Keeping Busy all The Time

spent a lot of time thinking today what i was doing with my life…where it is headed…what have i become compared to what i was…what have i achieved in life compared to the opportunities and resources Allah swt gave me…why i am wasting my time and whatever abilities Allah swt gave me when i could be doing so so so so so much more…

right now i work 9-6, my job is not extremely demanding, and then come home after job and then waste time net surfing and chatting, such a waste of time, such a bad habit. sleep late at night many times. this is not healthy and not constructive. every second of life counts. there used to be a time when i was so devoted to my goals that i never even knew what the latest songs were, what the current fashion was. all this is so useless, such a waste. it used to be just me and my books and i used to excel in my studies.

now its just an average living, jack of all trades but master of none. the reason i can’t do anything is because i’m in a mode of being lazy. i don’t have any real responsibilities. i need to engage myself in things which i know i must do. need to have some solid commitments which force me to work.

my dad mashallah is reaching old age but he wakes up at 6 am and comes home around 10pm. He works non stop till then. even young people can’t work like that. i do nothing compared to him.

i’ve been thinking about it for some time and discussed it with my parents before too. i’ve decided i’m going to start a small business. spoke to my dad about it too, and we decided about some things. i know in the beginning it won’t be profitable, it might suffer losses, but it wil be my project and i’m going to kill myself making it work. inshallah, maybe in a few months i’m going to completely submerge myself into that, so that i don’t have any spare time. an empty mind is a devil’s workshop. i want to be so busy in life, each and every second, be forced to work work and work and challenge myself harder and harder and harder…inshallah…

irem have you ever thought abt volunteering your time somewhere??
I used to volunteer for RedCross sometimes. Now i am volunteering for an Art Gallery. Try helping an NGO or something :)

You are making it sound like you are wasting your time in your current lifestyle. A 9-6 job already takes 9 hours out of your day. Add 7-8 hours of sleep, and you are left with 7 hours or so. Spend 2 hours a day in meals, and that leaves you with 5 hours. Isnt it important to spend at least that much time with your family, relax, go shopping, or just do nothing?

Your father is definitely overworking, with a 6am-10pm day.

You should definitely go for a business venture if thats what you want to do, but dont do it in order to occupy the remaining 5 hours of your day as well. Even with a business, your objective should be to spend no more than 8-10 hours of your day working at it. We all contribute to our personal lives in different ways. And you also have to realize the fact that this is not school or college any more. We go through full schedules in school/college/university, so we can cut it down later on.

If you were spending 24 hours lazing around, that would be different. But as you have it, you do have a practical application in your life in the form of your job. You can replace it with a business, but dont replace your leisure time with business as well. That would be cruel. A healthy balance is required for you to function well in every aspect of your life.

Irem, best of luck with the business thing! What is your dad (sir jee) doing, those are very long hours! 6am to 10pm!!!! He's still teaching these days right???

Spock haanji papa is still teaching :) during the day in a couple schools part time and then at night he has a tuition center where he teaches.. :) mashallah :) thanks for asking and for your good wishes :)

Akif bhai thank you so much for your advice :) I do miss the slaving away of college and having that pressure of being busy all the time, no matter how much I hated it, it was thrilling. I do miss that, as that used to make me feel productive.

You're right about keeping balance. I think I need to make some new friends, but I never made an effort in life for that, it just used to happen naturally. Now its not there though so there seems to be a vacuum and I want to fill it by working. I don't really have a social circle here yet, all my friends are in the USA, yahan siraf 2 close old school friends haen, aik ki shadi ho gai aur doosri kee mangni and she remains so busy with her family, is lyay I get so bored, cousins mein there is no one my age. In my free time I'm either on GS or with family, I don't even enjoy socialising, it seems I'm becoming a hermit, how scary!

I want to do business inshallah because I feel like I'm working so hard at my job and its all going in someone else's pocket, it would be so good if I started my own venture and worked towards that.

