Karachi violence (MERGED)

Where is the Govt?

Honestly, the Rangers are a joke against these monkeyboys...Lobbing teargas and "trying" to break up rioters is not the solution.

Too bad President Musharraf is nice guy, trying to take the discreet approach. Martial law should be declared within the city so the V Corps can sweep in.

The vast majority of Karachiites are peaceful people, but these groups of thugs must be dealt with severely.

http://www.dawn.com/2004/06/01/top1.htm

**18 die in blast at Karachi Imambargah: Two killed in shooting at blood bank **

By Our Staff Reporter

KARACHI, May 31: At least 18 worshippers were killed and over 35 injured on Monday in what police said was an apparent suicide bombing at an Imambargah off M.A. Jinnah Road near Numaish intersection.

A couple of hours later, some unidentified people fired indiscriminately on blood donors, standing at the Hussaini Blood Bank in Soldier Bazaar killing two people. Witnesses, however, claimed that Rangers had opened fire at the group of people who had gathered there to donate blood. There was no official word from Rangers on the incident.

The incidents triggered violence across the city in which several vehicles were torched and property damaged. Police used teargas shells and fired in the air to bring the situation under control. The violence continued till late night.

Police said the Imambargah Ali Raza blast appeared to be a case of suicide bombing as human limbs were found at the site of the blast. DIG Investigation Fayyaz Leghari said: “Although it has not yet been established, it could be a suicide bombing as the manner in which the explosion took place was similar to that of the Hyderi mosque blast of May 7.”

He said that investigators were not able to examine Imambargah Ali Raza because a law and order situation developed at and around the place soon after the blast. A visit to the spot showed that the blast had ripped through the Imambargah structure leaving many dead and injured.

The intensity of the blast was so severe that the tomb of the mosque developed cracks. The wall on one side of the Imambargah collapsed. The interior of the Imambargah was littered with blood and pieces of flesh. Wooden fixtures were destroyed and blades of fans were moulded.

A large number of people were trapped under the debris. After the blast, people gathered at the Imambargah to remove the bodies and rescue the injured. Soon after the explosion, electric supply to the area was switched off by the KESC and the entire area plunged into darkness. Rescue workers faced severe hardships in locating the injured and the dead.

Later, fire-tenders reached the place with floodlights which accelerated the rescue work. The dead and injured were taken to the Civil Hospital, Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Centre and Liaquat National Hospital.

When a bomb disposal squad reached the place it was fired upon by angry people who forced the personnel to leave their van. Later, the vehicle was set on fire. Violence soon spread to other parts of the city.

Civil Hospital sources said that five bodies were brought to the hospital. A sixth body brought to the hospital was in pieces, they added. JPMC sources said that four bodies were lying at the hospital while officials at the LNH reported receiving six bodies.

The bodies were later taken away by relatives. The identity of the dead could not be ascertained till late night. Doctors were of the opinion that most of the injured suffered 30 to 50 per cent burn injuries.

In the suicide bombing at the Hyderi mosque on May 7, on the premises of the Sindh Madressatul Islam, 14 people died and 96 others were injured. The death toll later rose to 23. City Nazim Naimatullah Khan termed the explosion a conspiracy to destabilise the peace in the city and the country.

5 policemen have been killed in the city today :/

The condition in the city is quite bad. All offices have been closed and employees are going back home.

They've put the janazay those who die yesterday on streets. The janaza processions will be taking place later in the day and things are expected to get worse.

May Allah have mercy.

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *
It is time for shias to ask for help from friendly countries like India, Iran, and the US.

yea go on ask them! when did india and US friendly to shias??

instead of understanding the problem, no one wants that, not sunnis not shias, there are some people who want this and they are quite successfull unfortunately.

^^
Except Pakistan , Indian relations with all Muslims countries are more or less friendly . Infact , some Muslim countries are more friendly to India than Pakistan .

