Kaneria arrested in London; released later

**Kaneria arrested in London; released later

**LONDON: Pakistani cricketer Danish Kaneria was taken into custody in Essex, UK, on Saturday for spot fixing charges, but was been released on bail later, ARY NEWS reported.

Danish Kaneria, Essex’s Pakistan wrist spinner, and young fast bowler Mervyn Westfield were arrested by Essex police on suspicion of conspiracy to commit fraud following the police’s investigation into alleged spot-fixing in Essex’s Pro40 match against Durham last September.

Both men appeared at Brentwood police station on Friday and were questioned under caution before being released on bail until Sept 15, pending further inquiries.

As neither has yet been charged with any offence, both are free to continue playing cricket until then, by which time Pakistan will have completed their Test series against England.
That should allow Pakistan’s selectors to at least pick Kaneria, with only a modicum of controversy hanging over him.

That series needs Kaneria, though the England and Wales Cricket Board, as full signatories to the International Cricket Council’s anti-corruption code, will be torn over his presence.

Now that Shane Warne is retired, he is the world’s pre-eminent wrist-spinner, and unless Pakistan’s selectors decide not to select him while the investigation is ongoing, he is crucial to their competitiveness in that series.

Essex police had wanted to interview Kaneria, 29, who has 58 Test caps for Pakistan, last Monday, three days after his return to England, but that was during Essex’s County Championship match with Kent and the club asked if that could be deferred until yesterday.

http://www.thearynews.com/english/newsdetail.asp?nid=48762

Re: Kaneria arrested in London; released later

lanaat ha…embarrassment everywhere…no good news……jahil, uneducated players……this new guy hammad is only 5th class graduate…rest are bunch of idiots as well…..granted you don’t need to be highly educated to be a sportsman but when all of them are coming straight from villages surrounded by utmost jihalit, lack of basic civic ethics becomes an issue especially at the international level…you will never expect misbah or salman butt to be involved in such idiotic things but just look at faces of razaaq, akmals, aamir, mohammad asif, latif, hafiz…shakal say hee idiot lagtay haan…now what shd we say about kaneria’s action…i have a very strong feeling that he must have done something stupid…sab hee faisal shazad hain (in their respective fields)…no respect for the country whatsoever…

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2010%5C05%5C15%5Cstory_15-5-2010_pg2_4

Re: Kaneria arrested in London; released later

bad news

LOL PD bhai…itna gussa theek nahi. Hamary khilari watn-e-aziz ki khaatir jaan bananay ke liay hakeemon say dawaiyan letay hain aur khaalis giza khaatay hain! Abdul Razzaq hi ki missal le lain. Us kay ander itni taaqat kaisay aai? Paalak kha kha kay!

“Somebody told him to have spinach all the time,” Zakir Khan, the Pakistan board’s operation manager, told The Melbourne Age. “So he loves spinach and wherever he goes he says spinach should be part of the diet, in Pakistan particularly. The other team-mates tease him and call him Popeye the Sailor Man.”

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/145028.html

lol….i know ghussa is not good for health but kaya karay janab..inn manhooson kee harkataiee hee aisiee haan……only recently Azizi of Hasb Hall has accused Asif for booking the match in front of million of viewers……I am sure he must have a proof for it and i have not seen asif rejecting the allegation either…and now kanaeria…and rana naveed sahib bee maskook hain…banda kaya karay…i still believe that 90% of our team plays honestly but most of them are so jahil…have you seen imran nazir talking on tv?..…

inthikab alam has made a very important point when he said that that our players do not even understand what it means to represent Pakistan or what would be repercussions of their stupid acts…I am not saying they are disloyal to country or anything but lack of basic education is hurting them…an argument can be made that miandad was also uneducated but he had a great cricketing mind …plus he is more of an exception…alos, in his playing days we had majid, imran, zaheer, aisf iqbal and all of them were well educated so they kept on grooming miandad as well….abb to saray kay saray hee jahil hainn