KARBALA

**HIGHLIGHTS OF KARBALA:

1st Moharram

The events of Karbala reflect the collision of the good versus the evil, the virtuous versus the wicked, the collision of Imam Husain (the head of virtue) versus Yazid (the head of impiety). Al-Husain was a revolutionary person, a righteous man, the religious authority, the Imam of Muslim Ummah. As the representative of his grandfather Prophet Muhammad (pbuh), Imam Husain’s main concern was to safeguard and protect Islam and guide fellow Muslims. On the other hand, the staying power of the rulers (Mu’awiya and his son Yazid) depended solely on the might of the sword. They used brute force to rule over the Muslim empire even by all possible illicit means.

Imam Husain as head of Ahlul Bayt (a.s.) never recognized Mu’awiya nor his followers. Before him Imam Ali (a.s.) had fought battles against Mu’awiya because Mu’awiya continuously violated the Islamic principles. Imam Al-Hasan (a.s.) had to swallow the bitter pill of making a peace agreement with Mu’awiya, in order to safeguard the security of the Ummah which was at stake. When Yazid son of Mu’awiya declared himself as a ruler over the Ummah, he demanded Imam Al-Husain’s (a.s.) allegiance of loyalty. Imam Husain on his part flatly rejected Yazid’s rule and behavior, for there was no way Yazid could represent Islam, it would be blasphemy. But Yazid, the tyrant ruler over the Ummah, was adamant in his demand, and tension between the two parties increased day by day.

Imam Husain was quick to realize that giving allegiance of loyalty to Yazid would serve no purpose but to jeopardize the survival of Islam. To safeguard and protect Islam, therefore, the Imam had no choice but to confront and collide with Yazid’s rulership irrespective of consequences. Since Yazid had ordered his commanders to seize the Imam’s allegiance of loyalty at any cost, even by brutal force, the commanders had to assemble a relatively large army, surrounding Imam Husain’s camp in a desert called Karbala. Then they cut off the basic necessities to the camp, including access to water. The camp consisted of Imam Husain, his family, friends, and companions, all of whom stood fast and firmly with him. These braves would rather face death for the noble cause of Islam, than submit to the outrageous tyranny and the un-Islamic ways of Yazid.

Thus, Karbala proved to be a clash involving Islamic truths versus falsehood, right versus wrong, belief versus disbelief, the oppressed versus the oppressor, faith against brute force. Karbala was about standing in the face of oppression, regardless no matter the cost.** Thus, in Karbala, Al-Husain the 57 year old grandson of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh), sacrificed his totality and all he had, for one goal. This goal was to let the truth triumph over falsehood eventually, and he did that brilliantly. His goal was to foil the plan that Mu’awiya had expertly developed for his son, Yazid, which was to establish a permanent Benu Umayya rulership over the Muslim Ummah (even by sacrificing the Islamic principles), but doing it in the name of Islam. Brilliantly, Imam Husain succeeded in foiling this plan and he exposed the disreputable nature of Benu Umayya though this was at the expense of his life.

ON THE WAY TO KARBALA:

During the early phase of the journey the caravan met Al-Farazdaq (a famous poet) at a place called al-Sifah. Al-Farazdaq advised the Imam not to go to Kufa because though people’s hearts were with him (Imam), their swords would be against him. But the Imam continued with the journey, and he received the first letter from his emissary Muslim Ibn Aqeel with good news. The letter indicated that the people were more than ready to welcome the Imam in Kufa and were looking forward to his leadership. Imam Husain decided to send another emissary to Kufa with a message. The caravan kept proceeding toward Kufa. Many days passed but the Imam did not receive any more responses from Muslim Ibn Aqeel.

In Kufa Muslim Bin Aqeel with the help of Mukhtar Al-Thaqafi and Hani Ibn Urwah continued to hold secret meetings with the supporters of the Imam. Within a short time the gatherings started to gain momentum. Yazid through his spies and informants learned about Muslim’s successes in Kufa. He appointed the tyrant Ubaidullah Ibn Ziyad to replace al-Nu’man Ibn al-Basheer as Governor of Kufa.