Law and Order

I think the law order situation may lead to change
in government. I mean imposition of military rule.

ppl...please act sane here and dont get carried away into personal diputes. And, above all, PLEASE DO NOT bring Shia, Sunni into this. this is NOT a shia sunni war. Irem was right, it IS the enemies of Islam and the enemies of Pakistan who cannot watch peace and prosperity. who says the enemies have to be RAW, Mossad etc. (and btw dont they have the most reason to be the enemy?) it could very well be the CIA, FBI and our very own brethren who sell their selves for money or are brain washed by certain foolish extremists who imagine their selves to be fighting a holy war against their own ppl...these ppl wnat the worst for Pak. if they want the end of Musharraf, lets just think like reasonable ppl, are we in a position to let them get what they want? if we create unrest and fight among each other theres going to be civil war and certainly thats going to be tough for the govt. we CAN NOT lose GEN MUSH right now. again, theres no way this could be a shia sunni dispute, there has been harmony among both sects for a long time, why all of sudden would they rise up against each other and start killing...? its some external force trying to create civil unruliness and disputes among the ppl of karachi and pakistan as a whole. use your brains and dont act like the ppl who instead of letting the police and medics into the mosque yesterday kept the personnel away, fired at them , burned tires, vehicles, threw stones and burnt gas stations. God! is that insane! these are the ppl who lack the ability to think reasonably. they are giving the enemy exactly what he wants.
we have to conatin ourselves and be reasonable. Yes its painful and its horrible. there is Extreme Danger on th streets. we are NOT safe. but we have to be one and maintain UNITY, FAITH, DISCIPLINE.

and at last i think the only way this could be controolled by the govt is for Gen Mush to put Karachi directly under Lt. Gen. Ahsan Saleem Hayat Corp Commander V Corps. there should be Curfew installed. No rangers, no police, just the regular Army. a few months that way will bring a lot back to normal. otherwise it will only get worse...
yesterday afew analysts on Tv said there were a few option like changing the CM or Governor. That would be insanity right now, and will definitely lead to politcial violence. we dont need that cherry topping right now.

HARRIS this is me irem :smiley: :wave: one of my other nix :smiley:

khayr,

the situation is so bad :frowning: mush kee speech bhee anay wali hae TV pe lets c what he says

i agree with u … curfew naafiz kar dena chahiyay…

do ppl know that one of the guys who was shot coz he was standing there to give blood to the injured shias was a sunni.

they can do anything they want to us but Muslims love each other and they cannot divide us.

thats what ppl r saying but i hope not... :/
not b/c i'm in favor of the current rulers, imho all are equally bad, but the thing is that if the govt does change then whatever developmental projects r underway will be hampered and all the resources that have been invested towards them till now will go to waste

*Originally posted by irem: *

please dont say things like this :(

this is NOT a shia sunni issue

these r external forces trying to destroy the peace among us

may the killers be apprehended inshallah

Irem Ji aka ~NiQ@Bi~,

I Have found you to be a very reasonable individual on this forum, I love the way you bring up issues about work and life and social issues and your commendable threads.

Having said that I am Perplexed, at your attitude about Pakistans Internal problems, Why do you think that an external force is at work trying to disrupt Pakistans Stability.

I am not even saying that you mean India, Just External Forces, how did you reach that justification, do you even have any inkling about India and Pakistan secret services efforts to thwart any intrusions from the other country.

I dont even want go into sectarian issues.

just give it some thought.

regards,

Aejaz

Re: Law and Order

:konfused:

Is Pakistan not being Run by a Army General???

What do you call it if not a Proxy Military Rule???

Am I missing something here???

Guess who was supposed to come for the inauguration ceremony of changing Dow Medical College to Dow University of Health and Sciences today? (MA Jinnah Road, about a mile off the blast)

Yep, Dr. Ishrat ul Ibad.

Anyways, 14 of the 20 declared dead had their final proceedings from MA Jinnah Rd to a nearby graveyard.

