Kaneria,Azhar Mehmood ...why fell as victims?..

Kaneria ,the rist spinner,who bowles really well,hasbeen thrown out of pakistans one day squad against west indies…
as a growing youngster he should havebeen given more chances…i think pak selectors `played’ a little bit more ,by sacking Nanni Dani off the team…

they also sacked out Azhar Mehmood...such a good all rounder would havebeen an  asset for pakistani team......

what u people think guppies…?

ur comments are welcome…

I agree with you Sadas. Achche khilariyun ko team se nikaal detay hein. Aur bad ones ko rakh letay hein.

Not quite, there was only room for one all rounder and Razzaq is by far the better all rounder. Playing Azhar would have meant dropping Shoaib or Akram. Also there are already two spinners in the team i.e. Saqlain and afridi, so you dont need a third one in ODI.

azhar mahmood is a very expensive bowler....
and is lately out of form....
he neeeds time to get back in....

and kaneria is no good for one-dayers....
and playing inexperienced players means dropping out senior players....

it will be better to wait till after the WC and then try the youngsters when a few seniors retire....

what is kaneria? big deal. he got some wkts against BD. Razzak is much better.

i think Pakistan should try out yongesters BEFORE the world cup in 12 months. Wasim and others senior players are close to the "good-bye" time. They should look into every young old, good-bad possibilities. they might lose a certain games now, but world cup is really what its all about.

Originally posted by armughal:
**azhar mahmood is a very expensive bowler....
and is lately out of form....
he neeeds time to get back in....

and kaneria is no good for one-dayers....
and playing inexperienced players means dropping out senior players....

it will be better to wait till after the WC and then try the youngsters when a few seniors retire.... **

i do not think Nanni Danni is not good for one dayers........ no player can perform without being given chances.... and Danish hasnot been given much chances in one dayers.....

Azhar mehmood is a very good competitor and he has seldom conceeded more runs...

Sadly, there can only be 11 players playing in a one day game... Pakistan has enormous amount of cricketing talent, which is why we often find players like Humayun Farhat dropped after just one match. I wish we didnt have that much talent in our country; in other parts we can see worthless players (who are termed as all rounders like Wasim Akram) like Ajit Agarkar finding there way back into the Indian Cricket team time after time, whereas he wouldnt even be considered for the Pakistani A team even once.

Originally posted by Spock:
Sadly, there can only be 11 players playing in a one day game... Pakistan has enormous amount of cricketing talent, which is why we often find players like Humayun Farhat dropped after just one match. I wish we didnt have that much talent in our country; in other parts we can see worthless players (who are termed as all rounders like Wasim Akram) like Ajit Agarkar finding there way back into the Indian Cricket team time after time, whereas he wouldnt even be considered for the Pakistani A team even once.

yes spock...pakistan hasbeen a traditional fertile land for natuaral talented players and it is amazing to note that every time ,new faces give pakistan more charges..(like mohammed sami,Danish kaneria,shoib Malik)etc..

what ur comment on Ajith Agarkar is right to some extent ..india does not get a consistent performance from him and he does not do justice to his potential.every time he concedes more runs and he is not been able to give out a good piece of batting performance from him(except some rare occassions)...there are rumours that,he finds place every time in the team with his high political connections...

i think that deteroirates his talent and his fighting instinct...

Spock you are right that Pakistan has an extreme amount of talent...but i think its time for the oldies to take the bench, since only 11 can play at a time the oldies should step aside for the new, younger talent to step forward. They have had there days, no step back.

Very true!
One of the biggest example is Shoaib Malik and Sami. They both didn't play cricket for months and both coming back. One scored a century and the other got a hatrick. If our selectors keep on praising old greats like Wasim then we would never get ahead. The team we had in the second and third one dayer was probably the best team we could have for the world cup, except for Imran Nazir replacing Naved as an opener.

Thank you, come again

Sadas, you are right to some extent about agarkar, there was a joke about his consistency too, the one that he got so many consecutive ducks made him consistent...

But no matter what, hes interesting to watch, and has been somewhat more of a sportsman than some other players.

You guys should also remember Hamayun Farhat, he was also a very good cricketer who was dropped after just one test. He would have become a very good keeper for Pakistan, and could have become something similar to gilchrist!

There was an article in the news about the 'one test wonders of Pakistan'; so many good players who were dropped after just one test and never made their way back.

As for the oldies, I dont know, its very difficult to brush them aside. When they do brush them aside, that particular player creates a rebellion, like the one Miandad created. However, some players do tend to prolong their careers and the best examples would be Miandad, Ramiz Raja and Salim Malik. They should have retired when the time was right for them, we would have respected them more for that.

well shoaib Malik ne apni jaga book karli hai, n Azhar Mehmood is ok, not tht great bowling, Razzaq is good at his place, n Masha Allah our keeper isnt doin bad, so batting line is pretty good, so i guess allrounders are fine in the team!

~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!

Originally posted by junoonie:
**well shoaib Malik ne apni jaga book karli hai, n Azhar Mehmood is ok, not tht great bowling, Razzaq is good at his place, n Masha Allah our keeper isnt doin bad, so batting line is pretty good, so i guess allrounders are fine in the team!

