Re: CAN ANY1 TELL ME WHERE COULD I FIND?
me either!
and ivory is so much nicer-sounding than "elephant's teeth" hahah
i was like wth are those? d'oh.
those are some really nice bangles though
me either!
and ivory is so much nicer-sounding than "elephant's teeth" hahah
i was like wth are those? d'oh.
those are some really nice bangles though
I went to soho road this week and i did see some there but dunno in which shop oh and Shehnai has them…shenai is a clothes shop with a built in jewellery shop in the back…on stratford road ![]()
thanks a lot paki pride thanks a lot
muje london me chahiye adress shop ka ,birmingham london se doooor hai please any one tell me pleeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaassssssssseeeeeeee!
go to green street, i think there is a tacky (sorry but it is!) shop run by sikh people, who sell these things; it half way up green street between the police sation and tube station!
or southall on the side of century emporium a few shops down ( going futher into the broadway) there is a shpo there too.
to be honest all you have to do is go into a few of these shops in either area and you will find them, i have seen them in a few shops!!!
go to green street, i think there is a tacky (sorry but it is!) shop run by sikh people, who sell these things; it half way up green street between the police sation and tube station!
or southall on the side of century emporium a few shops down ( going futher into the broadway) there is a shpo there too.
to be honest all you have to do is go into a few of these shops in either area and you will find them, i have seen them in a few shops!!!
THANKSS A LOT LUBLY THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOO MUCHHHHHH........
Or in Southall next to the shop that sells the freshly made jalebi outside - it's either next door or a couple of doors away -it's been a while since Iw ent to Southall so can't remember!!!
try south hall
yeh i definately saw some in southall , wen i went last saturday .
yep south hall is a place where anyone can guarantee you'll get whatever desi you want..when i was in London..we used to go there and on all muslim and hindu festivals you'd get the things needed...i remember seeing these bangles there wanted them so much but at that time they were a bit expensive for me...i never knew what they symbolized then..i just found them very pretty.
Those are almost exactly like my kaleere ![]()
hey last year i hd asked for em before gettin married but now i m married n i just gt lal suhaag chuda [cudnt gt kaleerey]n i gt same chooda which i was looking for made of hathi ke daant ka bana hua [wow kia time tha].my aunty hd bought lal suhaag chooda for me from lahore[shahaalmi bazaar]........
You know... I don't think churda is made from real ivory any more. Its some kind of plastic type material now. I believe, although I could be wrong but, its illegal to use elephant tusk to make things.
My churda is gorgeous. I got a color that would go nicely with both of my outfits. It has diamonte chooriyan and a deep pink'ish-purple color.
My kaleere are silver and pink with diamonte work & silver and pink with gold work & with pink and turquoise stones.
You can get kaleere and churda from just about any sikh/hindu/punjabi shop out there.
Hand Kaleeray
What do u guys think of these?
I really like them. I knw they originally were work for Good Luck and tied by parents and friends to the bride. But they create a fab look.
Re: Hand Kaleeray
i dont think they are part of pakistani wedding culture...(indian punjabis---hindus and sikhs wear them)
yeah i have seen them at hindu weddings but never muslim ones!
They are seen as good luck and in the olden days dry fruit etc was attached to them as well, especially if the journey to the groom's house/the doli would take its time in arriving to the groom's house. More a part of Indian culture. They are pretty but not something I would go for. They look kind of cumbersome.
Yeh, their actually worn alot in Sikh and Hindu weddings but i think they look so good to look at, im nt sure how they'd go with an outfit or if they'd go with every bridal outfit but could work well....very pretty to look at.
i was flicking through wedding tv asia channel yesterday and they were showing a sikh wedding going on. The bride was wearing them. Yeah not helpful to the thread just wanted to say i saw em yday lol!