*Originally posted by Ira: *
irem have you ever thought abt volunteering your time somewhere??
I used to volunteer for RedCross sometimes. Now i am volunteering for an Art Gallery. Try helping an NGO or something :)

Yaar inshallah when I get a car I'll look into that, because right now I have some transport issues. Plus my family is not too happy about me volunteering at certain places, you know 'mahol kharab hae' etc...so I have to look into that as well. Volunteering in Pakistan is a totally different ball game than volunteering abroad. But that has definitely been one of my goals. Inshallah.

thanks yaar :)

Oho..mujhe lagta hai yeh post bohate gussay main likhi gai hai! :stuck_out_tongue: i agree with Akif here…it’s just that you are absolutely right…go out..socialize a bit more and inshallah after you get your car..you will feel more powerful and in control in that respect.

Don be a nashukri… :snooty: just focus how you can better utilize (not towards working..but socializing and relaxing your mind) the spare 5-7 hours and you are all set.

Good luck! :~)

I know what you can do. Start working as a volunteer as a nurse or something in a hospital. (They might even let you wear a white lab coat even :hehe: )

Your time will pass, you’ll get your desired duas, you get a feeling of accomplishment and your wanting to be a doctor feeling gets satisfied. And, you can always take a bus (or a ricksha, that should not even be an excuse).

Irem jee could not customize it for your situation. Copy paste say he mein nay kaam chala deya....
Think about it ?

Your Colleague : Hey !! Kya yahan baitha mail forward

karta rahta hai yaar !! Naye packages dekh.... Naye
language seekh. Night out Maar....Fundoo programming
kar like me....! Do something cool man !!

You : Achha ! To usse Kya hoga ..

Your Colleague : Impression !!! Appraisal !!!
Har appraisal main tu No 1!
Hike in salary !! Extra Stocks

You : Phir kya hoga...

Your Colleague : Project Leader ban jaayega..Phir Project Manager !!!
Phir Business Manager ! One day U will be a
Director of the Company man !!

You : Acchha to phir kya hoga...

Your Colleague : Abe phir tu aish karega ! Koi kaam nahin karna padega !
Araam se office aayega aur MAIL check karega.

You : To ab main kya kar raha hoon ????

"Dikhawe pe na jao, apni akal lagao.
Programming hai waste, trust only copy-paste "

So what if you achived that constructive efficiency that you want to ? Will that make you happy ?

Jab akalmand baat kar rahe hon tho beech mein paindoo bola nahin karte!!

:D j/k bud.

Yaqeenan.... Baba jee yeh to aap nay badhi akal ki bat kee...paindoo akal mand nahee ho saktee....aap jaysee akal mand ....

DS changa fer u’re already hired :smiley:

Khan bhai :slight_smile:

TB :stuck_out_tongue: sigh ura leyn mere jazbaat ka mazaak… :frowning: ye duniya itni zaalim kyun hae :crying:

:stuck_out_tongue:

the_paindoo :hehe: interesting waise…hmmm

hey Irem!
hi! i never came across this thread before.
i totally get what you mustve been feeling while starting the thread..often i feel exactly the same way, that im not doing with my life as much as im supposed to, theres a sense of not giving your best…not using the full capacity Allah has given us. i must admit in your case you must be a very hard working person for asking for more work even after workin full time. you have the right thoughts and the spirit to go forward and grab stuff, thats very good. InsahAllah you’ll land at the best. i guess for most ppl, with me included, the way you put your feelings describes exactly what they feel. and the way you feel aboput your dad, i feel the same for mine, if i could work as hard as he does!
youre right keeping busy busy busy is the only way!
and your business idea is great. what have you planned?
best luck! :k:
and may we all be able to work hard and harderr!!
and both your parents are teachers? cool! :slight_smile:

hey Haris,
thanks for the reply :)
hmm...i'm not sure what i'm gona do yaar...i had several ideas...ranging from school...to import/export...to software consultancy...my dad's going out of town for some time so have to postpone my ideas till he's back though...
keeping busy and working hard is so so so important...

Which part of Pakistan are you planning to open the school?
Actually I’m of the same opinion as well. I wanna setup a business in Pakistan and opening a school/institute was a good idea. I am currently working as an administrator cum tester/trainer cum secretary :stuck_out_tongue: for a gov. college. If things workout well here, as in I get a permanent position, then I’ll postpone me plans (setting up business in Pak) otherwise, I’d be dashing back home :smiley: … even though its hard for me to cope with the ambience in Pak :frowning:

Khair, Allah :swt: behtar karain gain, Ameen!