picked a horse named ‘Keyed Entry’. When the race started, this guy TOOK OFF and was in the lead for about half the race, needless to say, the chocolate cake was on my mind and I was very excited. But then my stupid horse got tired and fell back. Anyway, NBC didn’t post the final placing of all the horses for a while, they kept talking about the horses that came in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, they would not talk about last. Finally, after 20 minutes, they showed the official results, my idiot horse came in LAST. HE WENT FROM FIRST TO LAST! My buddy Chris pointed out that my damn horse and his jockey watched EVERYONE pass him. Oh well, at least I won Starbucks and glue.

Anyway, it was a GREAT time, looking forward to it next year. Ken, the host, drew a horse named ‘Deputy Glitter’ and we kept making fun of his horse for being gay and that he wasn’t running during the race, but prancing. HAHAHAHA, stupid Deputy Glitter. Here are some pictures.

Re: Kentucky Derby Day

The very lovely and sweet hostess, Dr. Jenny

Dr. Matt (pediatrician, not OB), Corner Mike, Ahsan, and Dr. Stephanie

Dr. Meghan being very undainty and grabbing some KENTUCKY fried chicken

Edgar Martinez, yes, named after the Seattle Mariner, son of Dr. James

Dr. Maureen and husband Dr. Matt

All the ladies, from L to R, Drs. Maureen, Anna, Stephanie, Jenny, Kindra, Kelly, and Megan

The whole group, too many people to name

wow! Looks like you guys had loads of fun!!!

I spot some peeeecan pie there Mister!
The other dainty stuff looks yumm!

did you guys pool money together to get the prizes?

Actually Bibi, all the spouses of the OB residents formed a league and we went to the OB department and said that they should sponsor us. When new residents come to interview at the program, the OB Department can then say that they sponsor the spouses group and that raises the bar for the applicants and they say, hey that's cool, they don't just care about the residents, but care about the spouses too. That way when new people come to the city who don't know anyone, they come to a built in set of friends who have in common that they're not going to see their spouses very much for the next four years.

So we take the department's money and have events like these, we have a bowling league sponsored by the department, they pay for our fantasy football league, for the annual croquet tournament and a bunch of other stuff. So fortunately we don't spend much of our own money which is awesome.

What a great idea for a party!! Who won the cake? and are they going to share it with you?

:hehe: don’t mix coffee with the glue now…

Dr. Kelly won the cake and no she didn't share, booo!! Our croquet tournaments are fun too, it's a very traditional croquet tourney, same kinda dainty food, everyone has to wear white. That's coming up soon too.

Whats so dainty about KFC?! :aq:

it's UNdainty.

hum bhi kia doctor doctor khal saktay hai kia ;)

Tum ko jo khailna hai khailo bhai, tum ko kaun rokay ga?