Meanwhile, as Al-Husain’s caravan got closer to its destination (Kufa), coming to a place called Zubalah, Imam Husain unexpectedly received shocking news. The shocking news was about Muslim Ibn Aqeel and the person who provided him shelter, Hani’s Ibn Urwah, both of whom were arrested and beheaded by the Governor Ibn Ziyad. Mukhtar was also arrested and imprisoned and tortured by Ibn Ziyad.

Imam Husain gathered his companions and disclosed to them about the bad news, and said, “Our Shi’a have deserted us, those of you who prefer to leave us may do so freely and without guilt.” Becoming scared, some companions left the caravan. Imam Husain continued with the journey along with close companions and family members until he was face to face with 1,000 horsemen led by Hur al-Riyahi representing the enemy.

When the contingent of the Yazidian forces under ‘Hur’ reached the caravan of the Holy Imam, both the men and the animals were dying of thirst-Having exhausted the store of water they had, the whole regiment was practically trapped in the burning desert with the heat from all sides roasting their bodies. The whole army was about to perish. They could not get any trace of water anywhere for miles together. Hur and his men, instead of capturing Husain or attacking the Caravan, shouted aloud in appealing voices ‘Thirst! thirst!’ water, and begged the Holy Imam to quench their thirst first. The Holy Imam at once ordered the whole of the stored water to be placed at the disposal of the enemy army under Hur. Hur, his soldiers and all the animals of the army were fully served and rescued from the jaws of death.

The enemy army blocked the camps of Imam Husain (a.s.) from advancing. Tension started to rise between the two. The Imam addressed the enemy explaining to them his motives for going to Kufa, that it was in response to the invitation of the people. He even showed them a bagful of letters he received from Kufa. Hur said that he and his men were not the writers of those letters. Imam told them that if they did not like him to advance with the journey, he was prepared to return to Hijaz. Hur replied, “We are commissioned to follow you until we take you to Governor Ibn Ziyad, and suggested to the Imam to go towards a station which is neither Kufa nor Medina.” Imam Husain found the proposal fair and turned the caravan away from Kufa. Hur and his army marched parallel to the Imam. The two sides reached a village called Nainawa where Ibn Ziyad’s messenger (Yazid’s governor over Kufa) delivered a message to Hur. The message read, " …force Husain to a halt. But let him stop in an open space, without vegetation or water." Hur conveyed the contents of the letter to Imam Husain. The Imam, his family and companions defiantly resumed their journey and reached a place where another enemy force blocked their move and forced them to stop. When Imam Husain learned that the place was called Karbala, he felt he reached the destination and ordered his camp to be setup. That day was 2nd of Muharram, Hijri 61.

THE PROPHESIED DESERT OF KARBALA:

2nd Muharram

At a place near the Euphrates, the Holy Imam's steed suddenly stopped and inspite of the unusual spurrings, the animal did not move; but raised its head towards heaven, as if to say that it was helpless and could not step forward any more. Husain changed six horses one after another but none of the animals moved from the spot. Gathering the people in the neighbourhood, the Holy Imam enquired the name of the place. Some said 'Maria' some said 'Nainawa' and some said 'Shattul-Furat' but the Holy Imam was not satisfied and continued his enquiry asking if there was any other name for the place. An old man stepped forward and said "O' Son of the Apostle of God! I have heard from my ancestors this plain being called also as 'Karbala'." The moment the Holy Imam heard the name of Karbala, he smiled and thanked God and said:-

"Surely this is the plain I was in quest of. This is the place where my holy Grandfather had prophesied that I, with all my faithful companions, will lay slain after suffering three day's hunger and thirst. Here will the Garden of Fatema be cut and destroyed. I can not and I will not move an inch from this place- I have reached the destined destination."

