recipe chahiyeah aur kya…!!!
Re: kashmiri Chai...
I think it's like normal tea but with a pinch of bicarbonate of soda added.....that's what makes it pink.
yeah just add baking soda
nope its not. Its made quite differently. Feminazi, I will post the recipe later. I have to check my cookbook ...(ammi's instruction for his son before he left Pak).
You basically have to make it using green tea leaves warna recipe is same as normal tea. And you have to cook it for a long time after adding the milk to the tea in the tea pot aur chai ko "uchaalna" paRta hae, means take a lil doi/cooking spoon and kind of lift the chai in the air and then drop it back and then lift again, drop again and so on. Cook & Uchaal for a long time to get that right pink color, otherwise it will be brown not pink.
If you want to get the pink color quikly without uchaaling u can pur baking soda aik chutki.
Also, you can sprinkle finely shredded badaam and pista on the top if you want after u've poured it out in a cup.
Some people put honey instead of sugar in it in the end when its cooked.
Re: kashmiri Chai…
looks like the son hasnt been doing much cooking…![]()
Allah tumhara bhala karay larki.. alrite i’m gonna try it out.. will do a bit of uchaling, phir baking soda dal kar jaldii say muk mukka kar loun gi…
btw wats with ur signature, sabzi mandi kab say khool li…
u r welcome :D
aur bas yaar dekh lo sabzi mandli khol li hae :D
btw, the green tea which u get for kashmiri chai....i think its a specifc type of green tea (not sure but i think u cant just use the normal green tea for it...but maybe u can...not sure)... i got this Tapal green tea which says Green/Kashmiri tea or something like that on the packet...but basically it specifies on the packet that u can use it to make Kashmiri chai
Irem, that uchalna part is the most fun. We used those big soup ladles. Hehe.
i tired it out with the the normal green tea. N it turned out to b so :yukh: , i secretly drained it into the sink, without anyones knowledge.
How does the kashmiri tea leaves look like, i mean the green tea has these really small curled leaves, which when u pour into hot water, unwrap into proper leaves…
and please mujhay miqdaar say bhi agah ki jiyah ga… shukriyah
I would love to know how to make Kashmiri Pink chai in USA... I have green tea leaves. Where can I buy Kashmiri tea leaves?
I was looking for the recipe myself and this is what I found but dunno if they're good. Apparently the traditional kashmiri chai has salt in it...
Kahvi (Kashmiri Green Tea Chai)- 4 cups
Ingredients
5 ½ cups water
5 teaspoons sugar or to taste
½ teaspoon cinnamon powder
½ teaspoon green cardamom powder (5 green cardamon, bruised)
pinch saffron (6 strands)
2 teaspoons kahva (green) tea or Lipton Green Label tea
1-2 tablespoons almonds, powdered
Method
Boil the water with sugar, cinnamon and the green cardamom powder for 5-10 minutes till the color of the water is brown and the water emits a good fragrance.
Add the tea leaves, remove from flame, cover with lid and let stand for 3-5 minutes till the tea brews.
Pour into warmed cups and add ¼ teaspoon powdered almonds in each cup.
Serve immediately.
Kashmiri Chai (from a Pakistani website)
1 tsp. Loose Tea (Lipton, Red Label, Tappal, or any of your preference.)
4 Cardamom Pods (Choti Ilaichi) (bruised)
1 small Cinnamon Stick (Dal Cheeni) (broken upin half)
A pinch of Saffron Threads (Zaffron) (this gives the tea the pink color.)
4 cups Water
2 tbsp. Almonds (Baadaam) (finely powdered)
Honey (Shehed) (to taste)
1) Combine all of ingredients above except the honey and almonds in a saucepan. Bring to a boil on a medium flame. Reduce heat to a simmer and let it simmer for 5 minutes.
2) Add a teaspoon of almonds in the bottom of each cup for serving and pour the hot tea over. Sweeten with honey to taste before serving.
I think i have seen it on Devon somewhere but cant remember where! Ask King sweet waloon ko, they serve it although thiers isnt that great.
the best kasmiri tea I had was whilst shopping in Karegar in islamabad.. :k:
but also in Lahore… had to order 2-3 cups.. in the winter it was amazing. :k: