As luck would have it, I may be going to Karachi for a few days within the next few weeks. I have never been to Karachi and the last time I went to Pakistan was about 15 years ago…so I am kind of excited.
I don’t suppose I will get any time for sight seeing or socialising. If I do get a couple of hours to myself…are there any exciting places in karachi that I must see!?
True Lahore is a cool place but I am going to Karachi and Baluchistan for a couple of days each...I don't think there is anything exciting in Baluchistan but Karachi must have a few attractions.
omg yes you should be very excited! I do would do practically anything to be in Karachi right now (although, taking into consideration how hot it is right now, I think I might have second thoughts :P).
Anyways, well pretty much my favorite place in the world is in karachi. It's this beach in Clifton, Karachi. I don't know if it has a specific name, but I'm sure people will know what you're talking about if you mention it. I went there late at night on Saturday so there was a lot of people but I recommend you atleast go at night because they have these huge flood lights that shine on the samandar and it looks soooooo gorgeous mashaAllah. :) They also have camels and horses there that you can take a little ride on down the beach for a small fee...and they have a eat-out restaurant nearby as well.
I miss it so much. :(
I'll post the pictures I took in Karachi in images2 sometime soon.
As luck would have it, I may be going to Karachi for a few days within the next few weeks. I have never been to Karachi and the last time I went to Pakistan was about 15 years ago...so I am kind of excited.
I don't suppose I will get any time for sight seeing or socialising. If I do get a couple of hours to myself...are there any exciting places in karachi that I must see!?
Karachi Karachi hai aur karachi ki kiya baat hai. Arshad there are lots of places in Karachi which are worth watching.
Quaid' mausoleum,
Sea View, Hawks bay, Sands pit etc (beaches)
Aladin Park, Safari Park, Hill Park (from where you can view 70% of Karachi)
Museum
Defence Mosque (Tooba Masjid) which is biggest dome mosque in the world
Saddar Bazar
Kemari (port of karachi) from there you can go in Boat to Manora Beach.
etc etc etc
def go pay your respects at the mazar of quaid e azam, also his house in old city area.
chowkundi tombs is something that even most karachites have no idea about. even though its like 20 miles out of city limits.
makli tombs- make a weekend trip to see makli tombs and thatta- or comine makli, chowkundi and thatta over one weekend.
rent a boast and go see mangroves
mohatta palace,
frere hall- with its saqlain painted ceiling
clifton gardens
independence monument
3 talwaar
tooba masjid-largest single domed mosque in teh world from what I have heard
clifton oyster rocks
Bundal Island
bhit shah
empress market- see the gothic bldg with the very desi surroundings :)
def go for an eve trip on teh ocean, for crabbing, boat sails with live music, crab are cooked right there on teh boat, u eat and relax and come back
u can go wind surfing or sailing there as well but u have to know ppl.