Saying this, the Holy Imam ordered the Caravan to be stopped and declared that the journey had ended as he had arrived at the desired destination. Tents were ordered to be pitched but Hazrat Zainab, Husain's sister, hearing of the Imam's decision to camp there, wept and sent for Husain and requested him saying:-

"Brother dear! Do not camp here! Some how my heart is restless and does not consent. Brother dear! since our arrival on this plain, I distinctly hear the lamenting voice of our dear mother, wailing somewhere nearby in this desert."

Husain, hearing his mother's name, shed tears and said:-

"Zainab! We need not fear when God is with us. It is immaterial, Sister, where we camp. This is the place, Sister dear, I was in quest of, and thanks to God I am at it, and now Sister dear, I cannot move from here."

HUSAIN PURCHASES THE SITE FOR THE GRAVES OF THE MARTYRS:
The Holy Imam gathered the people of the surrounding places, the owners of the plain of Karbala, and purchasing the land from them gifted the same to the people. Addressing the males among them he said:-

"On the Tenth day of this month ye shall see us lying here slain, our bodies lying on the plain with our heads severed and taken away. I request you to kindly bury us, and when our devotees come to visit our graves, hold them in honour as your guests and point out to them the places of our burial."

He then addressed the ladies:-

"O' Virtuous ladies! If your husbands, fearing the wrath of Yazid do not bury us, you kindly encourage them to do it or do it yourselves."

The Holy Imam then turned to the young children in the gathering and addressing them said:-

"O' Innocent ones! If your parents, out of fear of the wrath of the Ruler, do not bury us, you may, by way of playing bring some mud in your laps and throw it upon our bodies and hide them."

The appeal was so touching that the whole gathering wept.

THE AIMS AND OBJECTIVES OF IMAM HUSAIN'S STAND

What was the course of Imam Husain's (a.s) revolution? What reasons prompted him to initiate such a great and unmatched upspring? **

Did he intended to overthrow the Yazid regime? Did he wish to end the Umayyid dynasty? These and such other questions keep cropping in the mind and everyone wants to know the satisfactory replies, specially the mourner of Imam Husain (a.s) are more eager in this regard.

When Imam Husain (a.s) was preparing to leave on.his longest journey, he bid adieu to the grave of his grandfather, the Holy Prophet (S.A.W). Then he wrote a legacy addressing his brother Mohammed Bin Hanfiyya in which he explained the aims and objectives of his uprising. We are quoting an extract from the same legacy hereunder. He wrote thus:
" And surely the aim of my stand is not inspired by vain exultation and it is also not for the quest of kingdom, Neither it is to cause dissession and corruption nor it is to wrong anybody unjustly."
These sentences of Imam Husain (a.s) are sufficent enough to beat all the criticisms and accuasation levelled against him by the enemies of Islam and the enemies of Imam Husain (a.s).) Now the question arises if these were not the motives of Imam's uprising than why did he took stand? What were the aims of his uprising? Thus continued Imam Husain (a.s)
" The purpose of my stand is the reformation of my grandfather's nation. I intend to enjoin goodness and forbid evil. I want to emulate my grandfather, the Holy Prophet (s.a.w)andmy father Alt Bin Abu Talib (Peace be upon him). Whosoever accepts me by accepting the truth, then Allah is higher than the truth. And whosoever rejects me then I willbearpatiently until Allah adjudges between me and them and He is the best Judge."

In this legacy the chief of martyrs has explained three purposes for his stand:-

1) The reformation of his grandfather's nation.
2) Enjoining Good and Forbidding Evil.
3) Renewal and Revival of the tradition of the Holy Prophet (s.a.w) and Hazarat Ali (a.s).

