Karachi - Pul Ke Us Paar

fraudia
your arguments are fine but you have to see that what ~NiQ@Bi~ wrote was a cross section of the actual picture. sure there are millionaires living in laloo khet too and there maybe very ordinary or poor people across the bridge, but the whole idea of the article was to present a general overview of the picture in our society.

you are right about the divide among the people being the real problem, its alomst getting like how the french queen, (was it josephine?), who during the french revolution told the people to eat cake if they had no bread. the rich people in our country have no idea what its like to be poor or ordinary. like i said earlier in my previous post, the rich live a life from a luxury car to a luxurious building to another big car and to another big bldg. never knowing how life out in the open on the streets is. they dont inhale the smoke on the roads cause their cars are airconditioned and the windows are never down. their homes are far far away from the reach of the common pakistani. they spend the waterless, electricity less summer outside pakistan in europe or the americas. the divide is widening by the day. this happens due to illegal and corrupt wealths. the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

may Allah bless Pakistan and pakistanis and show us the road to prosperity.
may we all walk the straight paths.
the picture though is grim...

Originally posted by Haris Zuberi: *
**fraudia
your arguments are fine but you have to see that what ~NiQ@Bi~ wrote was a cross section of the actual picture. sure there are millionaires living in laloo khet too and there maybe very ordinary or poor people across the bridge, but the whole idea of the article was to present a general overview of the picture in our society. *

I agree with the general overview of the society, but the "pull" or bridge in my view is not the most important, relevant or applicable reference point. Technically it does nto factor in enclaves like KDA1, parts of PECHS, Kehkashan, Parts of Gulshan etc..but the point was more that its not the divide between a stereotypical guy in clifton vs. a stereotypical guy in laloo khet which is the predominant cause of the problems we are facing.

*like i said earlier in my previous post, the rich live a life from a luxury car to a luxurious building to another big car and to another big bldg. never knowing how life out in the open on the streets is. they dont inhale the smoke on the roads cause their cars are airconditioned and the windows are never down. their homes are far far away from the reach of the common pakistani. *

How many people in defence are doctors who are

they spend the waterless, electricity less summer outside pakistan in europe or the americas. the divide is widening by the day. this happens due to illegal and corrupt wealths. the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.**

There may be many corrupt folks in DHS who got their money through illegal means, but they are defintely a minority compared to the people who are there because they have strived to achieve and want a safe, clean place for themselves and their kids.

Its not to say that there is no corruption among less afluent folks, the taxi driver who rigs the meter, or the shop keeper who cheats you, or the telephone repair man who wants bakhsish to fix your phone line that dies mystreriously around the same time each month are all taking part in corruption, people who abused the yellow cab scheme and bought the cabs for personal use and thus avoided the duty..were all over the city.

Just as people can stereotype ppl living in DHS as being corrupt, too westernised, brats...one can argue that ppl in FB area are chichoray, violent, too bollywood-ised mailay...but that is clearly not the case.

First of all you have my signature, or is it I who has your signature?

Fraudiya you painted a live picture for somebody like me away from home since last 6 years. True say, Karachi is divided by the pull like the say but some areas are affluent althought they are the north side of the bridge. Like KDA Society.

I lived on both sides of the bridge, mostly on the north side, your-not-so-affluent side. But I did go to a grammar school on the south side. I noticed how people from Nazimabad, FB AREA, North Nazimabad, North Karachi viewed soembody from DHA and CLifton as immoral and "illegally rich". On the contrary, the south side people were a little more forgiving of Nazimabad/North Karachi/FB Area residents.

True a good portion of the upper middle class lives in DHA/Clifton but to say if they are immoral and the women are hoochies is an overstatement.

Niqabi- St-Michaels had a very diversed crowd, I agree. So had The City School.

main ne to ladybird grammar school se parha tha :Pretty: grammarian wannabe speaking

aap ne sab se important point to miss kar dia tha :halo: kher koi nahin…koshish jaari rakhein aur apni kaawishein mujh se islaah karwa kar bachon ke jang main submit kar dia karein :stuck_out_tongue:

there is also no mention of the Lasbela ka Pull :rolleyes: (second time)

Originally posted by Ghoncho: *
**First of all you have my signature, or is it I who has your signature? *

ghoncho, Iam sure that pur signatures are communicating two very different messages :)

Fraudiya you painted a live picture for somebody like me away from home since last 6 years.

Pretty good coming from someone who lived in Pak two years :) my last trip was 4 1/2 years ago.

The two years I spent in Pakistan were basically confined to Karachi, but my cousins who had moved back to pak at the same time, were eager to learn about the city, and we toured teh whole city in buses, rikshaws, to get a flavour of the whole place and not our secluded little communities.

