Keema Question

Stupid question I know but:

should you wash chicken keema before cooking it??

I heard you shouldnt but what about the blood etc - surely it can be healthy to cook unwashed meat?

I know Im talking cookery here and before anyone calls me Neely baji please read my signature!!!

I've always washed it.

Why shouldn't you? Was there a reason?

well i washed it too and it all separated and split! And then it was too "loose" to make burgers with so when i asked someone, she said no need to wash it!

Get the butchers to wash the chicken breasts before they mince it.

*Originally posted by Neely: *
well i washed it too and it all separated and split! And then it was too "loose" to make burgers with so when i asked someone, she said no need to wash it!

For burgers, you should not wash the keema. It will become seperated and become yellow.

i ask butcher to wash it before mincing .....n then wash it afterwards too (u know their machine is constantly in use with unwashed meat)

so after washing put it in a sieve so that all the water drains out ....

Yummy!

Made em without washing the meat this time and they were great!!

Thanks for the replies tho!

I always make them without washing

well they tasted just fine - not sure if its a health risk tho!

Shouldn't think so. Cooking kills all the bacteria anyway. So I've heard.

*Originally posted by ~tabussum~: *
Shouldn't think so. Cooking kills all the bacteria anyway. So I've heard.

as long as it doesnt kill me!

Re: Keema Question

eew why wud anyone want to mince chicken breast? Why not slice the meat into filets and spice them up, and either grill or fry em. Use the fried/grilled chicken filet in a toast sandwich with a bit of sauce of ur own choice and sum salad. Makes a fantastic chicken sandwich ;)

^^ choice apni apni, style apna apna :p

We always lightly rinse the meat so that it doesn't fall apart.

The key is to drain the meat well after rinsing and before cooking so it will stick together for kababs/burgers etc. This goes for other types of meat/cut as well btw. Even chicken should be drained well after washing so it wont seperate from teh bones too much while cooking and end up looking like chicken ka halwa.

^ was going to write the same thing as Ira

Danish Born desi,

U suddenly went 1.5 years back ? :)

Thats what abu ji do :smiley:

Butchers hate my abu ji :smiley: abu ji would take his stuff and wash everything on his own. Plus make them wash their machine when he is buying keema, gosht etc…

It takes abu ji good 3 hrs easily :D. lol

But mashallah gosht, keema everything is so clean etc.. yeap abu ji is a clean freak in cooking :smiley:

I don't wash keema because it separates. There's no risk if you cook it well. Bacteria is killed at high cooking temperatures.