It seems as though Shoaib has made his place...but sooner or later Wasim will be bac, and Saeed so the youngters would have just watch the game from the sidelines.

Originally posted by Spock:
**Sadas, you are right to some extent about agarkar, there was a joke about his consistency too, the one that he got so many consecutive ducks made him consistent…

yeah…he had bagged eight consecutive ducks in tst matches …Agarkar may be having the talent or potential what we call it,but he is not been able to keep that with him consistently… india,at this stage desperately needs good all rounders and saheer khan i think is the best choice for india at the moment…

a player should not be sacked out of the team or judged permanently on a single dismal or bad performance.(just in the case of what happened with indians sridharan sriraman).and a player should not be acknowledged too much or juged on a very few good perormances.(just in the case of what happened with Riccardo Poweell,who had done some mighty blows with his bat two years back,but hasnot been able to make it in to west indian team for a very long time)..he had ejoyed very good popularity through medias ,but his destiny is unknown now....

sadas has india decided that it doesn’t need a cricket team no more? Worry about your own team we r enough to discuss our team

I know why u have raised this question. Azhar Mehmood u have mentioned only to appear “clean”.
Let me tell u this Saqlain by all standards is way better than Danish Kaneria, so we selected the best. Shoaib has an edge over Danish because of his better batting abilities. Also Shoaib has performed very well at Sharjah in the past.
So its not because of his religion that Danish is out of the team but because we have someone better than him. :~)
Someone can’t be kicked out of the team on religious basis similarly we can’t just pick someone in the team because he represents a minority. The best have to be selected and i think thats what they did, atleast in the spinning department

I Totaly agree, Azahar is definately one of the best players, kabhi kabhi I don’t understand kyun itney achey khilari ko nikalsaktey hain either!!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Azhar definately should have been includeded!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad3.gif

hot hoi … lol …lol…fanta..i can not help myself from stop laughing..

Being in this forum ,being four times visitor to pakistan ,having lots of interests on pakistan and its related affairs ,i can not desist myself from posting here and engaing in serious discussions with other guppies and friends…

u can never compare Danish and Saqlain mainly because both have very different styles..Dani is a wrist spinner(leg spinner) and Saqi is an off-spinner(if u do not know anything abt ur own players,i am are helpless then

)…

when it comes to religion in cricket(i guess it is ur prime concern

) india has got many players who belong to minority communities .like Saheer khan(muslim)Tinu Yohannan(a christian and he is from my own state too

i hope ,u have atleast watched the test match between pakistan and west indies and the kind of bowling Danish displayed emnates out the message that he will become a sharp edge for pakistan in the near future...ufortunately he could not find a place in pakistan team(only ur selectors have to answer that) and that makes me sad... i do not care his religion ,but his talent .(i hope that exclusion from the team will not toil his morale and adversely affect his confidence,instead he will emerge as a phoenix bird from the ashes).same in the case of Azhar Mehmood..such a terrific potential player should have been included in the team...i am sure he shows more temprament than many pakistani players...

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited February 21, 2002).]

Originally posted by sadas:
hot hoi … lol …lol…fanta..i can not help myself from stop laughing.. **

Tou who is stopping ya?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

** Being in this forum ,being four times visitor to pakistan ,having lots of interests on pakistan and its related affairs ,i can not desist myself from posting here and engaing in serious discussions with other guppies and friends… **

would u mind telling how many threads u have started in the khail khilari forum and how many of them were abt Danish Kaneria?
If this thread had been started by anyother Indian and not u I would have responded in a different way. But I have enough experience through chatting to know your intentions.

** u can never compare Danish and Saqlain mainly because both have very different styles..Dani is a wrist spinner(leg spinner) and Saqi is an off-spinner(if u do not know anything abt ur own players,i am are helpless then )… **

Sure they r different in their styles but when a team is selected, particularly in modern times, u don’t select a team with 3-4 spinners of all varities. A leggy, an off-spinner, a chinaman. U only select one or max two, the best of all. So that way Saqlain is the best and not Danish.

** when it comes to religion in cricket(i guess it is ur prime concern ) india has got many players who belong to minority communities .like Saheer khan(muslim)Tinu Yohannan(a christian and he is from my own state too **

If by “ur” u meant Pakistan then 98% of our population consists of muslims so naturally players come with that ratio too. And sadas your only concern is to prove that Danish is suffering because he is a hindu :slight_smile:

** i hope ,u have atleast watched the test match between pakistan and west indies and the kind of bowling Danish displayed emnates out the message that he will become a sharp edge for pakistan in the near future…ufortunately he could not find a place in pakistan team(only ur selectors have to answer that) and that makes me sad… i do not care his religion ,but his talent .(i hope that exclusion from the team will not toil his morale and adversely affect his confidence,instead he will emerge as a phoenix bird from the ashes).same in the case of Azhar Mehmood..such a terrific potential player should have been included in the team…i am sure he shows more temprament than many pakistani players… **

If Danish become a sharp edge for Pakistan in future then it will be great for us. But for the time being he will have to work hard to beat Saqlain.

P.S: next time don’t PM me to tell me that my reply was idotic u can say it infront of everyone.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited February 23, 2002).]