Kamran Akmal on 1st day!!!!!

To me one of the things i was keeping an eye on in this inning was the keeping of Kamran Akmal, who has been going through little tough time with his performace both behind and infront the stumps…today was a quite testing day for him, both Umar and Nazir moved the ball quite well in morning sessions and ball challenged both batsman and Kamran alot but he didnt do any mistake in today’s inning. His biggest challange came when Kaneria was introduced and i have not seen Danish bowl with such amount of turn on first day wicket like this one…he was literally making the ball spin considerable amounts and the keeping that Kamran did off him was pretty imressive, specially when he had a stumping appeal against one of the right handed batsman, that was kindaa work that even Rashid Latif or Ian Healy would be proud off.

It looks like that he did put some work into his keeping and now has came back keeping the stumps very well, i do think it is too ealry in season/this series to judge him but atleast his start is quite impressive on this opening day!!

Re: Kamran Akmal on 1st day!!!!!

Don't worry this squeeky little Akmal will be OK in the series and I think he will also score few runs against the mighty Windies.

Re: Kamran Akmal on 1st day!!!

You got that right. It was spot on. The moment he jumped those bails off, I was completely taken by surprise. Lightning fast reaction, that was.

A pretty eventful first day for him, including his keeping to the turners of Kaneria. Well kept.

When ever we used to play cricket, if sum1 was the keeper and they weren't doing a good job we'd just say yaar kamran akmal nahi bano..that sums it up, he did what he was suppose to do...I'd say a little above average, but he still isn't collecting some balls in the middle of his gloves...still needs more improvement.

Problem! not only with Kamran, its with Pakistani team, when they go outside subcontenent, like England, Australia SouthAfrika... Westindies i dont remember how conditions are there.... with white ball ... bit grass on pictch, and ball movig of the seam ... so thats the main problem to be solved...... and i will not ocmpain about indivisuals its our system....

I think overall most of the people are happy and satisfied because of some good catching by Malik and Younis. Otherwise if we see, Pakistan was on its regular path, when they will bring someone like Yousaf (probably the third worst fielder, ground fielding after Kaneria, Razzaq) to silly mid on position. They need someone like Younis, Hafeez or Malik at such an important position. Someone quick, good reflexes. Overall things worked otherwise such reprieve could cost deerly.

My personal opinion, this guy has greatness written all over him. Hard work and dedication matters more than talent. If he is ever in the pits, i know he has the kind of commitment needed to get back on top of the game. He is still very young. Just you guys sit and watch him mature into a fine cricketer.

^lol..good one.

He certainly didn't show any committment to put him on the top of the game on his recent tour of England where he had terrible time ............

We lookforward to watch him mature as a cricketer and also hope he stops screaming and squeeking at the same time.

I don't think any keeper would keep quiet irrespective of how a bowler bowls.

Yes I know but when he screams his voice is so horrible...........do you know what I mean? May be you don't know what I mean

the thing is you can't keep anyone quiet no matter how he 'sounds', so anyone who doesn't like his sound will have to live with that.

I still feel that at times he screams and squeeks more than is really needed..........

Anyway, we will have to live with what we have. Rashid had his shortcomings, Moin had his own..... Kamran has his own.

Yes ....each player has a shortcoming or weakness, you don't need to live what you have got, you need to look at other possibilities like providing opportunities for other keepers if he still doesn't deliver.

So now you want someone to change themselves becuase youre not aesthetically please at how they sound? Do you want him to yell with a soft erotic voice that will give you wet dreams at night?

If you are joking then i get the joke, but if youre not then you have no right to make fun of what physical characteristics someone is born with. It is a keeper's job to keep talking and at times yell. If Kamran doesnt do that he will come under fire for not enough squeaking and yelling.

And Rock_Express every cricket fan and their mother knows that any subcontinental player's first tour to England is always very shaky. He has a lot to learn and he has what it takes to learn from his mistakes. I can name many players in our team who have never learnt from their mistakes. Akmal isnt one of them.

hahaha

right on :k:

He’s not my kind. Maybe he is your kind and may already have had wet dreams listening to him scream and yell. You can have him if he keeps on giving you pleasure and wet dreams.

If you are so desperate to talk about wet dreams than open the subject up in the correct forum.........

Yes no doubt keeper is always talking to the bowlers and need to encourage them, no problem with that. However, he squeeks and yells more than I feel is needed. Who would he come under fire from not squeeking and yelling – Inzmam? Don’t think so as he doesn’t do much in the field himself apart from scratch his beard………….

Great players in the making learn quickly and whether he learns will be known. If players have not learnt from their mistakes than what does this mean – that they are limited player or average players?

Rock Express, I guess you never got a chance to see Ashraf Ali, Kirar Moore etc. If Akmal irritates you, than I am sure others would have super irriated you.
It is your right to like or dislike players on the basis of their personal attributes eventhough it is a very lame excuse of disliking a player and not related to the topic of discussion in this thread.

Khan sahib.
Your guess is not right. I have seen the players you mentioned. Kiran More certainly irritated Javed Miandad and you know he was given his piece of mind with a quiet word in his ears.

I wasn’t surprised that he didn’t get thumping from Javed. Therefore if this little Akmal is not careful he may also get a similar sort of lesson or even worse…

OK fair point - what about people who suppose to know better and want to talk about wet dreams :cb: . Is that related to the topic?