Karachi mosque fatwa declares Sherry Rehman non-Muslim & demanding her death

Re: Karachi mosque fatwa declares Sherry Rehman non-Muslim & demanding her death

But my friend where did in any of these links , has any one taken the responsibility ?

It is only one guy - the journalist Ali Chishti behind this cock and bull story !!

Re: Karachi mosque fatwa declares Sherry Rehman non-Muslim & demanding her death

The links pertain to your false assertion that this was a story cooked up by the daily times. I've given you three media reports, one where civil society people registered a case in the police station, one where a journalist is saying a pamphlet from the masjid in question was sent to her by a colleague.

Ravage - That guy journalist Ali Chishti is associated with Daily times !

Civil Society members is a vague term you know !

And Laura Rozen is too I suppose? It is a widely reported issue, and is by no means limited to the daily times. if you want to assert a conspiracy without basis though theres nothing I can do about that.

See here for example:

http://twitter.com/#!/search/sultan%20masjid

Ravage - who is getting biased here - I wont comment on that !

I would say it is now getting widely propagated rather then reported !

If you know any good journalists in Karachi - ring them up and hear it direct for horse's mouth .

And believe me if there is an iota of truth in this fatwa story - it would have been issued from a mosque situated in potential Islamic extremist areas - not from a mosque controlled and monitored by Saudis ...

They are stupid , but aren't ejit enough to start such controversy at this point in time

Correction.. it is not now getting propagated... it has been in the twitterverse/blogosphere/other avenues of 'civil society' for atleast 2 days now. As for ringing people up.. its a he-said, she-said situation now. FWIW Daily Times published this on the 9th, and its been making the rounds from the 7th. I came across it through a very popular blog Cafe Pyala, who's author claims to have first-hand knowledge of the truth of the fatwa.

And Saudies dont condone extremism? Thats a laugh.

Farees bhai, i hope you have written this without reading the opening post in full : ) otherwise i’m sure you would not have said this. this is all drama, this news is actually refuting itself, and has nothing to back up their claim which they make in subject, and also the claim which this thread opener made in subject

yeah say it simply it was among those who propagated it falsely, and when nobody listen to these so called "civil society people" as you put it, and when they could not get both the parties (the imam of sultan masjid and tanzeem) say anything bad, the story died itself

and that blog writer has truth about fatwa, according to you, which was issued by imam of sultan masjid, but the imam himself clearly said he is no mufti and does not issue fatwa.

i have no means of deciding either way whether he said it or not. I will not take his word for it, nor will I take his justification as the truth. On the other hand I can only say that cpyala and other bloggers noted this days ago before the Daily Times published it. My intention was to take down an incorrect assertion by Naabigh.

Mullon ka dimagh phir gaya hai. Inko sir pay charayah kisnay? Chaar phatkay maaro seedhay hojayeh gay...now i think what Mushroo did (lal Masjid) was right!

see, this is what i was talking about.

give us a chance of mullah bashing, and are happy. and start jumping on mullah without knowing where the information is coming from, is there really any substance of truth in it, who propagate it, what was the intention behind it... no thats not our job, our job is to only believe whatever is fed into our ears... liberals say people get brainwashed in madaris, while they themselves are brainwashed, and cannot see anything beyond their elitist-apologist-oligarchic-myopic ( add as many ...ists and ...ics : p ) view

Chacha...i m not against the Mullahs who are really preaching Islam the right way. But i don't mind bashing the ones who beat a kid to death just because he couldn't remember a lesson, Mullahs who think they have the right to just give fatwa against anyone on their own will, Mullahs who rather make Islam appear as an extreme religion of hate. And i am not a liberal, aur I dont even know much about politics sholitics. If something like that happens against Mullahs then surely i will say this again for that other party...so chill baabay.

mamoon where in the opening post any of these types of mullas were cited??? the report itself said that there was no proof and the whole report simply negated its own opening. and phupha where in your first post you mentioned that your bashing is targeted to the kind you mentioned now? its only when i pointed out you came up with a mere justification of blind bashing and generalizing everyone as one lot. so don't chill so much lalay

I am not maamoo, i am a girl. Aur meri murzi...your rants and frustrations against someone else that you are taking out on me wont change my opinion. I said what i wanted to and i am entitled to it...whether you lose your sleep over it or not is your masla not mine :P

good for u then maami, and come out of the illusion that somebody is trying to change your opinion, as if it really counts so much lolz...

and yet no fatwa on this practice:-

if someone had warned the authorities when this molvi was inciting others with hate speech and violence, taseer could have been alive today. it is about time that the ulema take some responsibility for their words and actions on the society and of those zealots who use ALLAH and RASOOL(SAW) name in vain. no one has the right to take law in their own hands and promote vigilantism in the society, least of all an individual who was sworn in as a protector of the law.

**ISLAMABAD: The confessed killer of a liberal Pakistani politician provided a judge Monday with the names of two men whose sermons allegedly sparked him to act. **Qadri told a judge Monday in written testimony that he decided to kill Taseer after he attended a gathering on Dec. 31 organized by Shahab-e-Islam, a small religious group that operated in his neighborhood in Rawalpindi, just outside the capital, Islamabad. He said speeches given by a cleric leading the group, Qari Hanif, and another member, Ishtiaq Shah, played a major role in his decision. Police say they are now seeking the two men for questioning.

http://www.dawn.com/2011/01/10/sermons-motivated-killer-of-governor-taseer.html

On day of Salman Taseer's murder, some analyst (I forgot got the name) said in capital talk

"yee aisye khud hee sub sahi nahi ho ga. aap daikheen gaai k month, 2-month main Shery rehman k qatal ki khaber ayee gee"

so it does not matter if this story is true or not, Sherry should be vigilant.

dont know why u r shouting over Mullahs only.

in politics even the dead body is not useless.
they are simply using it.

holy ****. who the **** is that?