…last week.
And today it closed at 5103.08
Just 2 years ago it was in the 2000-point region.
Wow, Wow, Wow! ![]()
…last week.
And today it closed at 5103.08
Just 2 years ago it was in the 2000-point region.
Wow, Wow, Wow! ![]()
Umer bhai.. ghareeb aadmi stock index toa naheen kha sakta naa? iss main awam ka kya fayda hooa yeh bhee bataiN?
gareeb aadmi pakoray khae.
Umer: Yes indeed. throw in a bit more wow’s from my side too ![]()
*scrip-savvy khanzada
(copyright AJ)
^ Khanzada makes a killing on the stock market and blows it all on betting it on Pak's win in ODI series.
Hota hai, Hota hai, Aisa bhi hota hai.
Anyone investing money in Karachi stock exchange while being abroad?
Do they have the concept of online investment broker yet?
I believe they are launching a mutual fund for overseas pakistanis keep an eye out on the Overseas Pakistani foundation web site.
Dont invest in the stock market just yet. Though growing it is still extremely limited in scope and infantile at best. There are too few public companies and too many that are run by families that dont give shareholders a fair take.
Although KSE has crossed the barrier of 5000 (now even 5,300) but creeping up badla rates might hamper the upward journey of Index. As demand for funds to finance the leveraged positions of investors multiplying with the soaring share prices, liquidity from market is drying out and causing badla rates to increase. Index might shed 250-400 points any time on the back of high badla rates and lack of any new development on macro economic front to keep the investors glued to stock market.
Indeed one can invest online in Pak stocks as a number of brokerage houses are offering online accounts. e.g.
Although KSE has crossed the barrier of 5000 (now even 5,300) but creeping up badla rates might hamper the upward journey of Index. As demand for funds to finance the leveraged positions of investors multiplying with the soaring share prices, liquidity from market is drying out and causing badla rates to increase. Index might shed 250-400 points any time on the back of high badla rates and lack of any new development on macro economic front to keep the investors glued to stock market.
Indeed one can invest online in Pak stocks as a number of brokerage houses are offering online accounts. e.g.
Can someone explian how they calculate the volume of a stock market?
I mean does 5000 mean number of shares or what?
sameer: you have a couple of meritorious points in there :k: and i agree.
legbbreak bhai: interesting question. 5000 is a number which simply is reflective of the volume of ‘trade’ that has taken place. Off the top of my head, what i can tell you is that ok..as of today, the index is 5621 points and the market capitalization is Rs. 40 billion. This means that one point today is equal to approx. US$ 122,667 and this keeps on changing.
What it simply means is :
market capitalization (number of stocks traded x their share price) / KSE-100 index
Hope it helps ![]()
This is response to the question of "legbrekgoogly"
Dear fellow KSE-100 index is comprised of 100 companies selected out of ~692 companies listed at KSE to represent the all companies. They are selected on basis of liquidity, volume generated, market capitalisation, financial stregnth basis. At least one company is taken from each sector/industry in order to have its representation in the Index.
Now I come to your question. KSE-100 index is representing Market Capitaliation (MC) (what a company is worth in the market) of 100 companies and is calculated as follows:
Total No. of shares outstanding* Market Price= Market Capitaliation
We add MC of all the 100 companies to get the total MC i.e MC of KSE-100.
Now what actually it means when we say market is at 5,600 points or so?? On Nov 1, 1991 when KSE-100 Index came into being total MC of those companies that were taken into new Index was set equal to 1000 points Index. Hence an Index of 5,600 means that MC/Share prices has increasd 5.6 times as that was on Nov 30, 1994.
Each company has a weight in the Index different from thers due to the different floats. e.g newly entered into the Index OGDCL has such a big weightage that a Rs 1 change in its price may effect the Index by ~21 points other thing remaining the same.
Do you have any further queries please feel free to contact me anytime.
Khanzada Bhai thanks for your complements.
Answer to your first question regarding the volume is that it simply means No. of shares traded.
e.g when we say volume of PTCL was 20,000,000 shares, means a total of 20 million shares were traded today. Volume traded is nothing to do with the Index formation.
I hope you'll be clear on this now. Always there. Sameer