The local situation is tense, with rangers on alert along with the police. Examinations also cancelled for the next few days.

Some new findings in mufti sahib case …

Khilarri ..plz be seriuos…u shud be ashamed on what u said about mufti sahib…

i knew mufti sahib for some time now…he was very moderate yet outright in his fatwas …

plz prove if u knew some thing abut mufti sahib…

Responsibility for Law & Order

I want to know when the law & order situation degrades like it did in Karachi, who in the government is responsible? Is it the mayor? Or the police chief? If the rangers are doing most of the work, what’s their command structure? Being the main big city of the country, does the responsibility lies on interior minister?

In other words, who is accountable to the public to prove to them that they did everything they can to stop something like this from happening .... or admit there were some security flaws.

*Originally posted by Aejaz: *

Irem Ji aka ~NiQ@Bi~,

I Have found you to be a very reasonable individual on this forum, I love the way you bring up issues about work and life and social issues and your commendable threads.

Having said that I am Perplexed, at your attitude about Pakistans Internal problems, Why do you think that an external force is at work trying to disrupt Pakistans Stability.

I am not even saying that you mean India, Just External Forces, how did you reach that justification, do you even have any inkling about India and Pakistan secret services efforts to thwart any intrusions from the other country.

I dont even want go into sectarian issues.

just give it some thought.

regards,

Aejaz

Salams Aejaz :-)

Thank you very much for your kind words, I'm honored...Mehrbani...

:-)

Hmmm, I might be wrong, but I truly do feel that external forces are behind this, with the assistance of some internal forces ofcourse. This is because I've seen more moderation than extremism among Pakistanis in general, and I've interacted with Pakistanis from many different backgrounds and I've never seen this kind of hate among them present naturally. People can be indoctrinated and brainwashed though, and I feel that is what has happenned with a small minority that has become extremist. There are foreign forces which have a lot to gain by destabilising Pakistan and causing disunity among Muslims.

What are your thoughts on the issue? :)

regards,
- irem

*Originally posted by ~NiQ@Bi~: *

Salams Aejaz :-)

Thank you very much for your kind words, I'm honored...Mehrbani...

:-)

Hmmm, I might be wrong, but I truly do feel that external forces are behind this, with the assistance of some internal forces ofcourse. This is because I've seen more moderation than extremism among Pakistanis in general, and I've interacted with Pakistanis from many different backgrounds and I've never seen this kind of hate among them present naturally. People can be indoctrinated and brainwashed though, and I feel that is what has happenned with a small minority that has become extremist. There are foreign forces which have a lot to gain by destabilising Pakistan and causing disunity among Muslims.

What are your thoughts on the issue? :)

regards,
- irem

Irem Ji,

Hmmm, I might be wrong, but I truly do feel that external forces are behind this, with the assistance of some internal forces ofcourse.

Can we please leave our feelings aside, my question still remains, can you justify your statement.

People can be indoctrinated and brainwashed though, and I feel that is what has happenned with a small minority that has become extremist.

Again you feel that a small minority has been indoctorinated, can you please elaborate, how and why and when and where, there would be some small or even miniscule evidence of that.

There are foreign forces which have a lot to gain by destabilising Pakistan and causing disunity among Muslims.

Again I wont even bring India, or sectarian issues in the discussion, so my question is who are you pointing at????

My thoughts!! Hmm well its noble to be patriotic, and stand up for your country, but its not going to help your nation to be a blind patriotic, maybe calling a spade a spade would help, to solve a problem you have to acknowledge you have a problem.

regards,

Aejaz

^ It's called reverse psychology, pick your own PM and Provincial cabinets(filled with the worst of the worst), deprive them of any real power and when things blow up blame the politcians.

Karachi is another time bomb for Musharraf...

Inna lillahe wa inna ilaihe rajioon

IMO The only external force behind this is the saudi influence.

What mush have planned now? I thought there was tightened security around the shia mosques after the death of the sunni alim. Guess it wasnt tightenough eh.