keema recipes needed please

I have this problem, when i make keema salan, it never seems to taste right. Please can any good cooks post their recipes so i can see where i’m going wrong with it.

Re: keema recipes needed please

I don't know if my recipe is necessarily "correct" but it tastes good :D

The following is for one pound of keema, ask for it to be extra lean.

Heat oil, and add in a few sprinkles of whole spices to flavor the oil (I have a mixture of whole coriander, zeera, saunf, cloves, elaychee that I tend to put in -- like half a teaspoon of the mixture)

Put in two cut onions and fry until they brown

For the next step there are two options. You can either take the described mixture below and mix in with the keema and then add the whole thing to the onions, or put the mixture into the onions first, let it simmer for a while and then add the keema.
MIXTURE: Add in two tbsp garlic, two tbsp ginger, 1-1.5 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp red pepper, 1/2 tsp black pepper (you might want to go heavier on salt and peppers), 1/2 tsp coriander (this helps take away the raw meat/fatty taste that keema sometimes has), a pinch of haldi if you like, 1/2 tsp ground cumin. Like I said, you can go a bit heaver on the spices, I often add more as I test the taste.

Mix with keema and cover and let cook for a while, until keema is no longer red or pink. Add two-three tbsp of yogurt. Mix and let cook for another 10-15 minutes.

I like to add cut up bell peppers and tomatoes. A whole bell pepper or half of two different kinds for color and variety. Chop them up and add in. Stir, cover, and let cook for another 10-15 minutes. At this point you can also do a salt/pepper taste test, to see if you want any more.

That's pretty much it. I tend to test it as I go, but this is the general procedure.

Thanks sahar, i will try your recipe next time. The way i make keema is to boil it with onions, garlic, chilli powder in a pan, then once water dries, i add tomatoes and oil and the spices. Its really wierd cos i'm ok at making gosht salan, but for some reason i can never cook keema well. Thanks again for your recipe:)

Ingredients

Fresh qeema - 1/2 pound

Ginger & garlic paste - 3 spoons

salt

Onion - 1 bareek kata huwa

tomato - 1 finely chopped

garam masala powder - 1 tsp

turmeric powder - 1 tsp

cinnamon - 1

cloves - 2

cardamom - 3

chilli powder - 2 tsp

red chillies - 2

coriander leaves

Preparation :

1) Heat a pan, with 5 tsp of oil

2) Add cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, red chillies to it

3)Add onions, tomatoes to it fry them till the tomatoes become a sauce. Then add the ginger garlic paste

4) Add the qeema and add 3/4 cup of water and close the vessel with a lid and simmer it for 20 minutes

5) Then add turmeric powder, garam masala powder and chilli powder & salt.

6) When the qema is brown, bring the flame down and add the coriander leaves.and 2-3 green chilies..
..enjoy mai tou aysa he banatee hoon

aur hamesha try kero kai qeema ziada barrk na ho jitna mota qeema ho uuna acha banta hai,,

This is my sipmple qeema salan recipe that i used for allo qeema,qeema mater,or qeema shimla mirch etc.
Here is my recipe and alhumdulilah evryone likes my qeema salan.
for 1/2kg qeema,take two medium onions
ginger garlic paste each 2tbs
salt,heldi powder,kuti hoi red mirch,
dhania powder 1tbs,
darchini 1inch stick,long 2,3
beri ilachi 2
white zeera 1/2tsp
tomatoes 2,yougert 2tbs
first i light brown the 1 onion slices add whole spices in it zeera,then add qeema in it and fry it until it change it colours and its water dried then add ginger ,garlic paste ,fry for 5 min then add salt,heldi ,kuti mirch little balck peppers,dhania powder and fry (bhono) it foir few min then add cubed tomatoes in it and cook it until tomatoes tender then add yougert and cook for more few min then u can add any vagetable u want to add in like poatotoes or peas or shimla mirch in it ,cook for more few min ,low the flame and cook it until the vagetables done,if needed add water in it but little, when u add vagetable in it add one of onion slices in it ,this taste good in qeema, when vageies done add green chillies and green corriander leaves to it ,sprinkle little garam masala powder.

Thankyou for all your recipes. I will definately try out these different ways.

Yep i make it similiar to aaish's recipe and it turns out good. I find that adding extra tomatoes or yogurt produces a nice flavor.

Sahar your recipe sounds good as well with the whole spices. Will have to try that one as well. Thanks for sharing.

^Yup. I think mine is pretty similar to Aaish's. Just the timing of adding the keema is a bit different. I didn't use to add the bell peppers, but my mumani did once, and it is absolutely delicious, so now I always add them.

I've never tried boiling it first, but i think having keema cook with the onions and other spices is better because it enhances its flavor. The boiling was probably the problem.

Yep, i agree with letting the raw keema cook with the onion etc. I also like adding lots of fresh ginger and zeera, esp towards the end. Keema doesnt take taht long to cook so i dont think it needs to be boiled first.

I just wanted a bit of advice please, it may sound like a daft question but when making curries, the bit when you add tomatoes to spices for masala, and you have to cook till oil separates, how long does this process take? Also would you do this on a low or high heat, i'm asking because i read somewhere that this process should take about 30 mins. I'm wondering if i don't spend enough time making the masala, ie, waiting for oil to separate, before adding main ingredient. I may try making keema this way.

pyarisami it cant tell u the exact tim but one thing always bhono the curries on medium flame not on high or low and u have to know it s done or not by taking the masla in the spoon if it s done u see that the masal is even cooking in the spoon,( spoon mai lai ker check karo that masala us main bhi puk rha ho ga)its mean kleh its done.
yes Ira extra tomatoes and yougert gives good flavour to qeema and i too add freat ginger cutted in strips at the end.