*Originally posted by Ghoncho: *

I noticed how people from Nazimabad, FB AREA, North Nazimabad, North Karachi viewed soembody from DHA and CLifton as immoral and "illegally rich". On the contrary, the south side people were a little more forgiving of Nazimabad/North Karachi/FB Area residents.

This may have been the case when you studied from the Grammar Scool. I recently joined The City School, PAF Chapter for my A Level after doing my Oz from the North Nazimabad branch. It has hardly been a week and I the stares I get when I tell others where I am from are undescribable. Its as if like being from the north is like being an alien or coming from some third world country. I have no grudge against them for coming from the south then why should I be discriminated against?

Well written Niqabi, MashAllah…:k:

Now if only you can teach your sister to write like that…:smiley:

Divide in cultures: Quite apparent. Now when you say " They look at you differently" means they stare at you because they have not met too many people from that part of the city in your school. Perhaps geographically it is little far.

Hey my younger brother is doing his A-levels from PAF City School, maybe you know him.

This ‘morals’ issue between the two sides of Clifton bridge is disappearing. May be not at a very fast rate, but it is disappearing.

I know a lot of my friends who had girlfriends, and believe me, most of them crossed all limits in their love. And those people were from THIS side of the bridge, i.e. N. Nazimabad, Gulshan etc. :disgust:

I recently visited NED and found out how ‘open’ its atmostphere has become.

God help Pakistan!

bump

usually my travelling in khi is limited to clifton/defence area and sharah-e-faisal but i happenned to venture into that side of clifton bridge today…quite far…near federal-b-area…going thru hydery, lasbella, saddar bohri bazar, soldier bazar etc etc…

coz of the killings yesterday a lot of routes in saddar were closed…

and i have to say that they relaly r two different worlds…the bridge marks a huge demarcation…

the pollution, atmosphere, people, total environment…every single thing is sooooo different…its like two different cities…

in clifton and defence we really r living a completely sheltered life…it is soo not part of the mainstream…dono if thats good or bad…but its scary coz i’ve gotten used to the luxury :bummer:

btw to answer the point abt moral depravity....thats everywhere including u and me guys :o

^nyah its just you.

There is a divide in karachi and I can sense it when I talk politics with people of karachi.

And yes st. michael's was very diverse.

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *
There is a divide in karachi and I can sense it when I talk politics with people of karachi.

And yes st. michael's was very diverse.

Fraudia bhai :p

I still remember st michael's when it rained. The whole school turned into a lake. My friend used to live in an apt building right across school and he could tell if school was closed. I used to call him in the morning to find out.

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *
I still remember st michael's when it rained. The whole school turned into a lake. My friend used to live in an apt building right across school and he could tell if school was closed. I used to call him in the morning to find out.

OMG....Imdad :D I totally remember everything in detail. The rains, the canteens, the classes, the salaakhein....Which yrs were you there? I did O levels in 96, was in SMCS since 86. best ten yrs of my life. i was deputy head girl in the final yr that was an awesome yr i could do anything i wanted to ...:D

Your friend used to live in those brown colored appartments yeah, the ones right across?

Do you know that now they have an army rangers car permanently stationed outside SMCS and they have barbed wire all around :D

i actually live five minutes from there :D

Man!!! smcs was the BESTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT...!!!!

btw abb i've heard smcs has been taken over by the maliri laaloo kheti crowd :o

Do you remember the slims, ice lollies, samosay, aaloo bukharay, theli waali coke, kabab rolls from the canteen? :D

Slims were the only food I was eating at lunch for a long time. I never liked the coke ki theli, made the coke taste a little like plastic, plus it lost its fizz.

Salay, rangers ney aik be jaga nahi chorri karachi may qubza karney ki liyay.

96 was the last year I was at sms, but not my last year at shcool. Bloody hell, I am close to the same age as you!

lolz rangers ka peecha chor deyn janab !!

so u were there in 96? dangggggggg, were u in my class? :eek: :stuck_out_tongue: u must know me then… :stuck_out_tongue:
what yr did u join smcs? name some ppl u knew

were u there when the mesoom shairaam shooting happenned?

Slims r still going strong in karachi, the packing has changed though…my lunch used to be one slims, one samosa or patties and one orange ice lolly…

yes we r prolly close in age huh… i was the youngest member of the whole class…i’m abt to turn 23 in sept..what abt u? i have a feeling u were junior than me…

I'm about to be 25 in dec. I skipped some school years as well due to the situation in karachi I couldn't go to school, plus it didn't help I got thrown out of micheals. There were also riots in our mohalla.

I remember one violent incident that happened, but not sure if it is the same one? Do you have details of this? I remember that two men, one with bleeding from his head were standing in front of the main gate shouting at each other, with all the kids surrounding them. Then something happened and we all got scared and ran away. We had to "escape" from under the side door.

I also remember the incident of some school kid going to his friends house (both from SMS) and shooting him over a girl.