These purposes are not different than each other rather these are complementary to each other because, nation can be reformed only by means of bidding good and forbidding evil. The tradition and path of the Holy Prophet and Hazarat Ah is goodness and anything other than that is evil. Some facts are stated by Hazrat Imam Husain (a.s) in his other sermons and letters but in other words. When he reached Mecca he wrote a letter to the people of Basra thus;
"I invite you towards the Book of Allah and the Sunnat of the Holy Prophet (s.a.w) because indeed sunnat has been mutilated and hereby is revived. Whoever will accept my words, then I will guide him towards the straight path". (Tarikhe-Tabari vol.7, pg.240)
In another letter to the people of Kufa he wrote thus :
"By God, Imam is the one who acts on the commands of the Book, deals with Justice, followed the truth and reserves his self for the pleasure of Allah."
These words of Imam imply that only he can be an Imam who possesses these characteristics and the one who does not possess them cannotbe an Imam. Hence Yazid Bin Muawiyah has had no right to the caliphate. When he reached at 'Baiza', a place near Karbala and was beseiged by the contigent of Hur, then he addressed his men and the army of Hur in these words:
"The one who sees a tyrant King who is making unlawful as lawful, violating the pledge (of God), opposing the Sunnat of the Holy Prophet ruling on the servant of Allah with sins and oppression. And by his words and actions does not oppose the King and does not strive to reform the circumstances, then it behove Allah to hurl him into Hell alongwith the King."
Then he continued about the Yazidi regime thus,
"They have shun the obedience of Allah and acted following shaitan. They are instigating commotion and dismissing the divine laws. They are expending from the public exchequer for their selfish end and are changing the prohibited things to permissible thing."
In the first sermon at Karbala he spoke thus:
"Can't you see that the truth is not followed and the falsehood is not shunned.? In such circumstances a believer should desire to meet Allah. Surely I regard death as nothing but an honour and life with Oppressors as anything but disgrace." Tarike-Tabari, vol.-7pg.300)
Nevertheless the unique and unparalleled revolution of Imam Husain (a.s) which began in Rajab 60 A.H. and apparently ended with the glorious martyrdom of Imam Husain (a.s), his kith, kin and companions. The pupose of this revolution was to revive and rejuvenate Islam, (which was distorted and Yazidi regime wanted to annihilate it and also to reform the nation of the Holy Prophet (s.a.w). Some of the Sunni Traditionalists have added a phrase of 'and on the path of Khulafa Rashedeen'. It is an addition made in the reign of Umayyid dynasty because the term 'Khulafa-Rashedeen' was coined by the Historians and Scholastic Theologions of that time because this term was not in use at the time of Imam Husain (a.s.).

Secondly H. Ali (a.s.) himself was included among Khulafa-Rashedeen and hence it seems utterly ridiculous that I will follow H. Ali(a.s.) and Khulafa Rashedeen,

Thirdly Imam Husain (a.s.) was critical about the behavioural pattern of the caliphs, then how he could have desired to follow their paths ?

Impact of Karbala in Our lives!

Karbala proved to be a clash involving Islamic truths versus falsehood, right versus wrong, belief versus disbelief, the oppressed versus the oppressor, faith against brute force. Karbala was about standing in the face of oppression, regardless no matter the cost.

interesting thing to note is that the exact same thing can be said about the prophet Muhammed (pbuh)

Originally posted by nomaan:
interesting thing to note is that the exact same thing can be said about the prophet Muhammed (pbuh)

Brother you have just shown to me that Hazrat Imam Hussain and Prophet Mohammad had the same mission. Hazrat Imam Hussain's mission was a continuation of Prophet Mohammad's.

Thank You for agreeing with us.

Shah-e-Mardan Sher-e-Yazdan,
Quwwat-e-Parwardigar,
Lafatah illa ALI,
La Saif ila Zulfiqar
========================

continuation of Prophet Mohammad’s

well, correct me if i’m wrong, but the prophet (pbuh) finished his mission.

while we’re at it, i can say that talibans will agree that its their mission too.

do you agree with that?

Lashkhar bhai : The word "followed" needed to be used instead of "continuing". Imam Hussein (RA) was only following/practising what our Holy Prophet(SAW) had already established, i.e., completed

Re: KARBALA

bump

Lashkar e Abbas,

Behns ke aagay been na bajao.. yeh log aqal ke andhay hai ....

^^ very true :k:

Nancy love ur signature. in last nights majlis, some girls read that in a noha :k:

Thanks for bumping up the threads irem.